SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6899 (Misses' Tops and Tunic)

2 more reviews
Viewed 524 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/14 9:38 AM
Last Updated:4/10/14 9:40 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6899 by mnitts

McCall's: 6899 by mnitts  McCall's: 6899 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6899
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Very loose-fitting tops and tunic have dropped shoulders, yoke and pleat variations, narrow hem and front button closing. A and B: collar extends into tie ends, mock front band, back yoke, forward shoulder seams, and no shoulder seams. A and C: armhole bands. D: tie ends. Shaped hemline B and rolled sleeves D: wrong side shows. C and D: collar/front bands and button tabs.

I made view C.
Pattern Sizing:
XS - XXL
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, except for I didn't conceal the ends of the centre front band the way they described because I found that it was distorting the shape of the front of the tunic, so I just turned my ends under and top stitched.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the pleating at the back. I love the comfort. Being as I made it in white it will go with everything and be the perfect piece to layer now or wear alone later. It looks good worn loose as well as tucked in. It is very generous in it's cut, which may not be for everyone. It is rated as an easy sew...it was quite fiddly sewing the front bands. I did it ok using steam a seam as help. I think a complete beginner may find the bands harder to sew.
Fabric Used:
Very light weight polycotton jersey.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Aside from shortening the top by 2 inches, nothing else.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might sew it again. I think there is a lot you could do with this pattern to customise it. Lace yoke at the back, make it in chiffon, silk or crepe, make a dress out of it, contrast front bands/ collar and sleeve backs, and of course there is the option of the tie collar etc. Yes, I would recommend.
Conclusion:
If you are looking for an oversize tunic top with some nice details check it out. More pics on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
I swear everything looks good on you! I love this! Completely ignored this pattern when it came out but wow you have really made it look GOOD!
4/10/14 9:42 AM
Melwyk said...
Agree -- I didn't even notice this one when it came out but it looks fabulous on you! Love the flowiness.
4/10/14 9:50 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I love this one on you, especially in white. You've styled it so nicely, too. Love your ideas for customizing...really versatile!
4/10/14 9:51 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - my kind of top so must get this pattern
4/10/14 10:42 AM
ArtAttack said...
This looks adorable on you! Great job...really cute top.
4/10/14 11:22 AM
bakertoo said...
I agree, you have made a pretty shirt, and it looks great on you. Nice job!
4/10/14 11:28 AM
nicegirl said...
Very cute! The back pleating is so adorable and it's a very stylish piece.
4/10/14 11:33 AM
dmh1 said...
Lovely top! I always read your reviews with interest. Thank you!
4/10/14 3:29 PM
PattyE said...
Super cute! I grabbed this one when it came out and can't wait to sew it.
4/10/14 6:01 PM
Christas said...
What a wonderful looking top on you! I love the way you've styled it. I'm pretty sure I "need" this pattern after seeing your review!
4/10/14 7:18 PM
kajero said...
Love how top looks on you. It looks so comfortable, too! The fabric is really neat.
4/10/14 9:36 PM
Sew Good said...
Very cute! I like this style on you especially with the fabric you chose. I agree with MrsCharisma - everything looks good on you!
4/10/14 10:46 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Love this top.
4/11/14 2:05 AM
msschiel said...
I liked the style of this top, but I worried about it being to big on me, like a tent! It looks fabulous on you. The white is very versatile, too.
4/11/14 5:12 AM
cocosloft said...
So very pretty! What a wonderful top, I would never have thought it would be so good looking, from the envelope pics. Very nice work, lovely fabric choice and styling.
4/11/14 5:14 AM
mnitts said...
Thanks, ladies, for all your very kind comments!
4/11/14 5:30 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Soooo cute Manju! Now I want one too.
4/11/14 10:21 AM
sewgirlygirl-knot! said...
Yours should be the picture on pattern envelope. Nice job!
4/11/14 12:05 PM
Linwoodbs said...
I looked at this pattern many times, but always wondered how it would look on. I can say on you it looks fabulous! Will have to run out and get this pattern soon. Thanks, for the review.
4/11/14 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-2

photo
by: Yakityak

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Gertie\'s book for better

photo
by: ErikaMadeI...

Review