SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties)

28 more reviews
Viewed 167 times 
Reviewed by:craigrama
photo

 
 
About craigramastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/30/11
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/14 6:34 PM
Last Updated:5/4/14 8:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:McCall's: 2447 by craigrama

McCall's: 2447 by craigrama  McCall's: 2447 by craigrama  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 2447
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Update: It's Cinco de Mayo, so time for a custom shirt for the day. Just whipped up another using the XXL pattern. Pics below.

Men's short sleeve shirt. I made a muslin of the long sleeve XL with cuff variations. But this project, I made a XL short sleeve in bright pattern. Pattern envelope also contains patterns for long sleeve, simple vest and ties.

From the pattern envelope:
MEN'S LINED VEST, SHIRT, TIE IN TWO LENGTHS AND BOW TIE: Vest has front welts, back and back belt are cut of lining fabric; shirt with buttoned front has back pleated to yoke forming forward shoulder seams and cuff variations; lined tie in two lengths and bow tie also included

XL Pictures:
Collar
Front View
Back View
Pocket
Placket and Button

XXL Pictures:
Front Senoritas
Back Senoritas

Pattern Sizing:
Pattern comes in two separate choices, S/M/L in one envelope; XL, XXL and XXXL in another.

Unfortunately the pattern envelope back is lacking men's shirt sizing details. Here's my resulting sizes from the XL and XXL, compared to most of my men's RTW shirt. Hope this helps you.
XL Muslin
Neck=18"
Chest=53"
Long Sleeve Length=33/34
Pocket size=6"x7.5"
Yoke width=21"

XXL result
Neck=21"
Chest=56"
Long Sleeve Length=33/34
Yoke width=21"

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
-Both short sleeve or long sleeve pattern options
-Cuff options include normal buttoned, or French cuff
-Includes pattern for button down collar or collar stay pockets (cool!)
-Loved how the sleeve was sewn in flat, with the shirt sides, without use of set-in sleeve. Very fast method and easy to finish the sleeve seams.

Fabric Used:
Cotton print from Joann's. For those of you who don't recognize the characters, the print is called Agent P from the
Disney cartoon of Phineas and Ferb. It's fun and I couldn't resist it. I frequently don't like the quality of Joann's fabric. But this one is an exception. It cut and pressed like a dream, and barely shrank. Unlike the printed flannel recently purchased there which ripped in my hands while pinning it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
-Added one inch to length of sleeve
-Shrunk size of pocket. The pattern makes it enormous.
-Collar size might be shortened in the future, but not on this project.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely! It's a great pattern with options for the future.

Conclusion:
Fun. Easy to construct. And makes a great muslin for the future.
I've got my eye on some more cool fabric for another casual shirt
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stonecutter17 said...
I am love with this! Great work!
4/6/14 6:46 PM
careymoonbeam said...
Phineas and Ferb! Yay! Nice shirt, but weird about the lack of sizing info on the envelope. I am perusing pattern possibilities for a SS shirt form my husband, so this may be a possibility. (I have the Colette Negroni but he would like a collar stand on his next shirt.)
4/6/14 7:11 PM
Sadie Chez said...
Awesome matching on that pocket!
4/7/14 10:44 PM
merry-one said...
Great shirt! I went online to order the fabric....
4/8/14 8:27 AM
craigrama said...
Disclosure: Yes, I did match the pocket pattern (it was easy). I intended to match pattern on the fronts and facing. But my calculations got out of whack by an inch. So I just cut a non-matching placket, since the pattern was busy. I'll have to calculate better next time :)
4/8/14 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2934

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Candice

Candice

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now