SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5894 (Misses Dress)

Viewed 573 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/14 1:44 PM
Last Updated:3/25/14 2:08 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5894 by SavageCoco

Butterick: 5894 by SavageCoco  Butterick: 5894 by SavageCoco  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5894
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses' semi-fitted, lined dress with double Princess seams and back zipper.

Pattern Sizing: 8-16. I cut a 14. I made View A with lots of top stitching.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Fairly. Although this is a lined dress, I chose not to line it. Also, they have you put in the lining the hard way instead of the All-in-One neckline-armscye method, which makes for a MUCH nicer finished project. If you make this dress, use the All-in-One method.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the slender lines of the finished silhouette and cut away armscye. I liked that it is sexy but covers my old lady decolletage. I don't have cellulite or crow's feet but I'm convinced someone else has moved in to my chest area because I sure don't recognize it.

I didn't like the too high bust point. You can just about see it in the photo on the pattern envelope. The actual point is semi-flat, with the fullness just above the bust point, thus making the chest poofy as if you're hollow chested. If you stare at the pattern piece, you'll see the curve is above the bust point instead of at the bust point. Next version of this dress I'll fix that on my pattern before cutting.

Also, despite all the pieces looking fairly straight, they're not. There's some subtle curvature in there and by the time you're done, Mae West could wear this dress. It's pretty curvy. I took some of it out when I altered the side seams.

Fabric Used: 27" wide vintage denim found in Grandma's Trunk of Mystery Fabric, laundered several times on hot wash and dry. (It had been in that trunk for over 50 years). There were 6.5 yards of it. Now what do you suppose she was gonna make with all that skinny denim? I guessed this fabric is from the 20-30's as most of the other items in the trunk are from that time-frame.

The denim was a bit ravel-y so I ran the seam allowances thru the trusty ol' Juki EA-605 overlocker. That baby is a workhorse I've had since 1976. Uh oh, I'm aging myself here. That, and all the Dusty Springfield I listen to while sewing . . .

Thread & Needle Used: Gutterman gold buttonhole twist, 3 spools and a Schmetz Microtex Sharp, 90/14. I tossed the needle after I finished this project. That was a lot of top stitching. Here's what I had left.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Omitted a full lining as I made this for Summer. I made bias binding instead from a very nice mystery fabric found for a dollar(!) at the ASG Stash Sale last year. Actually, if I had lined it, this would have been an excellent choice. It's very soft and doesn't wrinkle. I wash and dried it on hot and it came out like new. It's like something developed by NASA.

Added big patch pockets. Actually I think they're a bit too big but they're in and I'm not taking 'em out.

Inserted an exposed zipper with zipper guard Custom 22" medium weight brass zipper with pull in navy ordered from N & M Custom Zippers, $16.95. Order online, they'll call you the next day to confirm and make payment. Arrived via USmail 3 days later. They're FAB.

Removed a full 1" from the side seams. Either this pattern runs a tad big or I've lost some weight. Oh, PLEASE let it be the latter . . .

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? You know what? I think I may make this again. I think this version came out pretty cute. It's a versatile pattern.

Conclusion: Despite all those skinny pattern pieces, this dress went together fairly fast in terms of construction and top stitching. Sew seam, press open, top stitch. Repeat. I left the side seams for last for fitting. When it came to inserting the zipper, I really slowed down. I used ALOT of Wash Away Wonder Tape (the single most fabulous sewing notion created. Ever.) to hold the zip in place while stitching. I did do a test zip insertion on a scrape first. I highly recommend you do the same to get your Exposed Zip Mojo going.

I think this dress is cute as a button. DH said maybe denim is best left for dungarees. Oh, I see. Now that he's a Husband, he thinks he can start with the snarky comments? Me thinks someone's not getting any cake tonight . . .
If you've made it this far, here's some project pics. Enjoy!

Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Look at all that glorious top stitching! wow!!!!
3/25/14 1:42 PM
EleanorSews said...
Very nice and your top stitching is top notch!
3/25/14 2:10 PM
ArtAttack said...
What a great summer dress!! I love it...beautiful work!
3/25/14 2:14 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful! Impeccable workmanship. I'll bet that fabric was originally for pants, because of its width.
3/25/14 2:32 PM
MamaSewing said...
Great job with all the top stitching! And the dress is perfect for the denim.
3/25/14 2:32 PM
BettyMike said...
What a great dress! And your review is wonderful. I admire people that can write reviews that read like a good story! Well done on both!
3/25/14 2:54 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love your review and your dress. What a cute design buried in this pattern. I love the idea of sharing our sewing playlists, too!
3/25/14 3:00 PM
NEMDF said...
Beautiful results! And blue denim- so versatile, can wear it all year. I am having stop stitching and bias binding ENVY here. Nice job, and thanks for sharing.
3/25/14 3:43 PM
Jrhee said...
Very chic, I'm sure it looks fabulous on!
3/25/14 3:46 PM
sarahark said...
Your review is valuable and entertaining. Thanks for the picture of your zipper---I needed the inspiration.
3/25/14 4:29 PM
beanchor said...
Wow!
3/25/14 4:44 PM
atymonw said...
Gosh -- I love that dress! You did a gorgeous job both inside and out. And I love that you did it with 'antique' fabric:)
3/25/14 5:16 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
funny review and helpful. like the gold thread with the exposed brass zipper. Cute binding for just a bit of the feminine to go with denim.
3/25/14 5:44 PM
meggipeg said...
I think, confronted with you in this dress, DH must have been so overwhelmed that he couldn't think straight. Dungarees indeed. This dress is stunning.
3/25/14 6:23 PM
Sew Good said...
Gorgeous! Now you got me thinking about the 5 yards of denim I have in my stash. I love your facings. Especially the zipper facing. Thanks for the review!!!!
3/25/14 8:41 PM
Cathyaw said...
Just beautiful! The zipper, top stitching, and bias binding all go together to make this denim dress light years removed from dungarees! As I often say to my love, "Shhhh!" You go girl...gorgeous!!
3/25/14 9:18 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Great dress. I'm gonna have to add the pattern to my stash!
3/25/14 9:31 PM
kajero said...
The only thing I can say is, "WOW"! Oops, I think it deserves a second, "WOW, WOW"!
3/25/14 10:21 PM
SewLibra said...
Love, love, love this dress! The topstitching, exposed zip, and binding are perfect, and it's a flattering silhouette to boot. I can't believe the fabric is that old and still in great shape! Thank you for the Dusty Springfield video. Oh how I used to love listening to her on the radio. Your review is excellent and so funny!
3/26/14 1:18 AM
5tummies said...
amazing sauce. !
3/26/14 4:18 AM
supizoo said...
I'm so glad you posted all of those photos. Every photo contained a detail that made me want want want!
3/26/14 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this denim fabric and all of the topstitching. Love this style. I had not paid any attention to this pattern until seeing your version.
3/26/14 5:30 AM
LTC said...
Beautiful top stitching, great looking dress.
3/26/14 6:15 AM
Lori V said...
This is a beautiful dress, amazing job on the topstitching.
3/26/14 7:31 AM
Fran G said...
Great dress…I can see it being a summer staple. I love the topstitching!
3/26/14 7:55 AM
mending maven said...
Love it!
3/26/14 8:05 AM
cindyann said...
As always, your sewing is perfection. Great dress. I WANT!
3/26/14 8:33 AM
KarlaB said...
What a great denim dress! Methinks denim is made for this kind of dress! Beautiful top stitching and love love your exposed zip, and that pretty bias binding, too! Such beautiful details! Great job!
3/26/14 3:20 PM
Wianno Girl said...
the close up of the armscye (who invented that word?) is worth everything - it fits the curve beautifully without the odd pooky thing that so many patterns add to the top of the side seam and it even does it in a fabric not known for helping curves. Helpful excellent review and terrific sewing.
3/26/14 7:47 PM
WistfulRidge said...
This is so lovely!
3/26/14 9:12 PM
JudyMac said...
gorgeous!
3/26/14 10:14 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress!
3/27/14 10:21 AM
stellebelle said...
Your modifications for the dress were really cool and creative. Great first review for this pattern.
3/27/14 8:14 PM
popo said...
Absolutely fabulous!!!!!
3/28/14 1:28 AM
CallMeSu said...
LOVELY!!!!!
3/29/14 10:36 PM
SavageCoco said...
GOSH EVERYONE! Thanks so much for all your lovely, lovely comments!
3/30/14 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other Stuffed Sloth

photo
by: Nikki

Review
New Look 6936

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now