SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5562 (Misses' Top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:mchinadoll
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mchinadollstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/4/10
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/26/14 8:07 AM
Last Updated:3/27/14 8:47 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5562 by mchinadoll

Butterick: 5562 by mchinadoll  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5562
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, gathered sleeve top (View A).

Pattern Sizing: XS – XLG (I chose the med)

Did it look like the pattern photo/drawing on the pattern envelope? Yes, it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were easy.

Why did you choose this pattern? I loved the sleeve detail. I am a sucker for drama.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I have no dislikes.

Fabric used? A double knit with some texture from Fabricmart.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made. I contoured the waist a little so it wasn't very boxy. I am big busted by my waist small.

Would you sew this again? Yes, I might sew one for the spring or summer.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, though it is an out-of-print pattern.

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
Interesting top, both versions yours with the dramatic sleeve, and the pattern picture, I would have liked to see you wearing it. Very nice fabric choice.
3/26/14 8:34 AM
Lagolden2 said...
The sleeves draw great attention. I too would like to see you model the top. The ruching looks quite complex.
3/26/14 9:25 AM
Sew Good said...
I have this pattern :) I haven't made anything yet but it's in the works! Thanks for your review!
3/26/14 9:28 AM
crisford said...
VERY cute! I bet you'll get lots of comments as you wear it!
3/26/14 11:17 AM
tanyamaile said...
Love those sleeves! That makes it quite a cool top!
3/26/14 11:24 AM
tlc246 said...
I love the dramatic flair on the sleeves too. Great job.
3/26/14 12:27 PM
CraftAddict said...
Nice! I hadn't noticed this pattern before.
3/26/14 12:29 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top! Love the sleeve treatment.
3/27/14 5:17 AM
mchinadoll said...
Thanks so much ladies. As requested, I uploaded a picture of myself wearing my B5562 today, and its not a bathroom selfie, YAY!
3/27/14 8:48 AM
Lagolden2 said...
Very nice- those sleeves have a very different flavor. I like the way you coupled them with those brown pants. Excellent sewing and easy wearing.
3/27/14 9:16 AM
Levone said...
Cute top!
3/27/14 9:41 AM
STARG said...
Great top! Love the sleeve detail.
3/27/14 9:48 AM
Levone said...
Cute top!
3/27/14 11:16 AM
tlc246 said...
I like it even better seeing it on you!
3/27/14 1:00 PM
supizoo said...
Oh yes, this is great!
3/27/14 6:57 PM
sewingengr said...
This is what I love about this stie...a pattern that I would have simply glossed over and dismissed...and now I want it. really cute love the graphic print choice great job
3/27/14 10:47 PM
wildberrymom said...
Nice translation of this pattern--cute!
3/28/14 2:37 AM
mchinadoll said...
Again, thanks so much everyone.
3/28/14 7:44 AM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Hmm, really cute...I must put this one on my list.
3/29/14 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5283

photo
by: Lenarciak

Review
Burda 7396

photo
by: MrsC NZ

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now