SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 10793-1001 

Viewed 996 times 
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo

 
 
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/05 3:00 PM
Last Updated:6/19/05 3:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JoleneF said...
Thanks everyone, it really was an education. I picked up some more fabric today so we will see how the next one goes. I do appreciate all the tips, I have so much to learn yet.
6/20/05 12:51 PM
Meguiar said...
Great job! I'll be interested to read what changes/improvements you make in the future. What an accomplishment to knock off RTW lingerie - three cheers for you!
6/20/05 7:09 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Yay Jolene, you did it! Your next one will fit perfectly. You could cut them a little bigger, then add a little elastic in the back, and to the last few inches of the straps in back, so it gives a little.

One thing I have found to be a wonderful option on the straps, is to have them cross in the back...you'll never have a strap fall off your shoulder again.
6/20/05 3:21 AM

Irene said...
Wow--looks wonderful. You'll end up with a camisole wardrobe that you can replenish at your whim.
6/20/05 0:23 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job, Jolene! That is so cool to make a copy of your RTW camisole.
6/20/05 0:19 AM
Levone said...
Good job on your first try. I admire those who attempt to copy a RTW piece.
6/19/05 9:13 PM
drsue said...
Very good for a first try from a RTW garment! I've never made anything like this myself.
6/19/05 9:05 PM
mudcat said...
Jolene, I agree that you've done an excellent job, especially for a first attempt.
6/19/05 5:47 PM
Stitchology said...
I think it's awesome for the first try. A very exacting garment with lots of detail and shaping. I suggest reducing the curve at the botttom of the center cup seam, as it seems too rounded and roomy for your fit. Otherwise I think the tweaks you've already thought of and Gigi's idea about bias would be good. You could make one or two changes at a time and see how it evolves rather than trying to leap ahead too many steps. You've done an impressive job.
6/19/05 4:42 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Jolene, I think it turned out great! I think you did an amazing job. I'm so glad you are feeling well enough to tackle this project! :-) An easy way to tame slippery silkies is to spray them with spray starch. The starch stiffens the fabric just enough to make it a little easier to handle. It would be good to test the crosswise stretch of future fabrics (or cut them on the bias) - some polyester silkies are so firmly woven that they have no give whatsoever (as you found out). If you can't find anything suitable I'd just add more ease and cut your fabric on the bias (for the back and lower front only).
6/19/05 3:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6711

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now