SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley sun-dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 4246 times 
Reviewed by:contrariwise
photo

 
 
About contrariwisestarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/17/05
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/05 8:12 PM
Last Updated:7/10/06 6:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Modiste Madness said...
I love your fabric combination. It is so different and attractive. It is a very flattering dress for you.
6/17/05 8:26 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Great job! Neat fabrics, and good fit.
6/17/05 8:28 PM
QuickFade said...
Very cute! Does the dress call for any sort of special bra cup construction or is it just a lined bust area?
6/17/05 8:36 PM
drsue said...
So pretty! Excellent fabric choice!
6/17/05 9:17 PM
Lori V said...
So pretty, love you fabric combo.
6/17/05 9:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress is a wonderful style for you. I also like the contrast printed fabrics. An excellent first review; I hope you'll write more.
6/17/05 9:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress! Fit, style and fabric choice are excellent. A great first review..looking forward to to seeing more :)))
6/17/05 9:35 PM
Laurasews said...
I would have never thought of your fabric choice - very nice and inspiring.
6/17/05 9:44 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Thank you for this review, I like your dress very much, am thinking of making it for DD.
6/17/05 9:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love your choice of fabrics. This looks absolutely luscious on you. Great review.
6/17/05 11:12 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable dress. Great fabric combination.
6/17/05 11:48 PM
jlg said...
Such a pretty dress. Your did a great job.
6/18/05 4:57 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric choice.
6/18/05 5:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress. Looks good on you.
6/18/05 6:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! Interesting fabric choices as well.
6/18/05 7:03 AM
MarilynB said...
What a great looking dress. It fits you so well.
6/18/05 7:29 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, you look gorgeous in your new dress-and you did a beautiful job sewing it. I like the fabric choices. I think yours looks better than the cover-I have this too, and was wondering about it. Thanks for the review!
6/18/05 8:31 AM
jemgirlca said...
Cute dress, I like the fabric combination.
6/18/05 9:51 AM
LisaLS said...
So cute! I have this pattern sitting in my stash. Thanks for the tip on the sizing!
6/18/05 10:33 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very, very pretty. I can see your point in that this would make a lovely formal dress. In a shimmery fabric it would be stunning!
6/18/05 11:51 AM
debbie.w said...
great job - you look like a Barbie doll!
6/18/05 11:54 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. I like the lines of the style. Good job on the construction.
6/19/05 8:33 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lovely dress. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your sewing!
6/19/05 6:15 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress.Well done!
6/19/05 7:00 PM
contrariwise said...
Thanks for all your comments! To PopoAgie - the dress just has a lined bust area. The back is high enough to conceal a strapless bra if needed, but I think the halter strap might be a bit too curvy to conceal a halter bra.
6/19/05 7:18 PM
Noile said...
Beautiful, well-made and so becoming! Fun choice of fabrics.
7/19/05 9:04 PM
Pam Z said...
Your olive knit version is lovely on you. Fantastic fit.
4/22/06 10:52 PM
jnamcd said...
Great altering and use of the old t-shirt bra! Looks great!
4/22/06 11:00 PM
Celeste said...
Cool style. I have a Laura Ashley sundress pattern from about 1979 that is really neat and I wish they'd bring it back, it's another really clever sundress design with buttons all down the front and thin cloth straps that button onto a band that goes straight across the top. I've never seen it on a used patter site--yet.
4/22/06 11:07 PM
Lori V said...
Both of your dresses are darling. Thanks for the pictures and the review, I have this pattern for my dds.
4/22/06 11:55 PM
dorothyn said...
Both of your dresses are really cute, and very flattering, though you have such a nice figure I'm sure most things look good on you! They look nicely made too - maybe you are past the beginner stage.
4/23/06 0:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another great dress. The lace is a nice touch.
4/23/06 8:15 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful as always - terrific sewing job!!
4/23/06 8:46 AM
kwpanthermom said...
I loved the yellow/toile dress, and this olive one is SO well fitted and wonderful color for you. CUTE shoes, too!
4/23/06 8:58 AM
LBJ said...
Both dresses are very pretty. You have a great figure!
4/23/06 11:23 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love the green one! So pretty on you with your coloring also.
4/24/06 11:04 AM
mistrydesigns said...
Oh so cute! I need to make this! Thank you for your review.
4/25/06 10:58 AM
Lori V said...
Darling dress, love it.
7/10/06 7:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - another beauty.
7/10/06 7:54 PM
ccris said...
Really cute!
7/10/06 8:23 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a fantastic series of dresses! I love the latest version.
7/10/06 9:25 PM
Vonnevo said...
Oh stunning latest addition..specially like the alteration from halter neck.
7/10/06 9:49 PM
brrmm said...
What a pretty dress. Great work - yet again. Congrats.
7/10/06 10:46 PM
rosephreak said...
I showed my daughter your latest version. I had made her the same dress as a halter. The bows on the straps are darling. I may try this again for her altering the straps like you have. Very darling!!
7/10/06 11:23 PM
drsue said...
Another wonderful dress! What kind of cotton did you use: is it garment quality cotton, quilting cotton or something else?
7/11/06 0:20 AM
deesdee said...
Lovely, what a superb fit!!
7/11/06 1:05 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, you're so productive :-)! I can understand, you look so good in these and your fabrics are so well put together that I'd have a hard time wearing anything else too...
7/11/06 3:05 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. It looks lovely on you. I like the way you used the fabrics.
7/11/06 6:36 AM
KimP said...
This is my favorite version so far. Great use of your striped fabric - you have a great eye for color too!
7/11/06 9:07 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just cut this out last night -- now I can't wait to get started. I don't know which version I like best, but I'm really encouraged by how many ways you can tweak this pattern. Beautiful work.
7/11/06 11:09 AM
Levone said...
I enjoy seeing all your versions of this. They are all beautiful, unique dresses.
7/11/06 12:47 PM
PhyllisC said...
Splendid - each one is wonderful! You are at heart a fashion designer.
7/11/06 12:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Stunning! You are a natural. Love your hair color too!
7/11/06 1:00 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Just lovely. I'm so glad someone pointed this review out to me. I would have missed it otherwise! -Ann
7/11/06 1:05 PM
els said...
Gorgeous dresses, splendid fit and great sewing and fabric choices. You are a natural indeed.
7/11/06 2:25 PM
dreamdesigner said...
You do very good work. It fits - very nicely, you're creative/artistic, and imaginative!
7/11/06 3:00 PM
Maychi said...
Wow, you've made a gorgeous dress! Beautiful fabric choice!
7/11/06 5:05 PM
Julia Graham said...
REally beautiful (woman and dresses both)... and I love the fact that you're studying ancient Greek! I graduated from St. John's College, so I spent two happy years with that marvelous language.
7/11/06 7:01 PM
SarahWeb said...
What a unique and stylish dress. I love it.
7/12/06 1:20 AM
Bonny Dune said...
Wow! What wonderful variations! I love your rust dress. Now I have to go buy this pattern. You have inspired me.
9/19/06 10:04 PM
KitnRose said...
Your dresses just keep getting better! I liked the first one (which is saying a lot because I'm just not a black/white/yellow fan - not that they class, just personal preference) and want my own version of your green dress. So cute! You've got a serious talent for doing the things that bump it up from a nice dress to something that looks like it came from a designer shop tucked somewhere in NYC. Great job!
4/14/07 9:29 PM
Twinset said...
I love your dresses, they're very special and they fit you great. Mmm, this pattern is very tempting...
5/23/08 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now