SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5562 (Misses' Top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Good
photo

 
 
About Sew Goodstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/14 1:01 AM
Last Updated:4/11/14 0:07 AM


Butterick: 5562 by Sew Good  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Thank you 1SewSweet I'm working on perfecting this top now. It's nice to know I'm not alone :)
4/13/14 5:42 PM
1SewSweet said...
I agree that your fabric selection is great! However I made this pattern with the exact same result and was so broken hearted, I put it down and never touched it again! I'm glad you're thinking about correcting your's, don't let this beautiful fabric go to waist...I wouldn't if I had a second chance! Good luck!
4/12/14 4:53 AM
kajero said...
I agree with Quickie. If you do what she says you will have a winner.
4/11/14 10:15 AM
Quickie said...
I love this type of brainstorming. I am myself breeding on a summertop that is also Brown with white dots.... But that s sleeveless and it is mesh.
4/11/14 10:06 AM
Sew Good said...
Thanks everyone. I woke up this morning with the same idea Quickie :) I'll keep working on it and update the picture when I make more adjustments to the collar an hem.
4/11/14 9:36 AM
meadowclark said...
I like the style! You always look amazing...
4/11/14 8:12 AM
canei said...
Nice!
4/11/14 7:19 AM
supizoo said...
I was waiting for your daughter to take a study break! I think it looks very very snuggly-wintery which is possibly not the look you were after? I think Quickie is a very smart woman. On the pattern picture there seem to be more gathers/pleats. Maybe if you pull the wrap part in, so that it stops above your bicep, you will feel less overwhelmed in it. I think you are on to a winner!
4/11/14 5:19 AM
Quickie said...
I saw your pic and had the feeling that it was topheavy,and had the feeling that it would have possibilities with a less wide collar. I Personally think that it should end above the bustline. As is it looks like a sewn-on wrap. But another possibility could be to have more gathers . If you pin some pleats you may see if that works for you.Making the hip- part the way you want it, will be an easy fix . So.... In the end I see still possibilities to come to something nice. Good that you showed the pic
4/11/14 3:46 AM
Sew Good said...
Thanks Quickie! I still like the top. Just not sure what adjustments I want to make to make it perfect for me. It didn't turn out the way I had envisioned. It's just too big.
4/10/14 10:50 PM
Quickie said...
Seeing the pattern sketch I would think that this is a cute style. Now you are not sure.....that is sad. Il recently saw how you can work on achieving the result you want. .... And I hope to see it than on your body....
4/10/14 11:39 AM
nicegirl said...
Sounds like the perfect top! I like the mini-dot print.
4/10/14 11:38 AM
bakertoo said...
Cute shirt, and the fabric looks so comfortable. Thanks for the review.
4/10/14 11:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

McCall's M6078

photo
by: Carol Wism...

Review
No Pattern Used 2012-11-css

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

More Info
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

More Info