SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> By Hand London> Anna Dress (Anna Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 294 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:4/1/14 4:33 PM
Last Updated:4/1/14 4:36 PM
Project Photo:By Hand London: Anna Dress by chenille

By Hand London: Anna Dress by chenille  
Pattern Photo:By Hand London Anna Dress
By Hand London Pattern Info
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $23.39 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Slinky  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
An effortless Summer dress featuring double pleats at the bust, kimono sleeves and a panelled a-line skirt. Variations include both slash and v-neck options, plus midi and maxi skirt possibilities and a dramatic thigh high split. Super quick and simple to make, cut it short for the perfect festival dress, or make it worthy of the red carpet with a maxi skirt and thigh high split.
Pattern Sizing:
US 2-16, UK 6-20
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
mostly, but mine is slinky knit - not woven
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is my all time favorite dress - the bodice is so very flattering on all the versions I've seen. No dislikes - but be prepared to alter the back neck - it does run big.
Fabric Used:
slinky knit
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This is my second version - review here I changed the length to make it a dress. I added a neckband, and used steam-a-seam lite for the sleeves and hem.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don't think I'll ever get tired of sewing this! Yes and yes.
Conclusion:
I really need to get a maxi version done in a woven this summer!
Available for sale on PR: $23.39 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supizoo said...
what a fun dress!
4/1/14 6:42 PM
Sheila457 said...
Pretty dress and great print.
4/1/14 6:51 PM
Annieq said...
Great fit on you
4/1/14 9:01 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty; I like your tunic version as well. I was looking at this pattern recently. Let us know how the maxi version comes out for you.
4/2/14 6:45 AM
marjenann said...
Very lovely dress! Looks like an expensive boutique find!
4/2/14 5:52 PM
Re Becca said...
OMG how cute is that! That is the perfect fabric for the perfect dress. PS, I like it with the belt and thanks for the heads up on the back width.
4/2/14 10:45 PM
cln said...
So cute….just love the fabric. It looks very flattering on you!
4/3/14 9:02 AM
wildberrymom said...
Cute dress!
4/10/14 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6736

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
HotPatterns 1137

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now