SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 3247 (Crop Tops and Shorts)

4 more reviews
Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/14 3:55 PM
Last Updated:3/21/14 4:00 PM
Project Photo:Jalie: 3247 by cabinbaby

Jalie: 3247 by cabinbaby  Jalie: 3247 by cabinbaby  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 3247
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A: Racerback top B: Halter top C: Top with criss-cross spaghetti back straps. Necklines and armholes are finished with foldover elastic and the bottom edge is finished with an encased elastic. D: Ultra-low waist shorts with encased elastic at the waist E: Low-waist shorts with waistband (no elastic at the waist).

This review is for only view E, the low-waist shorts with waistband. I modified these to be shorter so they would be more like a swimsuit.

I was thinking of reviewing the top too, but it's Jalie 2446 and it's sadly OOP. It's my go-to swimsuit top.

Pattern Sizing:
This is typical Jalie sizing. You have from 2T to Women's size 14. I made my typical size R which is the smallest adult size.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I made a muslin for this pattern and it looks just like the model photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
These are really easy to put together. They are only three pieces of fabric, but the directions are always well written.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the fit of this pattern. I made Jalie 2446 for the swimsuit top. The 2446 also had a swim short that I tried and didn't like. When I compared the two patterns for the swimshort (2446 v. this one), this pattern was much more curved in the crotch curve and the CF And CB where much different than 2446. 2446 seems kind of "boxy" to me if you can use that term with a knit swimsuit pattern. Also this pattern is a combined front and back so you have no side seam. 2446 is a front and back so you have a side seam.

Fabric Used:
I used this fun nylon swimwear fabric from San Diego. I love the turquoise and coral.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the inseam by about an inch to make them more "swimsuit" and less "gymnastics". I also lowered the CF by about an inch and the CB by about a half inch.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew this over and over again. I love the coverage of the shorts. I'm 40, people. No one needs to see my cheeks flapping in the wind.

Pictures:
These are pictures from Cabo. I should have taken some more detailed shots, but I didn't. Front and booty coverage. There are a few more pictures on my blog, but not many!
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kajero said...
AWESOME. You did a fantastic job. I love the colors, the pattern, and how it fits you. I must admit though that you are much more impressive than the models on the envelope!
3/21/14 4:38 PM
beanchor said...
Great suit! You look awesome in it, no danger of your cheeks flapping in the wind!
3/21/14 5:18 PM
careymoonbeam said...
Holy moley!! What a fabulous swimsuit (and gorgeous setting). You made me laugh out loud with the "cheeks flapping" comment. That's great you have a standard size that works for you in Jalie. I've just done my first piece from them and am still not sure I've "got it" yet for sizing.
3/21/14 5:42 PM
supizoo said...
Perfect swimsuit; fabric, fit, style. I just love it! Jalie would sell a gazillion patterns if they used your photos!
3/21/14 6:06 PM
EmeraldErin66 said...
Wow! I love both the shorts and the top- it looks absolutely fantastic on you!
3/21/14 7:22 PM
Sew Good said...
Beautiful! Nicely done!!!!!
3/21/14 8:26 PM
Onyee said...
What a great swimsuit! I really love the shorts. Supizoo is right. That pattern would sold out in a second if Jalie used your pics.
3/21/14 8:26 PM
SewLibra said...
I love the fabric and you got an awesome fit on this. Great job!
3/22/14 1:01 AM
Elke said...
Looks fantastic on you. Great fabric choice!
3/22/14 8:17 AM
AnneM said...
What did you use for construction on this, regular sewing machine, serger, coverstitch, or combination? I'm not in need of a swimming suit, but I am contemplating this to lengthen the shorts to exercise shorts length. And I don't have a coverstitch. Great job on your outfit. Glad to read you weren't on the beach in March in Alaska wearing your bathingsuit. ;)
3/22/14 8:27 AM
SewWil said...
Great looking swimsuit! Thanks for the review.
3/22/14 11:45 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
You may be 40, but you make that swimsuit look amazing!
3/22/14 12:51 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what! I'm jealous! Please tell me you are photoshopped or I'll have to seriously question what I'm eating. but glad to know about the cut of these for a swimshort! perfect!!
3/23/14 2:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: marec

Review
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1006

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review