SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8772 (Misses Blouse)

16 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Fitted Blouse - Skill Level INTERMEDIATE Contest
Viewed 738 times 
Reviewed by:Rpilver
photo

 
 
About Rpilver
CT USA
Member since: 6/30/13
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/14 6:40 PM
Last Updated:4/1/14 4:59 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8772 by Rpilver

Vogue Patterns: 8772 by Rpilver  Vogue Patterns: 8772 by Rpilver  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8772
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Ready for spring? I sure am! After a long, snow covered winter, I am craving the color of green and this blouse certainly helps.
Pattern Description:
Darts in the front and back of this blouse create a nice fitted look. The sleeve have a pleat at the cuff. There is top stitching on the collar, collar band, and the cuffs.
Pattern Sizing:
It runs sizes 6-22.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It looks very much like the drawing. I made view D.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The directions were easy to follow, however, I had the Grainline Studio Archer Sew Along close by on my computer and referred to it as I went along. The envelope says this is an Easy Vogue, but I would not recommend it for a beginner. The instructions were clear, but there are some details, like the attaching the continuous lap on the sleeves and sewing the collar, that I would not consider beginner.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? As with most patterns, I find the way it suggests setting in the sleeve heads a frustrating experience!
However, I am sure there is a better way to do it without swearing at my machine. I especially like the fit of the blouse. It an be worn either tucked in or out over pants or skirts. There is nothing I dislike. I think it went together smoothly, other than the sleeve heads, and the fit is right for me.
Fabric Used:
I used a semi sheer cotton voile purchased at Mood Fabrics. I spotted this fabric when I was browsing through the site's Project Runway fabric choices. It was shown in a beautiful canary yellow. I chose the green because yellow is not a good color for my cool skin tone. I played with the position of the pattern of the fabric by placing the back piece in a way so that the cloud like design would cascade down my upper back. I like the combination of vertical stripes mixed in with the whimsical cloud like design. I used sew in interfacing purchased by Emma One Sock. It is a wonderful quality lightweight interfacing and I plan to use it for all my future blouses.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not change anything. Although my measurements indicate I should make a size 8 , I made a 6 as I wanted a very fitted blouse. I wish I had interfaced the front facing although the pattern does not call for it. This fabric would have especially benefited from having more stability in the buttonhole area.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I would sew it again. I'd like to make it in a stretch cotton or a gingham. I do recommend it if you like the fitted blouse look. You won't be disappointed.
Conclusion:
This was many firsts for me. My first button-down blouse pattern, my first time sewing with cotton voile, and my first time sewing something green! I loved the blouse making experience and have the Graineline Studio Archer blouse in my queue. As for the voile, it is a loose weave, delicate fabric in that it shows every pin prick and you need to be careful not to pull threads, but it is sturdy in that it presses beautifully with a hot steam. Setting in the sleeves took me a long time. I struggled with getting them without any tucks and had to rip them out in spots and sew over a couple of times. Can anyone share sleeve setting tips? I pre-washed the fabric on cold water and line dried it, so I will wash the blouse the same way.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
What gorgeous fabric! I really like it on you!
3/30/14 6:53 PM
Twinset said...
Love it! It has a nice 70's vibe to it! Thanks for the inspiration - I have the same fabric in a different colourway and never knew what to do with it - now I know!
3/30/14 6:59 PM
Rpilver said...
You are right! It does have the 70's look to it! Makes sense, since I am a 70's girl and I loved the 70's!
3/30/14 7:06 PM
TJSEWS said...
This blouse is beautiful! I love the happy colorful print.
3/30/14 7:17 PM
jannw said...
Great job and a great fabric! Enjoy wearing it!
3/30/14 7:54 PM
Christas said...
No one would ever guess that this was your first time to sew a blouse or your first time to sew with voile fabric. Your sewing is lovely and the blouse looks so nice on you!
3/30/14 8:15 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking blouse. Love your choice of fabric. Thank for your helpful review.
3/30/14 8:46 PM
MarjorieSews said...
Beautiful. Great fit on you.
3/30/14 8:47 PM
ArtAttack said...
Great looking shirt! You did a really nice job on it. I usually cut my sleeve caps at least a size smaller than the rest of the pattern. This really helps to avoid puckering.
3/30/14 10:05 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric!!!And this is your first blouse pattern???? AMAZING!!!
3/30/14 10:07 PM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt. I love green! To reduce fullness at the top of a sleeve, spread the gathers by stitching your gathering thread between the notches on the tissue, not between the dots (which are placed higher up). Second, attach the sleeve to the body of the blouse before stitching the side and sleeve seams rather than after, regardless of what the instructions say. Then stitch the side and sleeve seams in one fell swoop, from hem to cuff. (This method also makes stitching french seams at the sides and on the sleeves easier.) Third, sewing with the gathered (sleeve) side down and the smooth side (ie the body of the blouse) facing you makes it easier to manoeuvre over the gathers. I have made many shirts this way with good results.
3/31/14 1:34 AM
Quickie said...
Very nice for summer..great work
3/31/14 2:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty!
3/31/14 5:30 AM
supizoo said...
Beautiful fabric, beautiful blouse.
3/31/14 7:49 AM
threaddy said...
Wonderful review. thank you so much for the sizing info! Your blouse looks fantastic. I love the way you have it opened with a camisole under it. You did an excellent job of sewing... and have reached the benefit of sewing...it looks perfect on you!!!!
3/31/14 9:44 AM
hopflower said...
You did a really nice job on this blouse. It looks great, and the fabric is fun and whimsical.
3/31/14 10:07 AM
annem54 said...
Nice blouse, fresh print. Thank you, FreyaStark for your helpful tips which I will try as I took struggled with sleeve head. Thank you ArtAttack, too
3/31/14 11:22 AM
kajero said...
How gorgeous. The blouse is beautiful and the fit is fantastic!
3/31/14 6:24 PM
Sew Good said...
Perfect fit and I love the print!
3/31/14 10:51 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Pretty blouse! Thanks for your review.
3/31/14 11:22 PM
ISewedIt said...
Great fit and pretty fabric!
3/31/14 11:55 PM
LlanoGirl said...
You did a beautiful job on this! I am getting ready to sew a fitted blouse, something I havn't done in a long time - I hope it turns out as pretty as yours!
4/1/14 8:54 AM
Arted said...
Great job
4/4/14 4:16 PM
madbadger said...
I love this!
4/4/14 10:18 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you! I love the print and color.
4/6/14 12:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 2942

photo
by: Marnie D

Review
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
McCall's 6649

photo
by: Mauude

Review