SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1669 

Viewed 99 times 
Reviewed by:Rairscat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rairscatstar
Member since: 8/1/13
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/14 10:08 PM
Last Updated:4/3/14 10:17 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1669 by Rairscat

Simplicity: 1669 by Rairscat  Simplicity: 1669 by Rairscat  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1669
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: babies dress, top and pantaloons

Pattern Sizing:XXS-L. I sewed a large, for babies 21-24 lbs up to 34" tall

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes, as far as I followed the pattern.

Were the instructions easy to follow?yes, but I chose to assemble mine in a different order since I wasn't working with tiers. I serged sleeve fronts to bodice fronts, sleeve backs to bodice backs, then serged the neck opening, sleeve edges and hem, then serged the side seam from sleeve to hem. From there I sat at the sewing machine and sewed the elastic casings and top stitched the hem. The pieces fit together perfectly and I was able to put together two pillow case dresses in less than an hour.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I actually don't care for the tiers and I don't think my daughter would tolerate the elastic empire waist. I bought the pattern on sale solely for the elastic peasant neckline & sleeve treatment. I think the flutter sleeve is a cute option and I like the simple way they finish the underarm on that version with bias. Another thing I didn't care for was pattern piece elastic guides. This is actually a pet peeve of mine. I wish pattern companies would just list the length needed for each cut of elastic by size in a simple chart on the instruction sheet or envelope back. Digging through the tissue pattern sheets and having to keep up with them is annoying and a waste of printed tissue.

Fabric Used:I made one version out of two bandannas for HLSR and two more out of a pair of embroidered pillow cases. The pillow cases felt more poly than cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:see above. I made straight bodices instead of tiers and made the length appropriate to wear with leggings or shorts, not dress length.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?yes, I'll sew it again. I want to try the little flutter sleeves before she outgrows the pattern.

Conclusion: Good basic pattern that serves its purpose. Peasant dresses are all over Etsy. With this pattern you could easily make any of them yourself.

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I love your fabric choices - works beautifully in this sweet dress. Gorgeous little girl too!
4/4/14 0:55 AM
supizoo said...
Beautiful beautiful beautiful. To me this is the quintessential toddler outfit. I think it is absolutely beautiful (in case you didn't understand my first three words!)
4/4/14 5:46 AM
Nancywin said...
What a beautiful little girl! Your tops are darling. My grand daughter is about the same age. I may have to get this for her. Your embroidery looks so sweet on this too!
4/4/14 9:50 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
First, I want to squeeze those cheeks! What a doll! Her top is absolutely beautiful!
4/4/14 4:30 PM
Pj3g said...
So cute! And your fabric choices--such great ideas!
4/4/14 4:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now