SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2975 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, DRESS, SKIRT AND PANTS)

12 more reviews
Viewed 536 times 
Reviewed by:supizoo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About supizoo
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/14 10:28 PM
Last Updated:4/5/14 10:29 PM


Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maureen Hole said...
The fit, the drape, the style and construction all top notch. And you say you're a newbie. More like a natural. Wear with pride.
4/12/14 3:22 AM
supizoo said...
Looking forward to seeing yours Manybellsdown!
4/9/14 5:21 AM
manybellsdown said...
Those are EXACTLY the pants I have been looking for. I'm going to have to make this one!
4/8/14 0:28 AM
supizoo said...
Thanks again for the kind comments. Jstar4520, the zipper is at the front. I think it is called 'mock fly' because there is no fabric behind the zip so the zip itself sits against your body, as a skirt zip would, but it has the standard flap over the front of the zip like normal pants zip. Does that make sense!? Katharine Hepburn? I like! VogueMistress, I'm waiting, not very patiently (!), for your review on the jacket. For reference, the pants sit approx 1cm above my belly button. I've added this point to the review.
4/7/14 6:22 AM
VogueMistress said...
I like your version more than the pattern illustration, which look too stiff to me. These are rally flattering and drape well. I'm just about to cut the jacket, so I'll have to reconsider those pants!
4/6/14 10:30 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful pants! Great job!
4/6/14 10:17 PM
Jrhee said...
Lovely slacks. I might have to check this pattern out!
4/6/14 9:11 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think they look marvelous and beautifully sewn...very Katharine Hepburn. One question...if the fly is "mock", does that mean they have a side seam zipper?
4/6/14 6:43 PM
supizoo said...
Thank you so much for your feed back. It's much appreciated. I've been sewing for quite a while but am only just starting to pay attention to the details, thanks to this community. Thanks for your help, I'll have these comments open as I tackle the next pair. DreinPA, comfort is paramount to me...so perhaps I can live with the bits I can't see!
4/6/14 6:05 PM
carolynw said...
They look really great on you - with your height and shape a gunny sack would probably also look good :) I know these pants are designed with wide legs and that look is a classic on you - however, I do think you might be a 1/2 size or 1 too large - you have a flat bottom so some adjustments might be needed there but if I had pants fit me like this I would be over the moon. Great job!
4/6/14 1:14 PM
degnancy said...
These look great on you! Classy but comfortable. I would be crossing the street to ask you where you bought your pants!
4/6/14 10:50 AM
DreinPA said...
I get the same tear drop and it is possible to remove it, but perhaps at the expense of comfort. There is some extra width in the back of the pants. It is not significant and probably not worth the effort. As for the sizing, pattern sizing is just plain different than RTW so if ALL patterns are "2 sizes too big" change your mode of thinking. You are a different size in patterns than stores. And if that is how you are sewing as a newbie, then WOW, because your attention to details is great. I think you should declare these a success. Paired with a fine knit top, pointy kitten-heeled shoes and a thin belt, people will be crossing the street to look at you!!
4/6/14 10:49 AM
cindyann said...
I think they look terrific. Your sewing is very nicely done. You have the perfect figure to wear this wide leg style.
4/6/14 9:13 AM
Fran G said...
Great review! You have a long, lean look wearing these pants…I think the fit is fine and agree with FreyaStark..wide legs, and skimming the hip looks great on you.
4/6/14 8:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look pretty good and are beautifully made. I think the appearance of being oversized (as twisted poppy mentions) is part of the design, ie they are meant to be wide legged. Then again I like a loose fit more than some people. I can't help with your fitting concerns, although it may be that a closer fitting, more conventional style might give more satisfactory results. The next pair will be even better!
4/6/14 7:47 AM
Grandmomof7boys said...
This is a very thorough review with lots of helpful information. Thanks.
4/6/14 7:30 AM
twistedpoppy said...
The only thing I can think of is that you fabric was off grain causing the weird shapes in the leg, overall I think these pants are way too big from the top of the hip down, though they don't look high waisted at all in the photos to me.
4/5/14 11:54 PM
Renren said...
Sorry, I can't help you with fitting issues but I can tell you your pants look great and your sewing looks so meticulously done!
4/5/14 11:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other LouLouJames

photo
by: Doris W. i...

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now