SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8223 (Knit top or dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1155 times 
Reviewed by:tigger
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiggerstar
AE USA
Member since: 1/8/05
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/05 2:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful fabric and glad you found a pattern that was "just right" for it. I like to try decorative stitches for topstitching, too. But sometimes, in knits, you can get waves. Did you do anything special to avoid this?
6/16/05 3:12 PM
tigger said...
No I was pretty lucky with the topstitching not causing problems. I did think about using my walking foot but I just fed the fabric through pretty evenly and it seemed to work out. I know what you mean though - I have a few wavy hems in my wardrobe myself!
6/16/05 3:44 PM
Clemmie said...
What a fabulous top! Love the fabric!
6/16/05 4:20 PM
drsue said...
Pretty! Did you do a lapped seam for the upper band to bodice? It looks like that in the photo. If you did, that's a nice idea. Even if you didn't it's a nice idea!
6/16/05 4:22 PM
Hilary said...
Your top is really cute! I like the fabric and that is a cool ruffle, I didn't even see that option. Thanks for the review! Btw, I agree, Burda *does* seem to get it just right :o)
6/16/05 5:45 PM
AnneM said...
Definitely "just right", great pattern for your fabric.
6/17/05 5:23 AM
Teri said...
Very cute!
6/17/05 9:27 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I would never have thought of onionskin for that pattern, but what an excellent choice. Love that fabric and the finished top looks great!
6/19/05 7:45 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Very pretty!
6/21/05 7:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1005

photo
by: montanachi...

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now