SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8886 (Top & Dress)

14 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Fitted Blouse - Skill Level BEGINNER Contest
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:rjmudge
photo

 
 
About rjmudgestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/22/14
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/14 5:07 AM
Last Updated:3/30/14 5:11 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8886 by rjmudge

Vogue Patterns: 8886 by rjmudge  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8886
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by rjmudge

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Fitted, lined top has collar and princess seam.
Pattern Sizing:
8-10-12-14-16 are on the pattern. I made a size 14.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, mine is a heavier cotton that provides a nice structure to the top.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, it was very easy to follow with clear pictures and instructions for each step.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I think it is a very smart top with the clever collar really dressing up the top.
Fabric Used:
A heavy woven cotton with a metallic thread in the black stripes.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I decided not to line the body of the top as my fabric was heavy enough but I lined the sleeves. I added 1cm to the side seams around the waist/stomach area when cutting as otherwise it would have been a little too snug (based on my first attempt). I also reduced the length by 5cm as I thought it looked too long.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I have made a pink one very like the pattern picture which I love but it served as the muslin for this one and I stretched it out a bit around the stomach when ironing it so it doesn't look quite as good as this one. Yes, I would recommend it.
Conclusion:
A really smart top that adds a bit of style to my wardrobe but is very easy to wear too.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rpilver said...
Very cute on you. I love the fabric!
3/30/14 5:25 AM
Quickie said...
this is a nice top. i love that collartype
3/30/14 5:46 AM
Danmar said...
Looks nice! Well done
3/30/14 7:00 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Fits you great!
3/30/14 7:13 AM
Baja Susana said...
The fabric is distinctive, and works well with the cut of the top. The color compliments your hair, and it looks very nice on you, good job.
3/30/14 9:06 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Such a cute top!! Love the collar
3/30/14 9:09 AM
canei said...
Love it!!!
3/30/14 10:01 AM
LoriMinnesota said...
Great job! I am a beginner too, so very inspiring!! So pretty on you.
3/30/14 10:08 AM
detroy said...
That is so cute! I love the fabric, too.
3/30/14 11:40 AM
Clareew said...
This is one of my favourite patterns, your top is brilliant, so flattering.
3/30/14 11:52 AM
kajero said...
The top looks fantastic on you. It is so cute! I love the fabric, the "collar" and how it fits!
3/30/14 12:50 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I love this on you, great fit, cute fabric, very sharp!
3/30/14 1:40 PM
Alpine Queen said...
Adorable. Great fit. How does the collar lay in the back? Good for you attempting a Vogue pattern.
3/30/14 2:02 PM
rjmudge said...
Thanks so much everyone! I'm very new to this and it's really encouraging to receive such nice comments! Alpine Queen, thanks and the collar starts above the zip on the main body. Then there are a couple of hook and eyes to keep it in place, it is quite stiff so sits nicely. I'll take another photo of the back too.
3/30/14 7:58 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very nice top!
3/31/14 0:32 AM
SewLibra said...
I really like the basketweave fabric. Great job on your top!
3/31/14 1:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking top!
3/31/14 5:13 AM
rjmudge said...
I've added a shot from the back, not a great photo but shows the collar at the back. Just for you Alpine Queen!
3/31/14 6:04 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, and I love the fabric! by the way, you might want to edit your review so it links to the pattern (the "v" in front of your number prevents it from doing that).
3/31/14 7:34 AM
jannw said...
Well done!! It looks great on you! Also a great job on your first review!!
3/31/14 8:29 AM
annem54 said...
The collar looks good. I've never worn this type of collar.
3/31/14 10:59 AM
Alpine Queen said...
Thanks for the photo! I loved the front neck but could imagine it not laying nicely in the back. It looks very cute and youthful.
3/31/14 7:08 PM
Someday2005 said...
Nice. I like the fabric pattern.
4/3/14 1:39 PM
Margaret said...
Nice fit! Looks like a great style for a bold print like this!
4/6/14 9:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-142

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6129

photo
by: mrsbewley

Review