SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6802 (Misses Knit Dresses)

36 more reviews
Viewed 282 times 
Reviewed by:WinterQueen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About WinterQueenstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/27/12
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/14 11:37 AM
Last Updated:4/24/14 11:44 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6802 by WinterQueen

Pattern Photo:New Look 6802
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Viscose Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
V Neck Knit fabric dress with optional crossover/twist bodice. Centre front gathers on skirt and various sleeve options. I made View D with View C sleeves

Pattern Sizing:
8-18. I made size 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mine was a combination of views D and C but basically yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't follow them this time as I have made this dress twice before Click here but I remember that they were very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love the various options available in this pattern. The crossover with twist bodice is the feature on this dress and also my favourite part of construction.

Fabric Used:
Polyester Viscose Jersey, that was slippy and v e r y s t r e t c h y !

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made View D Dress but with View A sleeves although I also added gathers to the sleeve head. I also made a facing for the neckline and shortened the dress by a few inches. The latter I now regret. This version would have been better left the length it was meant to be.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I highly recommend this pattern although I think it is now discontinued. Having made it 3 times now I think this pattern is now ready for retirement, so no I doubt I will make it again.

Conclusion:
I love this dress pattern it's smart, fun and casual all at the same time. Easy to make with satisfying results. Sadly now discontinued but if you can get hold of the pattern I highly recommend it

For more photos and info please stop by My Blog
Click here
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Very pretty Dawn! The colour and style look great on you:)
4/24/14 12:38 PM
Sheila457 said...
Pretty dress.
4/24/14 4:03 PM
supizoo said...
really lovely on you!
4/24/14 5:03 PM
JTink said...
Beautiful!
4/24/14 5:04 PM
julie w said...
Great dress, the colour is also very pretty on you. I have this pattern so must get round to making it.
4/24/14 7:28 PM
Sew Good said...
This is a beautiful dress! I'm going to search for this pattern. I want it!
4/24/14 9:17 PM
beanchor said...
Pretty dress! I love the fit on you and the sleeves at the wrists.
4/24/14 10:41 PM
Carobo said...
Lovely dress and it looks great on you !
4/25/14 6:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress!
4/25/14 10:23 AM
STARG said...
Great looking dress. Love that color!
4/25/14 12:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-102A

photo
by: olgarosita

Review