SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 6976 (Dress and Skirt)

Viewed 211 times 
Reviewed by:prttynpnk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About prttynpnkstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 6/28/11
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/14 5:29 PM
Last Updated:4/17/14 5:29 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 6976 by prttynpnk

Burda: 6976 by prttynpnk  
Pattern Photo:Burda 6976
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Bloggin' Pattern Description: misses dress gathered into a faux wrap

Pattern Sizing: misses

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? well....sure. MY not using the waist tie did alter the look a tiny bit.

Were the instructions easy to follow? the waist on the skirt blew my little fuzzy mind. I actually called the husband in to consult. But really that just my brain trying to wrap around a wrap and a gather!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It looks a little 80's to me, but it's a nice basic. I think in a heavier fabric, maybe a wool crepe, this could be darn classy! The back needs a little adjustment, it is fuller and has more of a blousing than I really would prefer- I imagine a zipper being added would have made it look like I have a lower back hump- not a goal I have for 2014. I'll remove some of the length in the bodice next time.

Fabric Used: a slimey hancock poly that I call the Blue Cranes of Doom!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: no zip- it didn't need one, really

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? ones enough, but come on- someone make this pattern!

Conclusion:
Bloggin'
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crisford said...
Gorgeous. That print is huge!
4/17/14 5:51 PM
persevering said...
Awesome! You really put fabric and pattern together for a great look on you.
4/17/14 6:51 PM
supizoo said...
Love how you placed the cranes, flying up and over your shoulder. Great dress on you.
4/17/14 7:25 PM
Curly26 said...
Love your dress. I want that fabric....I am going to stalk my Hancock.
4/17/14 8:12 PM
marec said...
Oh, I love this 80s style dress on you, and the fabric!
4/17/14 9:01 PM
TJSEWS said...
The placement of the print is just awesome!
4/17/14 9:44 PM
Sew Good said...
This is really cute! And your fabric choice is wonderful!
4/17/14 11:07 PM
ArtAttack said...
This fabric is outstanding and the perfect match for this pattern! it is killer!
4/18/14 0:51 AM
sewinfrance said...
Love the fabric and your great "dress in action" photos.
4/18/14 2:52 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh my, I love it! You find the best places to take photos!
4/18/14 7:23 PM
Mmmberry said...
Wow that fabric is awesome
4/18/14 9:16 PM
Renren said...
Blue cranes of doom on slimy poly--oh, dear. I think it's much nicer but I'm sure I can't possibly outdo that! I really like it and as usual, I like your background/photo venue (?venue? is that right?). Cool photo, cool dress.
4/18/14 11:45 PM
ASiverson said...
The fabric doesn't look slimey! Love it actually, but I haven't touched it, you did! Fabulous job and TFS! off to the blog in a minute or so....!
4/19/14 10:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6348

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now