SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6614 (Misses'/Men's Tops and Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/14 6:17 PM
Last Updated:3/22/14 6:18 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6614 by MrsCharisma

McCall's: 6614 by MrsCharisma  McCall's: 6614 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6614
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Close-fitting, pullover tops have princess seams and narrow hem. A: purchased trim. A and B: neck band. Fitted jacket has hem band and exposed zipper. C and D: contrast lined hood. All have cuffs, and fit for men's sizing.

Pattern Sizing:

It is a unisex pattern based on men's sizing, S-XXl. I cut a small.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. I only referenced them for the hood.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I'm kind of meh on this pattern but my daughter likes it. Ie sewn it twice for her and she has plans for a third with contrasting fabrics.

Fabric Used:

Fleece (regular ole' cheapie fleece). The last one I made her is wearing well so why not...

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

She didn't want the pockets (sewn into the princess seams) so I left those out.

I lengthened the sleeves 2" and took 3/8" side seams so it was a bit bigger and more of a "hoodie" feel.

Used a solid blue fleece for the hood lining.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

For her? Yes. I would recommend it if you want an oversized fit or if you were willing to modify for a more fitted look.

Conclusion:

She was eager to wear it today. I cut it out a couple days ago and sewed it in about 2 hours this morning. Also, she asked me to "make the print random" and it hurt my head to not try to match the print


Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
I love it and the random print. Your daughter is adorable.
3/22/14 8:25 PM
Sew Good said...
Looks awesome! Nice work and a happy kid!
3/22/14 9:03 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This looks great!! Love the fabric! Your daughter is beautiful!
3/22/14 9:16 PM
EleanorSews said...
Cute hoodie. Lovely daughter!
3/22/14 9:48 PM
TJSEWS said...
It looks great! Your daughter is very pretty!
3/22/14 9:50 PM
CristinaP said...
Your daughter is very beautiful, and the top looks so good, that if my 13 years old daughter sees this pictures, I'll have to start looking for fleece ....
3/22/14 9:53 PM
supizoo said...
Instant gratification, gorgeous on your daughter, the sore head is worth it!
3/22/14 10:31 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!! She's a very sweet "baby" too :-)
3/22/14 10:32 PM
sewtime said...
So cute!
3/22/14 11:49 PM
Baja Susana said...
God work on the daughter and the top! I like it. Your daughter still looks sweet.
3/23/14 4:25 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket, love it in that print. Your daughter looks a lot like you (lovely).
3/23/14 9:02 AM
ASiverson said...
Love the hoodie, and the fabric, in the random print. And your daughter is almost as cute as you are! TFS!
3/23/14 5:34 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love this! Your daughter is adorable!
3/23/14 7:26 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a cutie...I'll bet she loves this!
3/23/14 7:44 PM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Nice! I'm glad she likes it... And she is too pretty..
3/24/14 3:01 AM
MamaSewing said...
Love the coziness of the fabric, Your dd looks so happy with it!
3/24/14 9:11 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!! I guess this is her TNT! :)
3/25/14 3:23 PM
1SewSweet said...
OMG, how cute, both daughter and her new top! Great job Mom!
3/27/14 4:57 AM
KittyStewart said...
Great work!
4/2/14 7:42 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
4/3/14 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now