SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5784 (Misses Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/14 8:16 AM
Last Updated:3/20/14 8:20 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5784 by acmena

Butterick: 5784 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5784
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description: Pullover top and dress have narrow hem. A and B: loose-fitting (semi-fitted through hips), front and back extend into tie ends. C and D: semi-fitted (fitted through hips), front pleated left shoulder, shoulder strap, and upper right front. D: knot and right side slit.

I made View A


Pattern Sizing: Y (XSM-SML-MED) I cut a SML transitioning to MED at the hip

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, just like the photo

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very straightforward

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I don't have a lot of luck with loose fitting patterns. With little in the boob department to give them definition, they usually look shapeless. I liked the concept of the knotted shoulder to give it interest. The execution was not ideal for me, with my narrow shoulders, as the hole formed by knotting the ties rested directly over my bra strap. Wearing strapless or going bra-less is not an option

Fabric Used: Designed for soft lightweight woven fabrics and Knits. A,B: Faille, Crepes, Jersey. C,D: For Two-Way Stretch Knits.

As this was my muslin, I used a piece of home dec fabric that I had on hand. It was the right weight but with a little too much body for the knot to flop properly. It was OK for a muslin, and is wearable


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Apart from shortening it by 3.5", I made it exactly to pattern

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I doubt it, as the knotted side, being heavier, kept sliding down my sloping shoulder. OK if you like an asymmetrical look. I could be tempted to make it without the knotted side, as otherwise it fitted well.

Conclusion: Concept was great, outcome didn't work for me

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CissieW said...
Sorry this didn't work for you. I think it is a very pretty top. I'd love to try it out of silk charmeuse!
3/20/14 8:40 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Ooooh. I like it. Too bad it didn't work :(
3/20/14 9:19 AM
julie w said...
Very pretty, sorry it's not comfortable to wear.
3/20/14 6:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
It's so pretty, I'm sorry you don't care for it! It looks beautifully sewn!!
3/20/14 10:36 PM
Danmar said...
I like it too. Very well sewn! What about a tiny safety pin under the bow or a little bra attachment?
3/21/14 6:27 AM
acmena said...
Thanks ladies. I tried everything to make it work, but ended up lopsided. There is a definite hole built in to the pattern. If I was to eliminate it, it may work
3/21/14 8:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 98-2012-Pony Club

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
New Look 6723

photo
by: SewMeLove

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now