SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6179 (Misses top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1487 times 
Reviewed by:Hilary
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Hilarystar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/05 4:34 PM
Last Updated:6/14/05 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jemgirlca said...
I think it looks cute and summery on you! :)
6/14/05 4:46 PM
Mini said...
It looks very cute-definitely not too pajama-like. It will be easy to try the other views now that you have the fit worked out.
6/14/05 4:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Yes! This looks very good and TX summery. I love the shaped hem. Clever. I like mine to have only the front hem scooped and the back level with the sides so my high hip is less accented. Thanks for the info about your narrow hemmer-you remind me to use mine more often. Nicely done, Hilary.
6/14/05 5:16 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking top. With that pattern there are so many possibilities of so many pretty tops. Good review.
6/14/05 5:29 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty top. The curved hemline is very flattering on you.
6/14/05 6:42 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I think this top is very cute on you! It looks so cool and comfortable and feminine. But if you are uncomfortable with the fluttery sleeves, you can make the flounces longer or add a third so that they come further down your shoulder/arm. I'm definitely adding this to my wish list. I have some stashed eyelets and other cottons this would be perfect for, esp. here in humidity-ville.
6/14/05 7:11 PM
jlg said...
What a cute, comfy looking top.
6/14/05 9:10 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I think it looks cool and comfy on you. You did a really good job. And anyone who has mastered the narrow hem foot - well, my hats off to you!
6/14/05 9:14 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This top is very flattering on you. Cute and casual, not pajama-like. The curved hem is a great choice. I hope to see updates with more versions of this top!
6/14/05 9:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think maybe a bit Pj top, but that is the look! You did a good job in making it flattering. It looks just the thing for a hot day.
6/15/05 1:03 AM
AnneM said...
Cute sleeve treatment; it works for a casual summer top. I think that the style is a touch "PJ", although paired w/ the right bottom it will probably be less so. And I really think that is supposed to be the look here. The neckline style does accent your bust slightly, I think.
6/15/05 4:25 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your top looks great, and I agree--looks very cool for hot days ahead!
6/15/05 6:47 AM
JoleneF said...
I love this top and it will be nice and cool.
6/15/05 7:55 AM
cutiepie said...
It looks great! I really love what you've done with the top - very cute and feminine - just my style, so I'll definitely be getting this pattern! :)
6/15/05 10:02 AM
JDpenelope said...
You look cool, calm, and collected in your summery top. For casual, hot weather wear, it's great. Maybe the sleeve treatment Debbie suggested would help reduce any pj look and provide a little more coverage, if you feel you want it.
6/16/05 12:54 PM
mamamaia said...
Looks lovely on you!
6/17/05 7:13 AM
jodi-6 said...
Thanks so much for the awesome information on this pattern. I found the P# somewhere and was thrilled to find pics, etc. This review was very helpful since I am not your standard size and would love to try something like this. Try it in a long sleeve! I will soon since in Ohio it's turning cold fast. Both my DS will probably say it looks like PJ's also.
10/27/06 10:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: goosegreen

Review
StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now