SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5526 (Misses' Shirt)

30 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Fitted Blouse - Skill Level ADVANCED Contest
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:Alpine Queen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Alpine Queenstar
FRANCE
Member since: 4/9/13
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/14 12:09 PM
Last Updated:3/27/14 12:21 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5526 by Alpine Queen

Butterick: 5526 by Alpine Queen  Butterick: 5526 by Alpine Queen  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5526
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Classic shirt with collar/stand, cuffs, variations.

Pattern Sizing:
6-12. I did a size 10 with a D cup FBA.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, although I mixed several views.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, fairly standard. However, I always do the collars and cuffs backwards from what they say when they are edgestitched. I can't see handstitching on the underside just to stitch close to the edge on the top. That's how my male shirt patterns are written in the first place.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I need more imagination to use this pattern more widely. I got some ideas from other reviewers, which got me to thinking outside the box. While I made a casual plaid shirt, I noticed a very classy satin blouse on a friend that could have been made from this same pattern.

Fabric Used:
Some cheap cotton I happened to like. The weave is way more open than I'm used to, which wasn't obvious, so it was more difficult to work with than one would expect from a simple cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I wanted to make view A to keep the plaid lines clean, but I also wanted to enter the fitted blouse contest. So I changed to view D, eliminated the pockets, but added the tabs for the rolled up sleeve. I used the shorter sleeve pattern, then discovered the cuff didn't roll up correctly, so I had to redo the placement. As I always have to add an inch to long sleeves, I have also now marked the pattern for another time. Too bad they didn't mention that necessity while marking otherwise for lengthening/shortening.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, definitely.

Conclusion:
Living in Europe, I have not discovered how to buy the cheaper patterns here so available in the US, so I am really interested in how this classic style can be easily redesigned (I'm not a designer) for many other looks.

Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
I love plaid! :) Really nice top and it fits very well!
3/27/14 12:19 PM
jannw said...
Very nice!! I really like the longer length on this. Congrats on the first review!!
3/27/14 2:02 PM
Celticstitcher said...
well done matching the plaid, the shirt is great
3/27/14 3:22 PM
Quickie said...
i like your blouse very much.You did a great job with the plaids
3/27/14 3:29 PM
cleverkitty said...
Love this too, all your clothes look wonderful :)
3/27/14 6:02 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely fit and the plaid looks great in this shirt.
3/27/14 6:11 PM
Christas said...
Very nice work..... excellent matching of the plaid, too!
3/27/14 6:40 PM
kajero said...
It looks fantastic on you. The plaids match beautifully. The fit is awesome. Congratulations on making an exceptional blouse.
3/27/14 6:40 PM
carolynw said...
Nice work!
3/27/14 6:46 PM
SewWil said...
Great job matching the plaid. Beautiful blouse.
3/27/14 7:19 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Pretty blouse! the plaids look great. I really like the rolled up sleeves.
3/28/14 0:23 AM
KathleenS said...
Great shirt! Personally I think that for the purpose of the contest it would be good to have a photo with your arms by your sides as your pose may distort any fit issues. Not that it looks like there are any.
3/28/14 4:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice fitting blouse!
3/28/14 6:57 AM
wildberrymom said...
Gorgeous shirt!
3/28/14 1:58 PM
Morisot said...
Very nice. Love that you used the plaid.
3/28/14 8:26 PM
TJSEWS said...
Fits you beautifully. Great job matching that plaid!
3/28/14 11:55 PM
annem54 said...
Good pattern matching - I'm too green yet to think about pattern AND fit.
3/31/14 12:06 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Beautifully made!
3/31/14 5:32 PM
a7yrstitch said...
Fantastic! And I have to comment on the details.......the bias cut sleeve tabs, the perfect center alignment of pattern on the collar matching the center back of the blouse, the horizontal alignment of the predominant red streak in the plaid that goes across the front bodice and the sleeves....... I love it all!
4/3/14 4:56 PM
jbrewer said...
Perfect fit! And nice job matching your plaid at the seams! Impressive
4/4/14 7:54 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking top! Wonderful fit!
4/6/14 1:31 PM
BeckyLeeSews said...
You did a great job on this fitted shirt. The plaid matching looks perfect even with the FBA. That fabric choice and styling edits you made are perfect for you and that look. Love the longer length too. Good job!
4/8/14 5:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8552

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1207

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now