SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 160 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/14 4:44 PM
Last Updated:4/8/14 4:48 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this

BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this  BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: fitted knit sheath dress with several horizontal seams that wrap around to the back of the dress

Pattern Sizing:17-21

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes, minus the sleeve flaps

Were the instructions easy to follow?The numbered seams make this dress very quick and simple to put together. I didn't read the printed directions, but I can't imagine them being clearer than the numbered seam diagram. There's times that words complicate matters, and this is one of them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I hate the sleeve flaps. They look absurd to me. But others had eliminated them successfully, so when the right bit of ponte fell into my lap, I went for it.

The rest of the dress I love. The silhouette is not unlike the Breakfast at Tiffany's dress and the seaming adds a modern twist to it.
Fabric Used:Blush ponte knit from Vogue Fabrics in Chicago (Downtown location)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I had to bring the inner edge of the shoulder in for strap coverage and because my narrow shoulder adjustment would have narrowed the shoulder seam too much.

The dress is also quite long--midi length on me which is not terribly flattering. I can't remember precisely how much I shortened it, but I think it was about 3".

I also eliminated the facings and opted to underline the top 2 front sections and the back yoke with powernet (the pieces involved in the armscye) which made for a clean finish and no floppy facing issues.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?This was hands down the most fun dress I've ever made. A zipper and some walking vents would not be bad additions to this dress as it is fitted and doesn't allow for a ton of movement. Ponte isn't the most stretchy of all of the knits, so think about a vent or a zipper if you make this dress. I almost ripped out a shoulder when I mistakenly put the dress on backwards.

Conclusion: A lovely dress for the opera.
More on my blog.
~E Made This: A Dress for the Opera
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Lovely! The color suits you.
4/8/14 4:46 PM
supizoo said...
Elegant colour, beautiful shape, I hope you enjoyed the opera.
4/8/14 5:16 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous dress! The color is lovely on you, and the seaming and fit are glorious. Lovely dress for the opera.
4/9/14 9:08 AM
Quickie said...
You looked wonderful at the opera. I also think that your accessories were nice
4/9/14 9:26 AM
madbadger said...
I love this - so unique & elegant, nice job!
4/11/14 12:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Fehr Trade 000

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now