SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 061505 (PMB: Anthropologie Knock Off)

Viewed 2386 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 195
Favored by: 393 people
patterns reviewed: 182
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/05 9:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Debbie I disagree the vertical seams are quite slimming. I really like this top on you. It is a very nice demonstration of your wild ginger software. YOu have mentioned your binder attachment before and I thought that it was for your regular sewing machine. I am intrigued. I didn't know you could use a binder with a serger. How happy are you with your Baby Lock coverstitch machine? What is your regular serger?
1/1/07 5:57 PM
patsijean said...
Well, I do like this top on you. It is quite flattering. The fabric and lace are actually superior to Anthropologie's original.
9/12/06 0:31 AM
dmoonangel said...
So cute! And looks just as good or better than RTW. Great choice on the fabric. It looks great on you. Very inspiring to the beginner.
6/3/06 2:15 AM
JaneDean said...
I am thinking about buying this software and Debra did a great job of showing how to customize with it. It also looks nice on her!
2/16/06 8:22 PM
PVA said...
Holy Moly, she's gone & done it again! That is a fabulous top -- as for the tummy, who's going to notice that when it is topped by a truly beautiful smile! Someday I hope to try to just "knock-off" a designer garment & make it fit beautifully. You're an inspiration to us all.
6/19/05 1:11 AM
Motorposus said...
Beautiful top, fabulous fabric choices, fascinating process, great review! I love Anthropologie stuff too, but always leave the store clutching my wallet and thinking, "Maybe I'll just make that myself". It's good to see someone take it all the way.
6/17/05 11:42 AM
AnneM said...
As usual, great review. What a fascinating top. You are getting sooooo good.
6/17/05 4:59 AM
Debra H said...
I am really impressed with your sense of style as well as your ability to create your own patterns. You are a real pro. Good job again!
6/16/05 10:43 PM
Jill Giard said...
Awesome! Great review. I love reading your reviews. By the way - the top is fantabulous!
6/16/05 5:24 PM
Frogstitcher said...
You are so clever and creative. Your top looks so much nicer than anthropologie's.
6/16/05 4:36 PM
cindyann said...
Great! I love the idea of princess seams in the back of tees for sway back. Wonderful review and impressive knock off!
6/16/05 3:44 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love the fabrics, and as always a really informative review! -Ann
6/16/05 2:27 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Nice job Deb. Next windfall, I'm getting PMB.
6/16/05 12:54 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great accomplishment. If there were a PhD of pattern reviewing, you'd have earned one. I studied the photo carefully, and agree with others about the slimming lines in the top. Hey, that's SOME binder. Can you enlighten us a little about it? Is it especially for a coverstitch machine? Thanks!
6/16/05 11:54 AM
Hilary said...
This is sooo cool!! I think you look great in it, BTW. Thanks for such a detailed review! I am in awe, I hope I can so successfully copy *you* :D I reeaaallly like it-and I am certainly going to try. Thanks again!
6/16/05 9:52 AM
CSY said...
Love your reviews and your sense of style is totally fun. Once again, I am inspired by you!
6/16/05 9:47 AM
SandraB said...
Wow Debbie. This is just great. I am always very impressed with your PMB creations. Great review too.
6/16/05 9:21 AM
MaryBeth said...
Learning from doing this top = priceless! You rock!
6/16/05 9:03 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Your top is so impressive!!! Thanks for the great photos and comments. I learn so much from them.
6/16/05 8:42 AM
PhyllisC said...
The fabric combinations are really great Debbie, and they're very flattering, so I'm glad you have more of them - I'm looking forward to seeing the next one!
6/16/05 8:31 AM
melgosews said...
I love it! I wish you were my pesonal seamstress, but then what would I do with my life! lol I think you are one of the most nicely dressed ladies I've ever seen!
6/16/05 7:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Deb, it's gorgeous! I hope you don't mind me shamelessly copying you. ;-) That fabric is just wonderful, isn't it?
6/16/05 7:27 AM
Linda E. said...
Very very pretty top. I love it. As for Gigi finding the great fabric I also got some in a red/black/white flowered print. Now if I had as much talent as you I could make me a top like yours. Of course is would required PMB and alot of time. thanks for the great review yours a mini sewing class with all the information you include in them.
6/16/05 7:13 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely georgeous top - and your pics and explanation of what you did and how you did it make me think I could do it too! Thanks so much.
6/16/05 6:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You are too funny! Very creative also. Love what you do with PMB. I seem to be less adventourous but when I read your reviews you are inspiring. Good job. Thanks for enabling me with yet one more fabric source.
6/16/05 5:54 AM
jlg said...
Like all of the others, I think that this top looks great on you, and as always, your review is wonderful.
6/16/05 5:19 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Debbie. And no, it does not draw attention to your tummy -- the slimming, vertical lines have the opposite effect.
6/16/05 4:26 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow Debbie, wonderful top and review!! GREAT job, love the review (funny *and* informative, what more can you want?) and the top suits you. I looked at the pic twice just to double check, and I honestly don't think it accentuates your tummy or anything else in a bad way. Beautiful!!! Oh, and my DH will grow to hate you for linking to that Ebay store... LOL!
6/16/05 0:11 AM
Judy Williment said...
IMHO the shape of this top is so good on you that it didn't occur to me that the lace might scream anything other than "I'm a gorgeous piece of lace on a really cute top made by a very clever lady!" Wear and enjoy, it looks great.
6/15/05 11:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I always look forward to your reviews. Not only are they entertaining - but informative too. Intermediate isn't the right word for you. I think you have gone way beyond that.
6/15/05 11:02 PM
KarmenG said...
Debbie - You are terrific - thanks for the entertaining and informative reivew. Your stick-to-it-ness amazes me! And my eye did not go to your tummy; the zipper creates a vertical line and then the light color cami took the eye from there. I think it looks nice on you.
6/15/05 10:31 PM
Lori V said...
Debbie, you are the master of PMB and great reviews. Once again a true winner and no, it does not draw attention to your tummy. I think the v-neck draws the eye to your face. Great job once again, you are such an inspiration. Do tell - where did you buy the fabric?
6/15/05 10:29 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Your reviews are always like mini sewing and design lessons, and this top is really inspiring. As for whether or not the lace panel screams "look at my tummy"...well, it would take gag order and a blindfold to minimize mine. We might as well wear something attractive over it. Love it!
6/15/05 10:06 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yowza! What a cute top, and thanks to Gigi for finding that darling fabric. I don't think it draws attention to your tum, but to the printed sides & the pink button at CF: nice. It's definitely wearable. I see this isn't a dry clean version like Anthropologie. Ja! Rock on.
6/15/05 9:50 PM
dvazz said...
Anthropologie SO has nuthin' on you! You are a PMB maestro. I keep reading your reviews and thinking I want to try PMB, but I would never be able to come up with things like this or have a clue as to how to actually design them. Your top is lovely and looks terrific on you! Great job!
6/15/05 9:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

More Info
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

More Info