SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley sun-dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 4246 times 
Reviewed by:contrariwise
photo

 
 
About contrariwisestarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/17/05
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 55 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/05 8:12 PM
Last Updated:7/10/06 6:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
I love your dresses, they're very special and they fit you great. Mmm, this pattern is very tempting...
5/23/08 4:45 PM
KitnRose said...
Your dresses just keep getting better! I liked the first one (which is saying a lot because I'm just not a black/white/yellow fan - not that they class, just personal preference) and want my own version of your green dress. So cute! You've got a serious talent for doing the things that bump it up from a nice dress to something that looks like it came from a designer shop tucked somewhere in NYC. Great job!
4/14/07 9:29 PM
Bonny Dune said...
Wow! What wonderful variations! I love your rust dress. Now I have to go buy this pattern. You have inspired me.
9/19/06 10:04 PM
SarahWeb said...
What a unique and stylish dress. I love it.
7/12/06 1:20 AM
Julia Graham said...
REally beautiful (woman and dresses both)... and I love the fact that you're studying ancient Greek! I graduated from St. John's College, so I spent two happy years with that marvelous language.
7/11/06 7:01 PM
Maychi said...
Wow, you've made a gorgeous dress! Beautiful fabric choice!
7/11/06 5:05 PM
dreamdesigner said...
You do very good work. It fits - very nicely, you're creative/artistic, and imaginative!
7/11/06 3:00 PM
els said...
Gorgeous dresses, splendid fit and great sewing and fabric choices. You are a natural indeed.
7/11/06 2:25 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Just lovely. I'm so glad someone pointed this review out to me. I would have missed it otherwise! -Ann
7/11/06 1:05 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Stunning! You are a natural. Love your hair color too!
7/11/06 1:00 PM
PhyllisC said...
Splendid - each one is wonderful! You are at heart a fashion designer.
7/11/06 12:55 PM
Levone said...
I enjoy seeing all your versions of this. They are all beautiful, unique dresses.
7/11/06 12:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
I just cut this out last night -- now I can't wait to get started. I don't know which version I like best, but I'm really encouraged by how many ways you can tweak this pattern. Beautiful work.
7/11/06 11:09 AM
KimP said...
This is my favorite version so far. Great use of your striped fabric - you have a great eye for color too!
7/11/06 9:07 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. It looks lovely on you. I like the way you used the fabrics.
7/11/06 6:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Wow, you're so productive :-)! I can understand, you look so good in these and your fabrics are so well put together that I'd have a hard time wearing anything else too...
7/11/06 3:05 AM
deesdee said...
Lovely, what a superb fit!!
7/11/06 1:05 AM
drsue said...
Another wonderful dress! What kind of cotton did you use: is it garment quality cotton, quilting cotton or something else?
7/11/06 0:20 AM
rosephreak said...
I showed my daughter your latest version. I had made her the same dress as a halter. The bows on the straps are darling. I may try this again for her altering the straps like you have. Very darling!!
7/10/06 11:23 PM
brrmm said...
What a pretty dress. Great work - yet again. Congrats.
7/10/06 10:46 PM
Vonnevo said...
Oh stunning latest addition..specially like the alteration from halter neck.
7/10/06 9:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a fantastic series of dresses! I love the latest version.
7/10/06 9:25 PM
ccris said...
Really cute!
7/10/06 8:23 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - another beauty.
7/10/06 7:54 PM
Lori V said...
Darling dress, love it.
7/10/06 7:42 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Oh so cute! I need to make this! Thank you for your review.
4/25/06 10:58 AM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love the green one! So pretty on you with your coloring also.
4/24/06 11:04 AM
LBJ said...
Both dresses are very pretty. You have a great figure!
4/23/06 11:23 AM
kwpanthermom said...
I loved the yellow/toile dress, and this olive one is SO well fitted and wonderful color for you. CUTE shoes, too!
4/23/06 8:58 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful as always - terrific sewing job!!
4/23/06 8:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another great dress. The lace is a nice touch.
4/23/06 8:15 AM
dorothyn said...
Both of your dresses are really cute, and very flattering, though you have such a nice figure I'm sure most things look good on you! They look nicely made too - maybe you are past the beginner stage.
4/23/06 0:14 AM
Lori V said...
Both of your dresses are darling. Thanks for the pictures and the review, I have this pattern for my dds.
4/22/06 11:55 PM
Celeste said...
Cool style. I have a Laura Ashley sundress pattern from about 1979 that is really neat and I wish they'd bring it back, it's another really clever sundress design with buttons all down the front and thin cloth straps that button onto a band that goes straight across the top. I've never seen it on a used patter site--yet.
4/22/06 11:07 PM
jnamcd said...
Great altering and use of the old t-shirt bra! Looks great!
4/22/06 11:00 PM
Pam Z said...
Your olive knit version is lovely on you. Fantastic fit.
4/22/06 10:52 PM
Noile said...
Beautiful, well-made and so becoming! Fun choice of fabrics.
7/19/05 9:04 PM
contrariwise said...
Thanks for all your comments! To PopoAgie - the dress just has a lined bust area. The back is high enough to conceal a strapless bra if needed, but I think the halter strap might be a bit too curvy to conceal a halter bra.
6/19/05 7:18 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress.Well done!
6/19/05 7:00 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Lovely dress. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your sewing!
6/19/05 6:15 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress. I like the lines of the style. Good job on the construction.
6/19/05 8:33 AM
debbie.w said...
great job - you look like a Barbie doll!
6/18/05 11:54 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very, very pretty. I can see your point in that this would make a lovely formal dress. In a shimmery fabric it would be stunning!
6/18/05 11:51 AM
LisaLS said...
So cute! I have this pattern sitting in my stash. Thanks for the tip on the sizing!
6/18/05 10:33 AM
jemgirlca said...
Cute dress, I like the fabric combination.
6/18/05 9:51 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, you look gorgeous in your new dress-and you did a beautiful job sewing it. I like the fabric choices. I think yours looks better than the cover-I have this too, and was wondering about it. Thanks for the review!
6/18/05 8:31 AM
MarilynB said...
What a great looking dress. It fits you so well.
6/18/05 7:29 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! Interesting fabric choices as well.
6/18/05 7:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress. Looks good on you.
6/18/05 6:52 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric choice.
6/18/05 5:15 AM
jlg said...
Such a pretty dress. Your did a great job.
6/18/05 4:57 AM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable dress. Great fabric combination.
6/17/05 11:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love your choice of fabrics. This looks absolutely luscious on you. Great review.
6/17/05 11:12 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Thank you for this review, I like your dress very much, am thinking of making it for DD.
6/17/05 9:59 PM
Laurasews said...
I would have never thought of your fabric choice - very nice and inspiring.
6/17/05 9:44 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful dress! Fit, style and fabric choice are excellent. A great first review..looking forward to to seeing more :)))
6/17/05 9:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress is a wonderful style for you. I also like the contrast printed fabrics. An excellent first review; I hope you'll write more.
6/17/05 9:26 PM
Lori V said...
So pretty, love you fabric combo.
6/17/05 9:26 PM
drsue said...
So pretty! Excellent fabric choice!
6/17/05 9:17 PM
QuickFade said...
Very cute! Does the dress call for any sort of special bra cup construction or is it just a lined bust area?
6/17/05 8:36 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Great job! Neat fabrics, and good fit.
6/17/05 8:28 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love your fabric combination. It is so different and attractive. It is a very flattering dress for you.
6/17/05 8:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: kkkkaty

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

More Info