SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5894 (Misses Dress)

Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/14 1:44 PM
Last Updated:3/25/14 2:08 PM


Butterick: 5894 by SavageCoco  Butterick: 5894 by SavageCoco  


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
GOSH EVERYONE! Thanks so much for all your lovely, lovely comments!
3/30/14 9:41 PM
CallMeSu said...
LOVELY!!!!!
3/29/14 10:36 PM
popo said...
Absolutely fabulous!!!!!
3/28/14 1:28 AM
stellebelle said...
Your modifications for the dress were really cool and creative. Great first review for this pattern.
3/27/14 8:14 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress!
3/27/14 10:21 AM
JudyMac said...
gorgeous!
3/26/14 10:14 PM
WistfulRidge said...
This is so lovely!
3/26/14 9:12 PM
Wianno Girl said...
the close up of the armscye (who invented that word?) is worth everything - it fits the curve beautifully without the odd pooky thing that so many patterns add to the top of the side seam and it even does it in a fabric not known for helping curves. Helpful excellent review and terrific sewing.
3/26/14 7:47 PM
KarlaB said...
What a great denim dress! Methinks denim is made for this kind of dress! Beautiful top stitching and love love your exposed zip, and that pretty bias binding, too! Such beautiful details! Great job!
3/26/14 3:20 PM
cindyann said...
As always, your sewing is perfection. Great dress. I WANT!
3/26/14 8:33 AM
mending maven said...
Love it!
3/26/14 8:05 AM
Fran G said...
Great dress…I can see it being a summer staple. I love the topstitching!
3/26/14 7:55 AM
Lori V said...
This is a beautiful dress, amazing job on the topstitching.
3/26/14 7:31 AM
LTC said...
Beautiful top stitching, great looking dress.
3/26/14 6:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this denim fabric and all of the topstitching. Love this style. I had not paid any attention to this pattern until seeing your version.
3/26/14 5:30 AM
supizoo said...
I'm so glad you posted all of those photos. Every photo contained a detail that made me want want want!
3/26/14 5:24 AM
5tummies said...
amazing sauce. !
3/26/14 4:18 AM
SewLibra said...
Love, love, love this dress! The topstitching, exposed zip, and binding are perfect, and it's a flattering silhouette to boot. I can't believe the fabric is that old and still in great shape! Thank you for the Dusty Springfield video. Oh how I used to love listening to her on the radio. Your review is excellent and so funny!
3/26/14 1:18 AM
kajero said...
The only thing I can say is, "WOW"! Oops, I think it deserves a second, "WOW, WOW"!
3/25/14 10:21 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Great dress. I'm gonna have to add the pattern to my stash!
3/25/14 9:31 PM
Cathyaw said...
Just beautiful! The zipper, top stitching, and bias binding all go together to make this denim dress light years removed from dungarees! As I often say to my love, "Shhhh!" You go girl...gorgeous!!
3/25/14 9:18 PM
Sew Good said...
Gorgeous! Now you got me thinking about the 5 yards of denim I have in my stash. I love your facings. Especially the zipper facing. Thanks for the review!!!!
3/25/14 8:41 PM
meggipeg said...
I think, confronted with you in this dress, DH must have been so overwhelmed that he couldn't think straight. Dungarees indeed. This dress is stunning.
3/25/14 6:23 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
funny review and helpful. like the gold thread with the exposed brass zipper. Cute binding for just a bit of the feminine to go with denim.
3/25/14 5:44 PM
atymonw said...
Gosh -- I love that dress! You did a gorgeous job both inside and out. And I love that you did it with 'antique' fabric:)
3/25/14 5:16 PM
beanchor said...
Wow!
3/25/14 4:44 PM
sarahark said...
Your review is valuable and entertaining. Thanks for the picture of your zipper---I needed the inspiration.
3/25/14 4:29 PM
Jrhee said...
Very chic, I'm sure it looks fabulous on!
3/25/14 3:46 PM
NEMDF said...
Beautiful results! And blue denim- so versatile, can wear it all year. I am having stop stitching and bias binding ENVY here. Nice job, and thanks for sharing.
3/25/14 3:43 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love your review and your dress. What a cute design buried in this pattern. I love the idea of sharing our sewing playlists, too!
3/25/14 3:00 PM
BettyMike said...
What a great dress! And your review is wonderful. I admire people that can write reviews that read like a good story! Well done on both!
3/25/14 2:54 PM
MamaSewing said...
Great job with all the top stitching! And the dress is perfect for the denim.
3/25/14 2:32 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful! Impeccable workmanship. I'll bet that fabric was originally for pants, because of its width.
3/25/14 2:32 PM
ArtAttack said...
What a great summer dress!! I love it...beautiful work!
3/25/14 2:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
Very nice and your top stitching is top notch!
3/25/14 2:10 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Look at all that glorious top stitching! wow!!!!
3/25/14 1:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-25

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Simplicity 6686

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info