SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5562 (Misses' Top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Good
photo

 
 
About Sew Goodstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/14 1:01 AM
Last Updated:4/11/14 0:07 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5562 by Sew Good

Butterick: 5562 by Sew Good  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5562
Butterick Pattern Info
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Sizing: XS, SM, M I chose the SM because it said it was equivalent to an 8-10. I usually make an 8 and grade to a 10 at the hips. The shirt fits perfectly at the shoulders but is enormous everywhere else even the hips.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes but I sewed the sleeves flat

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really liked the look of Mimi's shirt (http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/95349) but I don't like off the shoulder shirts because I cannot wear them to work. I saw other similar shirts with straps so you could wear a bra , like Sewingdiet (http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/95488), but again not appropriate for work plus I don't like the straps. When I saw this OOP pattern on the Vogue pattern website, I grabbed it! This is exactly what I want. The same look but not off the shoulders

Fabric Used: a buttery soft knit. It might be a double knit. For lack of a better word, it is really flimsy. It took me a long time to find the right fabric and this was perfect.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Shortening the sleeves over 3 inches. Still deciding if I need to shorten the length of the body as well. It hits at the middle of my hips. I may choose to keep this length depending on what I want to wear it with. Still deciding. I also used clear elastic in the neckline as I added the collar and I did not sew a 5/8 seam here because I could tell the neck would end up being too big. I was surprised the instructions did not have some suggestion to prevent stretching at the neck It needs it. Especially with this fabric.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will but I want to wash and wear this one a few times. I need to decide if I need to take it in more or if I am comfortable with the "big" size on me. I do have a blue leopard print that I was imagining using for this pattern as well, so most likely I will make it again. Perhaps in the XS instead.

Conclusion: Not sure why I am sewing winter clothes in 75 degree weather but I really wanted this shirt The fabric felt wonderful to sew on. I had no problems on the serger or machine and it was a quick sew. Even though this was an out of print pattern, it can still be purchased on the Vogue pattern website.


4/10/2014 My daughter just took a picture of me in the shirt. On second thought, this is the ugliest shirt I have ever made. I think I need to make the collar much smaller for my frame and I don't like the way the hem flairs out.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bakertoo said...
Cute shirt, and the fabric looks so comfortable. Thanks for the review.
4/10/14 11:25 AM
nicegirl said...
Sounds like the perfect top! I like the mini-dot print.
4/10/14 11:38 AM
Quickie said...
Seeing the pattern sketch I would think that this is a cute style. Now you are not sure.....that is sad. Il recently saw how you can work on achieving the result you want. .... And I hope to see it than on your body....
4/10/14 11:39 AM
Sew Good said...
Thanks Quickie! I still like the top. Just not sure what adjustments I want to make to make it perfect for me. It didn't turn out the way I had envisioned. It's just too big.
4/10/14 10:50 PM
Quickie said...
I saw your pic and had the feeling that it was topheavy,and had the feeling that it would have possibilities with a less wide collar. I Personally think that it should end above the bustline. As is it looks like a sewn-on wrap. But another possibility could be to have more gathers . If you pin some pleats you may see if that works for you.Making the hip- part the way you want it, will be an easy fix . So.... In the end I see still possibilities to come to something nice. Good that you showed the pic
4/11/14 3:46 AM
supizoo said...
I was waiting for your daughter to take a study break! I think it looks very very snuggly-wintery which is possibly not the look you were after? I think Quickie is a very smart woman. On the pattern picture there seem to be more gathers/pleats. Maybe if you pull the wrap part in, so that it stops above your bicep, you will feel less overwhelmed in it. I think you are on to a winner!
4/11/14 5:19 AM
canei said...
Nice!
4/11/14 7:19 AM
meadowclark said...
I like the style! You always look amazing...
4/11/14 8:12 AM
Sew Good said...
Thanks everyone. I woke up this morning with the same idea Quickie :) I'll keep working on it and update the picture when I make more adjustments to the collar an hem.
4/11/14 9:36 AM
Quickie said...
I love this type of brainstorming. I am myself breeding on a summertop that is also Brown with white dots.... But that s sleeveless and it is mesh.
4/11/14 10:06 AM
kajero said...
I agree with Quickie. If you do what she says you will have a winner.
4/11/14 10:15 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree that your fabric selection is great! However I made this pattern with the exact same result and was so broken hearted, I put it down and never touched it again! I'm glad you're thinking about correcting your's, don't let this beautiful fabric go to waist...I wouldn't if I had a second chance! Good luck!
4/12/14 4:53 AM
Sew Good said...
Thank you 1SewSweet I'm working on perfecting this top now. It's nice to know I'm not alone :)
4/13/14 5:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fashion Sewing Group 1960

photo
by: ssssdeb

Review
Prudent Baby Bow Tie

photo
by: vanessamak...

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now