SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7576 (Misses COORDINATES)

9 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/14 2:51 PM
Last Updated:4/6/14 3:10 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 7576 by Kay Y

Burda: 7576 by Kay Y  Burda: 7576 by Kay Y  
Pattern Photo:Burda 7576
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Georgette  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: This is a filmy top with the front gathered into a high, bias-cut collar and cut-on cap sleeves. It closes at the back neck with button loops.

Pattern Sizing: 36 to 46. I made the smallest size.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? This top is very simple to construct. The instructions are OK, but as usual don't address everything you need to think about, especially when using a fine shifty fabric like silk georgette (or chiffon).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I wanted a simple top to wear with the jacket that I already made from the pattern.

Fabric Used: Silk georgette (or chiffon). I'm not sure which this is and am still waiting for someone to tell me the key difference between these. My fabric has a crepe surface. Before cutting into it I washed it and let it hang to dry.

While cutting (actually, after the pieces were cut but before I moved them off my cutting table) I remembered that it is easier to work with a fabric like this if you starch it. So I sprayed the pieces as they lay there, and let them mostly dry before moving them. This worked like a charm and allowed me to sew french seams, the tiny bias tubes needed for the back closure, and baby hems (even on the bias) with confidence.

There are a few tips about spray starch on this site, but all seem to recommend starching the fabric before you cut. I somehow think it would have been hard to ensure that my shifty silk yardage would dry exactly on grain if it had been starched ahead of time. Because my yardage had been torn, I could be pretty confident about aligning it without the starch and I'm happy about how my experience with the starch worked out.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the collar to about 1.5" rather than approximately 3" per the pattern, and reduced the number of buttons from 3 to 2. I think they folded the collar over for the pattern photo, but this wouldn't work very well with the 3 buttons called for at the CB.

Because I have a forward neck, I didn't gather it at the front neckline as tightly as the pattern instructs and made the collar a bit longer.

For seam finishes I used French seams and a continuous lap placket at CB. I also made baby hems as the pattern instructs.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Conclusion: It's a good coordinating piece with my new suit.

More photos are on my Flickr page.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ISewedIt said...
This is lovely! The top is simple but cute and the fabric is beautiful.
4/6/14 6:31 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful feminine blouse for wearing with a suit. just gorgeous. Thanks for the helpful review.
4/6/14 6:43 PM
frame said...
Great looking top. Thanks for the review. Can you talk about the cap sleeves and the opening a little bit. Very wide, just wide enough, nothing shows that you wouldn't want to show?
4/6/14 6:44 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning. I love it paired with your beautiful suit.
4/6/14 6:44 PM
Re Becca said...
Gorgeous blouse with a gorgeous suit! I'm off to get more spray starch for my charmeuse blouse. Tell me more about that baby hem, how do you do that without it fraying like crazy? Is that the spray starch too?
4/6/14 7:17 PM
TJSEWS said...
Such a beautiful top and it goes beautifully with that fabulous jacket! If the fabric has a crepe surface, it is georgette. Chiffon has a smooth flat surface.
4/6/14 8:14 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous blouse! Perfect with your suit.
4/6/14 8:22 PM
Sewcoastal said...
I'll bet It feels wonderful to wear ;) Very pretty Kay!
4/6/14 11:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely blouse, and a fine effort.
4/7/14 6:27 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely blouse. Thanks for the tips on starching. I have some silk chiffon/georgette (I'm confused too) that I will need to tame. Your review will be very helpful.
4/7/14 8:25 AM
ASiverson said...
Simple but elegant, the fabric is delightful, and you did a fabulous job. Looks good on you, and Thank you for your review and post.
4/7/14 12:33 PM
Lagolden2 said...
There are not enough superlatives to describe the elegance of your blouse however I find your tips invaluable to its construction- thank you so much
4/25/14 10:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now