SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6003 (Misses' Skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 161 times 
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo

 
 
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 74
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/14 12:05 PM
Last Updated:3/25/14 12:08 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6003 by Muggiesew

New Look: 6003 by Muggiesew  New Look: 6003 by Muggiesew  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6003
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Straight skirt in 3 lengths with 3 peplum options
Pattern Sizing:
US 8-18 I did size 12, although measurements suggested. 14-16 and I took lots out of seams.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes although I didn't add any of the trim or a peplum
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes , all straight forward.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Bought it because of the peplum and then didn't add it! But good basic shaped skirt with back vent. I will make a peplum version. I made the shortest length.
Fabric Used:
Linton tweed, cotton /wool mix with slubs of shiny stuff ( looks a bit like thin tinsel). Underlined with very fine knitted fusible interfacing to stop the fabric falling apart when cut. It frays like crazy.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Omitted peplum and didn't do back vent. I made back darts wider at top to cope with sway back. I made the facing from cotton rather than the wool as I thought it might be itchy. I added a lining.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I will make the peplum version and I might try a longer pencil skirt one brave day.
Conclusion:
Great basic skirt. Although basic shaped skirt the fabric makes it look posh and it feels good on. The sizing was weird. I've just made a new look dress size 10 that was a bit tight so I did larger size in this and had to take it in. The garment sizes were identical. Not a problem as I've ended up with a skirt I'm happy with.
Apologies if photo goes sideways!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Neat fabric! The simple skirt is a great way to show it off. Funny thing about ease and how it can make a size seem bigger than it need to be.
3/25/14 12:25 PM
MamaSewing said...
Your skirt looks great with the fabric you used.
3/25/14 12:59 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Cute skirt...love the Linton!
3/25/14 3:34 PM
Jrhee said...
Looks like a pretty, versatile, and basic skirt pattern!
3/25/14 3:51 PM
SewLibra said...
Very nice and well fitting skirt. Love the fabric!
3/25/14 5:50 PM
supizoo said...
Lovely choice of fabrics.
3/25/14 5:56 PM
Muggiesew said...
Here's where all the fabrics came from. I think they have a website and can deliver to USA. Must edit review as the fabric is cotton tweed not wool tweed as I thought! http://www.macculloch-wallis.co.uk/Product.aspx/!20475
3/25/14 6:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 5497

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Butterick 5753

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review