SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5954 (Misses' Tunic)

17 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/14 12:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5954 by Christas

Butterick: 5954 by Christas  Butterick: 5954 by Christas  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5954
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Close-fitting and flared, pullover tunic has front variations, shaped hemline, and narrow hem. Wrong side shows on back hemline. C, D views both have a cowl collar.

Pattern Sizing: Sizes XS-XXL
I made a combination of XS and S

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it did!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Great instructions!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love how quickly this patterns sews up. The top is so comfortable and stylish. I also like ALL the views in the pattern envelope and hope to eventually make one of each, just need to clone myself to make a little more time! LOL!

Fabric Used: I used a dark grey, light-weight, cotton/poly knit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made a XS size through shoulders. I usually make a larger size though the hips than I do for the waist, but there is enough ease that I made a size S for the bust, waist and hips. For a comparison, in most patterns I make an 8 through the shoulders, 10 for the bust, and a 12 for the hips.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I love this pattern and hope to revisit it soon!

Conclusion: If you are looking for a quick to sew, stylish top, sew this one! It's super comfortable, and in a couple of hours you can be wearing a new top!

Album of Butterick 5954
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
Love it! Super cute, flattering and looks so comfortable.
3/19/14 1:06 PM
MartiP said...
I second that! Been trying to decide which tunic pattern to make up, guess I'll go with this one!
3/19/14 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
Beautifully made top, Christa. The best part is how elegant this can look with a variety of pants/jeans/ and skirts. Beautiful color , fabric and pic.
3/19/14 2:46 PM
detroy said...
That looks great on you! I have that pattern and I'm trying to make it work on my unbalanced body. You're inspiration for me!
3/19/14 3:12 PM
frame said...
Very nice.
3/19/14 3:53 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Stylish and lovely on you!
3/19/14 4:46 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm so with you Christa on the cloning thing....actually 2 clones, hee, hee. Your top looks lovely on you and such a nice color and overall very stylish ensemble. So nice to see your review...do more, do more!
3/19/14 4:49 PM
Karen Carr said...
This looks lovely on you! What a great pattern, thanks for introducing me to it.
3/19/14 6:12 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this top, Christa. It's not often I like the BACK of a garment more than the front, but this one almost pushes me over the edge -- ha! Every little detail is just perfect, and the fabric was a perfect match with this pattern. :o)
3/19/14 7:48 PM
SewWil said...
Your tunic turned out great!
3/19/14 9:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this pattern. Your top fits you perfectly.
3/20/14 5:11 AM
wimmie said...
thanks for a great review. I need a good knit top pattern, this should do it.
3/20/14 7:01 AM
wimmie said...
thanks for a great review. I need a good knit top pattern, this should do it.
3/20/14 7:01 AM
wimmie said...
thanks for a great review. I need a good knit top pattern, this should do it.
3/20/14 7:01 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Now that is just plain cute!!! Nicely styled. Best rendition I've seen yet! You've inspired me to get this pattern out today and get started!
3/20/14 9:13 AM
threaddy said...
Fabulous looking. I have this pattern in my wish list and am unsure because it looks like a lot of fabric in the back. I am thinking it needs a VERY slim back side to look good. Yours looks so good though, I am tempted to try it. Very stylish and your fabric choice is perfect.
3/20/14 9:45 AM
becca a said...
This is a really flattering sweater!
3/20/14 10:09 AM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice on you - it's in the chain to make so am happy to know that it is an easy sew!
3/20/14 7:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-06

photo
by: cerulean

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3790

photo
by: twotoast

Review