SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lekala Patterns> 5425 (Lekala)

Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:marjieco
photo

 
 
About marjiecostar
CA USA
Member since: 10/31/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/14 11:19 PM
Last Updated:4/10/14 11:22 PM
Project Photo:Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco

Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco  Lekala Patterns: 5425 by marjieco  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by marjieco

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
  • The pattern is Lekala 5425, a fitted Western style blouse
  • Lekala provides custom sizing
  • My finished blouses look similar to the drawing of the pattern.
  • The instructions for Lekala patterns is improving but not for this particular pattern. I copied a RTW blouse for sewing help.
  • I really like the style of the front button band and the fit. I did add a few inches to the length. I felt I had to remove some of the Cowgirl sexy and replace it with Grandma wannabe sexy
  • The fabric I used is a stretch cotton from Vogue Fabrics for the small floral and 100% cotton from Stone Mt. & Daughter, Berkeley, Ca. for the plaid/floral
  • I did alter the pattern by removing the points on the yoke, front and back and adding to the length as well as cuffs and sleeve plackets
  • While sewing the two blouses I realized I am not into sewing blouses, the time and cost of pattern and fabric just is not worth it. I do love the style. I have been asked to sew one for my daughter so I will do that.

I had an inspiration for this blouse, I love the look of it and if I can find fabric close to it, I will make it again.

Please visit my blog for a bit more info or just watch me.
Thanks, marjie

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
I love this Lekala blouse pattern, thanks for that first review! Love your blouse, very cute!
4/11/14 0:21 AM
supizoo said...
These look so good on you. Really good.
4/11/14 5:08 AM
Danmar said...
These are both nice blouses. You did a great job!
4/11/14 6:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Your shirts look great. Love both of them.
4/11/14 9:00 AM
kajero said...
Love them! Great job.
4/11/14 10:08 AM
ISewedIt said...
This is really cute on you! I would have never put these two fabrics together.
4/11/14 11:58 AM
kangafrog said...
Wow! I love the plaid and the print together. Yours looks much nicer than your inspiration picture.
4/11/14 7:23 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
I love your contrast fabrics!
4/11/14 9:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Shape Shape: wave skirt

photo
by: mm

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now