SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2975 (MISSES' JACKET, TOP, DRESS, SKIRT AND PANTS)

12 more reviews
Viewed 531 times 
Reviewed by:supizoo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About supizoo
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/14 10:28 PM
Last Updated:4/5/14 10:29 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo

Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  Vogue Patterns: 2975 by supizoo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2975
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
Current Tags:
Fabric:Wool Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
The pattern contains
1. Pants, which I am reviewing: wide leg, mock fly zip, back darts, yoke with carriers and cuffed hem
2. Jacket: lined, shaped yoke and shaped ¾ sleeve
3. Sleeveless top: back zip and front/back pleats
4. Dress: longer version of the top
5. Skirt: pleats, yoke and side zip

Pattern Sizing:
I purchased "A" the 6-8-10. I believe it comes in 12, 14, 16 as well.
I made the size 10 although my hip/waist measurements suggested somewhere between 10 and 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, although I did not sew the cuff.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. Simple instructions, good diagrams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like:
1. The fit. They have a curved waistband (described as the yoke), which is also wide and shaped. The three things together made it possible to get a good fit through my disproportionate waist and hips.
2. The ease in the front. I thought this was going to make them puffy but it's very subtle and makes it possible to have second helpings at lunch without popping a button.
3. Value for money, given that the pattern contains, pants, jacket, skirt, top and dress.

Dislike (very minor):
1. I do love a pocket, on anything, anywhere, but these pockets are looooong. I have to do a yoga manoeuvre in order to get my hanky out and I have long arms. However, this will be an easy fix.

Other points for consideration:
Not an issue for me because I don't know any better, but these have a 'mock fly'. It looks like a fly to me but this may mock (ha ha, sorry) the skills of a real seamstress.

They sit high (about one cm above my belly button). I alternate between thinking yuck and wow depending on my mood. Generally I have to wear pants fairly low because of my waist to hip ratio but these fit. If I lived in a city where people tend to dress more fashionably, I think I would have embraced the high waist fashion. As it is, I live in a region where putting on a dress gets eyes winking and eyebrows wriggling. I believe the waist on these pants will have people crossing the street to avoid the strange lady.

Fabric Used:
A light woven wool from the Fabric Store in Brisbane, Australia. The first thing that came to my mind when I felt it was 'tropical wool'. Love it but sadly the fineness allows the pockets to show through and I have to make very wise underwear choices. One day I will learn how to line a pair of pants. Or maybe French knickers would work???

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not make the cuffs.
It was my intention not to alter them too much because I am trying to understand my shape and what alterations I require so I made them pretty much out of the box. I thought I had the hem length right but the photos tell me otherwise! There are some strange lines (upside down tear drop) which disappear as I bend my knee (most noticeable on the back but also on the front). I would appreciate any comments on perfecting the fit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Sew again: Yes, once I can perfect the fit. I'd like to make the pants in linen. I will also make the skirt and the jacket. The jacket is the reason I bought the pattern in the first place but haven't found the right fabric yet. I probably won't make the top or dress simply because the wide neck will not suit me, otherwise I would as I think they are pretty and perfectly airy, tropical dresses.

Recommend: Yes. Watch out for the sizing though. I find the commercial patterns tend to run 2 sizes too large on me but I only went down half to one size on these and it was touch and go that they may have been too small. I think this pattern (the pants at least) might be fairly true to size. They are also quite long in the leg; good for me (5'10") but something to watch if you are not.

Conclusion:
I deliberated between calling this pattern Highly Recommended and Great Wardrobe Builder. I settled on GWB simply because I've only made one of the 5 pieces so can't comment on how the other pieces work up. I do highly recommend the pants.
Altogether I am happy. I got a wearable pair of pants without any tantrums, yay!
This is my first real pair of pants (ie, ones that I may wear somewhere other than fishing). I chose this pattern because they looked forgiving for a newbie (they are) and might help me understand my fitting issues before tackling fitted pants.

Any advice on perfecting the fit will be gratefully received. Thank you.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Sorry, I can't help you with fitting issues but I can tell you your pants look great and your sewing looks so meticulously done!
4/5/14 11:37 PM
twistedpoppy said...
The only thing I can think of is that you fabric was off grain causing the weird shapes in the leg, overall I think these pants are way too big from the top of the hip down, though they don't look high waisted at all in the photos to me.
4/5/14 11:54 PM
Grandmomof7boys said...
This is a very thorough review with lots of helpful information. Thanks.
4/6/14 7:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
They look pretty good and are beautifully made. I think the appearance of being oversized (as twisted poppy mentions) is part of the design, ie they are meant to be wide legged. Then again I like a loose fit more than some people. I can't help with your fitting concerns, although it may be that a closer fitting, more conventional style might give more satisfactory results. The next pair will be even better!
4/6/14 7:47 AM
Fran G said...
Great review! You have a long, lean look wearing these pants…I think the fit is fine and agree with FreyaStark..wide legs, and skimming the hip looks great on you.
4/6/14 8:08 AM
cindyann said...
I think they look terrific. Your sewing is very nicely done. You have the perfect figure to wear this wide leg style.
4/6/14 9:13 AM
DreinPA said...
I get the same tear drop and it is possible to remove it, but perhaps at the expense of comfort. There is some extra width in the back of the pants. It is not significant and probably not worth the effort. As for the sizing, pattern sizing is just plain different than RTW so if ALL patterns are "2 sizes too big" change your mode of thinking. You are a different size in patterns than stores. And if that is how you are sewing as a newbie, then WOW, because your attention to details is great. I think you should declare these a success. Paired with a fine knit top, pointy kitten-heeled shoes and a thin belt, people will be crossing the street to look at you!!
4/6/14 10:49 AM
degnancy said...
These look great on you! Classy but comfortable. I would be crossing the street to ask you where you bought your pants!
4/6/14 10:50 AM
carolynw said...
They look really great on you - with your height and shape a gunny sack would probably also look good :) I know these pants are designed with wide legs and that look is a classic on you - however, I do think you might be a 1/2 size or 1 too large - you have a flat bottom so some adjustments might be needed there but if I had pants fit me like this I would be over the moon. Great job!
4/6/14 1:14 PM
supizoo said...
Thank you so much for your feed back. It's much appreciated. I've been sewing for quite a while but am only just starting to pay attention to the details, thanks to this community. Thanks for your help, I'll have these comments open as I tackle the next pair. DreinPA, comfort is paramount to me...so perhaps I can live with the bits I can't see!
4/6/14 6:05 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think they look marvelous and beautifully sewn...very Katharine Hepburn. One question...if the fly is "mock", does that mean they have a side seam zipper?
4/6/14 6:43 PM
Jrhee said...
Lovely slacks. I might have to check this pattern out!
4/6/14 9:11 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful pants! Great job!
4/6/14 10:17 PM
VogueMistress said...
I like your version more than the pattern illustration, which look too stiff to me. These are rally flattering and drape well. I'm just about to cut the jacket, so I'll have to reconsider those pants!
4/6/14 10:30 PM
supizoo said...
Thanks again for the kind comments. Jstar4520, the zipper is at the front. I think it is called 'mock fly' because there is no fabric behind the zip so the zip itself sits against your body, as a skirt zip would, but it has the standard flap over the front of the zip like normal pants zip. Does that make sense!? Katharine Hepburn? I like! VogueMistress, I'm waiting, not very patiently (!), for your review on the jacket. For reference, the pants sit approx 1cm above my belly button. I've added this point to the review.
4/7/14 6:22 AM
manybellsdown said...
Those are EXACTLY the pants I have been looking for. I'm going to have to make this one!
4/8/14 0:28 AM
supizoo said...
Looking forward to seeing yours Manybellsdown!
4/9/14 5:21 AM
Maureen Hole said...
The fit, the drape, the style and construction all top notch. And you say you're a newbie. More like a natural. Wear with pride.
4/12/14 3:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

No Pattern Used 3

photo
by: rosequartz

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now