SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6750 (Misses' Shirts)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Fitted Blouse - Skill Level ADVANCED Contest
Viewed 693 times 
Reviewed by:SewRuth
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewRuthstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/14 4:25 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6750 by SewRuth

McCall's: 6750 by SewRuth  McCall's: 6750 by SewRuth  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6750
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Semi-Fitted shirts have raised neckline, fold-back facings, darts, shaped hemline and narrow hem. A: sleeveless. B has 3/4 sleeves and Cfull length sleeves both made with two-pieces with seam opening and button cuffs. The collar is raised at the back, faced and folded over at the front. THERE ARE 12 DARTS! This is indeed a fitted shirt. There is no button placket at the front, just faced.

Pattern Sizing:
B5 - 8-16. I cut the 14.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes,but I think I could have taken mine in a little bit but I'm always so worried about gaping at the bust that I left it a little on the loose side.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, well written and explained. I reckon a competent beginner could make this.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It doesn't gape! That's what's good. The fit is perfect across my shoulders. It's just those darts - once they're out of the way the rest is plain sailing.
I really like the collar treatment. It's cut on but raised at the back with revers at the front - classy.

Fabric Used:
White Oxford cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None - sewn straight from the box.
I did flat fell all seams and serged the armhole.
This shirt is included in my SWAP '14 effort which is based on a rainbow, so I had to add colour somewhere - hence the multi-coloured buttons down the front and on the cuffs.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, this may well become a staple in my sewing repertoire. As the envelope comes with three sleeve variations there's lots of versions yet to make.

Conclusion:
A great fitted shirt. I suppose the more darts there are the better fitted it will be, so I can't really complain and making darts isn't that difficult, just a bit time consuming. My advice would be to sew all the darts in one go and then get on with the construction.
More info and a few pics Click Here
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
Great top! Love the buttons!
3/30/14 4:36 PM
mmcp said...
Beautiful shirt. I love the collar shape, and the buttons are a great touch.
3/30/14 4:38 PM
wendyrb said...
You fit is just right to my eye- great! With all those darts it's easy to "over" fit and you stopped short of that. Very flattering and I'm sure you'll wear it a lot.
3/30/14 5:36 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
It looks great. Good luck in the contest!
3/30/14 6:21 PM
kajero said...
What a neat top. I love the buttons. And talk about fit -- Wow. I know you will gets lots of compliments on your beautiful blouse
3/30/14 6:24 PM
Sew Whatever said...
I agree with you about darts. I 'need' them, but it doesn't mean I like doing them! Love the buttons!
3/30/14 6:31 PM
mm said...
Nice shirt and I love the buttons.
3/30/14 6:36 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is so cool! I love all of your buttons! Perfectly fit too
3/30/14 6:47 PM
LPGA said...
NICE SewRuth. Very originals those buttons ! Good luck with contest !
3/30/14 7:00 PM
Ms. Monica G said...
So darling! Great choice with the buttons. You did a lovely job.
3/30/14 8:27 PM
MarjorieSews said...
Lovely shirt and the fit is really good. I too like the buttons.
3/30/14 8:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful blouse. I want one. Wink. I also have this pattern and have yet to try it. The darts do enhance the fit and shape of it. Excellent job.
3/30/14 8:53 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful shirt! What a great fit on you...love the colored buttons!
3/30/14 9:55 PM
Baja Susana said...
This is gorgeous, I love the buttons, I often mix up my buttons. I just love this, great job! You have my vote.
3/30/14 11:37 PM
wildberrymom said...
Love the shirt--great button treatment!
3/31/14 0:50 AM
ggf2005 said...
such a fun blouse!
3/31/14 1:18 AM
Quickie said...
I think you are so right about darts.... It is better to have many smaller ones. Great shirt
3/31/14 2:25 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations - awesome shirt!
3/31/14 4:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty and the use of colorful buttons adds a nice touch to this white blouse. Nice fit
3/31/14 5:26 AM
MirrorQueen said...
hi there Ruth, how do I vote, I keep looking??
3/31/14 5:50 AM
MirrorQueen said...
hi there Ruth, how do I vote, I keep looking??
3/31/14 5:50 AM
threaddy said...
Your sewing results look better than the photo on the pattern. What a great idea with the buttons! This shirt fits to perfection and looks fabulous.
3/31/14 9:53 AM
annem54 said...
Beautiful blouse - and I love your buttons! I'd take your advice that a beginner like myself could make this - but 12 darts!!
3/31/14 12:04 PM
ASiverson said...
Love the shirt and the colors and patterns on the buttons. You did a fantastic job. TFS!
3/31/14 2:23 PM
Erin Sooit said...
That's a fun take the a classic white shirt. Love the buttons, and that looks like a great fit.
3/31/14 11:18 PM
beanchor said...
How fun! I love the buttons!
4/1/14 6:09 PM
Someday2005 said...
I really love it!
4/3/14 1:55 PM
a7yrstitch said...
Did I read your bio correctly? That you've only been sewing on a regular basis for a few years (not decades)? Congratulations on this blouse and on your other reviewed garments. Nicely done.
4/3/14 5:12 PM
Margaret said...
Nice shirt! The buttons are so fun!
4/6/14 1:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Other Morning by Morning Sling

photo
by: khurtdvm

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now