SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5997 (Loose Fitting Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 270 times 
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About slmstylestarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/14 12:32 PM
Last Updated:3/31/14 12:34 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5997 by slmstyle

Butterick: 5997 by slmstyle  Butterick: 5997 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5997
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Georgette  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting, pullover top has collar band, shaped hemline and narrow hem. A: front shorter than back, stitched hems on sleeves with tab, and fold-back cuffs. B: pocket, sleeve with pleats, continuous lap and button cuffs. A and B: self-lined yokes. B and C: collar. D: sleeve bands. C and D: front pin tucks.

Pattern Sizing: 8-10-12-14-16. I made the 12 in view D with the long sleeves of view B because I wanted to make the pintucks, but wanted a long, regular sleeve.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I suppose, but you can't really see the pintucks in the printed fabric that I used as well as you see them on the pattern envelope.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I looked at them from time to time when I needed guidance, but this is a straightforward top and after making several blouses, the instructions are pretty much all the same. They were good though.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the pintucking (although they are a pain to make and to get all perfectly marked, sewn and evenly spaced) and the longer, shaped hem. I am not crazy about the facing as it sticks out and is difficult to get it to stay folded in and down. I made a tiny tack inside the facing to the front of the shirt to hold it in place.

I, of course, have inspirational tops in a similar style and fabrication pinned on my Pinterest board. Here is an inspiration blouse made of silk from Rebecca Talor selling for $265! I probably would ever pay that much for a top, but it nice to know that I can make a silk top just as nice for a LOT less money!

Fabric Used: Designer Nanette Lepore silk georgette in an abstract, tiny scale animal-like print purchased from Fabric Depot in Portland, OR. This material is beautiful, sheer, soft with a drapey hand, but a pain to sew with!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No pattern alterations made on this one, it is right out of the package!

One thing I did do was make little self fabric covered buttons for the cuffs. I'd show a photo of the buttons, but they are "camoflauged" and are barely noticable on the shirt!

I also made French seams throughout the top including the sleeve opening seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would love to sew this again and very well might! Highly recommended, but warning, the pintucks are a little tricky to make and get just right.

My nice pintucking foot was with my nice sewing machine getting serviced as I made this top, so I think I could have done a better job with the tiny pintucks had I had my better tools and machine.

Conclusion: I love my new top and it was not too difficult to sew. It is super comfortable and chic, so I think I will be making this one again and again!

More about it on my blog Ode to Sew.

Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara V said...
Beautiful job and a lovely look on you!
3/31/14 12:40 PM
Jrhee said...
I love this top on you, and I love the fabric!
3/31/14 2:18 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Love. It's so pretty!!!!
3/31/14 2:43 PM
CissieW said...
Love this top. It is elegant and feminine. I've been needing/wanting a simple silk top and this might be the one!
3/31/14 6:09 PM
Sheila457 said...
That blouse is beautiful and your hair looks fantastic.
4/2/14 5:00 PM
ssmills said...
Love this top! It looks just as good as the Rebecca Taylor!
4/9/14 8:27 AM
slmstyle said...
Thank you everyone!
4/10/14 10:35 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
I love your top! I have this pattern...was just searching the reviews to get some pointers. Thanks for the review.
7/6/14 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now