SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Lekala Patterns> 5425 (Lekala)

Viewed 263 times 
Reviewed by:marjieco
photo

 
 
About marjiecostar
CA USA
Member since: 10/31/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/14 11:19 PM
Last Updated:4/10/14 11:22 PM
Project Photo:Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco

Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco  Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by marjieco

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
  • The pattern is Lekala 5425, a fitted Western style blouse
  • Lekala provides custom sizing
  • My finished blouses look similar to the drawing of the pattern.
  • The instructions for Lekala patterns is improving but not for this particular pattern. I copied a RTW blouse for sewing help.
  • I really like the style of the front button band and the fit. I did add a few inches to the length. I felt I had to remove some of the Cowgirl sexy and replace it with Grandma wannabe sexy
  • The fabric I used is a stretch cotton from Vogue Fabrics for the small floral and 100% cotton from Stone Mt. & Daughter, Berkeley, Ca. for the plaid/floral
  • I did alter the pattern by removing the points on the yoke, front and back and adding to the length as well as cuffs and sleeve plackets
  • While sewing the two blouses I realized I am not into sewing blouses, the time and cost of pattern and fabric just is not worth it. I do love the style. I have been asked to sew one for my daughter so I will do that.

I had an inspiration for this blouse, I love the look of it and if I can find fabric close to it, I will make it again.

Please visit my blog for a bit more info or just watch me.
Thanks, marjie

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
I love this Lekala blouse pattern, thanks for that first review! Love your blouse, very cute!
4/11/14 0:21 AM
supizoo said...
These look so good on you. Really good.
4/11/14 5:08 AM
Danmar said...
These are both nice blouses. You did a great job!
4/11/14 6:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Your shirts look great. Love both of them.
4/11/14 9:00 AM
kajero said...
Love them! Great job.
4/11/14 10:08 AM
ISewedIt said...
This is really cute on you! I would have never put these two fabrics together.
4/11/14 11:58 AM
kangafrog said...
Wow! I love the plaid and the print together. Yours looks much nicer than your inspiration picture.
4/11/14 7:23 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
I love your contrast fabrics!
4/11/14 9:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 4548

photo
by: Mint Choco...

Review