SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewn Square One> 1006 (Go Anywhere Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 302 times 
Reviewed by:Muggiesew
photo

 
 
About Muggiesewstar
Member since: 9/21/13
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 74
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/14 4:34 AM
Last Updated:4/7/14 4:36 AM
Project Photo:Sewn Square One: 1006 by Muggiesew

Sewn Square One: 1006 by Muggiesew  
Pattern Photo:Sewn Square One 1006
Sewn Square One Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Fitted dress tunic or top with 3 sleeve options with pleated pockets
Pattern Sizing:
XXS - XL
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes and gives lots of extra information for beginners. Worth stapling the pages into a booklet. Quaint hand drawn pictures to illustrate each stage. It's in an A4 packet.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I bought it for the pockets. I love therm on the picture but not on my dress! Love the shape and simplicity of design.
Fabric Used:
Fine wool tweed lined with bremsilk.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Because it is lined I omitted the neck facing. I also lined the pockets. It had my usual body adjustments tested in previous version of the pattern.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes
Conclusion:
I couldn't wait to sew this and my test version, made in stretch material, is my favourite dress. But this isn't so successful due to my fabric choice. I love the tweed but it's very very fragile and should poss be interfaced first. I chose this over other patterns because of the pockets and on this dress they are my least favourite aspect. They were a pain to do. They had to be lined up exactly with the grain. 2mm out and it looked crooked. Getting the pleats to look right was tricky. Don't know why but they were. Perhaps they'd be better in a crisper fabric. I still like the picture and my disappointment about the dress is due to my fabric choices and not the pattern. It feels good to wear and is a good weight, warm but not bulky. Comment from DH ' it's OK, nothing special' he's right.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danmar said...
Well, your shoulder neck area seems to fit well! I have never seem this pattern. It is cute. Glad you drew my attention to it.
4/7/14 7:00 AM
supizoo said...
Wow, I would never have thought you had problems with this. The fabric and style look beautiful in your photo.
4/7/14 7:34 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is fun. Really like it. I like the pockets too!!
4/7/14 9:11 AM
sewrose said...
Maybe you'll like it more in another fabric.
4/7/14 10:02 AM
style inspired said...
Very nice dress. Love the pockets. It reminds me a bit of the Lisette Portfolio dress.
4/7/14 5:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have this pattern and yet to sew. I was drawn to the style of the dress and had concerns about the pockets. Perhaps in another fabric the pockets would look different. I think it fits you well in the neck and upper chest area.
4/8/14 5:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
New Look 6968

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review