SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7600 (Sun Hats Package; All in sizes in)

17 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCocostar
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/14 3:46 PM
Last Updated:5/22/14 1:21 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 7600 by SavageCoco

Vogue Patterns: 7600 by SavageCoco  Vogue Patterns: 7600 by SavageCoco  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 7600
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
UPDATE
Here is the promised review of the Vogue 7600 hats I made for The Two Pattys on my annual trip to Palm Springs with them in May.

Pattern Description: Three styles of sun hats. I made 1 View B and 2 View As. View A has a significantly large brim, but it lays a bit flattish on the back so as not to interfere with the all important laying about the sun lounge. A VERY SMART design.

Pattern Sizing:Sm-Med-Lrg. I made a small View B for my pea-head and two large View As for the Brainiacs.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Oh my gosh, they do!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Pretty much. I made some changes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
That View A is Dramatic, baby. Very Diva. Excellent face coverage from the sun. Everyone by the pool really liked that feature. I just like the Dramatic Diva part, but that's just me.

Fabric and Needle Used : Quilting cottons to match The Two Pattys swim suits. I used a #14 MicroTex to pierce the Peltex. I had to adjust my machine tension up to 9 to really bang the needle through and pick-up the bobbin thread. Loosened the tension bobbin screw to help that. I doubled-up the top-stitching thread on the brim so you could see it better. Oh, it takes a bit of time to top-stitch that brim, so do allow for a tad of boredom to set in. I did mine over the course of a few days while waiting for dinner to cook.

I read all the reviews and took note one should use a sturdier fusible interfacing than the usual heavy weight stuff available. I chose Pellon's Peltex 71F Single-Sided Ultra Firm Stabilizer, purchased at Beverly's. Ultra Firm is right, they aren't kidding. I could re-roof my house with it. It can definitely take a beating and still pop back into shape. The hats survived being smashed into a shopping bag and under a plane seat beautifully.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I trimmed the 1/2" SA away from the outside seam of the Peltex only on the brim so as to not interfere with the roll of the cloth when turning it right side out. The Peltex is pretty stiff. The pics explain it better.

I added interior adjustable hat bands as The Two Pattys are always complaining they can't find hats big enough for their heads, or if they do, then the hat is too loose. This way I cut size Large for them and let them adjust as desired. I used 2 1/2" satin ribbon folded over lengthwise. Instructions to that are in the pics too.

I ran a high-contrast basting stitch just under the 1/2" SA mark prior to attaching the brim to the crown so I could confidently clip the curves (say that 5 times fast) without clipping too far. I highly recommend you do this, especially if you use the Peltex, otherwise you won't be able to ease the convex to the concave seam lines.

If you use the Peltex, your lining was cut the same size as your fashion fabric, and therefore, too big. I sewed the fashion fabric/Peltex cap/crown with a 1/2"SA and cap/crown lining with a 5/8" SA, which made one slip into the other perfectly.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I came home with 5 orders from pool-side loungers, so yes, I'll be making it again! (Oy vey, my poor hands . . .) This hat is a real compliment getter. The Two Pattys absolutely squealed when I gave them their hats. But then, they can get pretty happy about a free appetizer.

Conclusion: Hat making is addictive. Be sure to have someone available to tell you to stop and eat.

And here are the hats and The Two Pattys in action. Enjoy!

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
they look fantastic so far - and wow - I bet setting that circle at the top was LOTS of fun - bias all the way!
4/15/14 9:31 PM
Jrhee said...
Love them!
4/15/14 10:23 PM
Baja Susana said...
I want a review ASAP!
4/15/14 11:19 PM
sewstitched said...
These are gorgeous! Can't help but notice how similar they are to a hat I made recently for our granddaughter.... free pattern: http://oliverands.com/free-patterns/reversible-bucket-hat/
4/15/14 11:31 PM
Sew Good said...
Oh how neat!! I was thinking I have so many clothes, perhaps I should try sewing something smaller so I can still sew something everyday. I bought a pattern for gloves but those are only good in the winter. Hats! I must make some hats!! Thank you sewstitched :) got the pattern!
4/15/14 11:56 PM
Adventurer said...
Beautiful! I have a small head, hats don't usually fit well. Hmmm...
4/16/14 1:40 AM
petro said...
Fabulous hats! Now all you need is the sunshine.
4/16/14 2:42 AM
supizoo said...
Oh I need these hats!
4/16/14 6:24 AM
AnneM said...
Love the video. And I love the hats. I really need to consider this pattern. I've only made winter hats, and I love brimmed summer hats.
4/16/14 6:24 AM
Quickie said...
Great hats
4/16/14 6:41 AM
Quickie said...
Great hats
4/16/14 6:45 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love this hat- I've been looking for a pattern like this. Perfect action video. Have a great trip!
4/16/14 7:24 AM
Sheseams said...
Beautiful!
4/16/14 8:52 AM
mastdenman said...
Ooo, I like those. I live in the Palm Springs area and could use a couple or more of those kinds of hats.
4/16/14 11:37 AM
said...
Great hats and beautifully sewn. Does your trip to Palm Springs include the week with Claire Shaeffer by any chance? I will be there for that and look forward to meeting you if that is the reason for your annual trip.
4/16/14 12:01 PM
marjieco said...
Cool hats. Love them all.
4/16/14 1:42 PM
material excess said...
Very nice hats!
4/17/14 1:04 AM
Sew Good said...
I found an old hat pattern! I'm so excited. Thank you so much for the inspiration. Now to look through my stash for some fabric. :)
4/20/14 5:50 PM
NhiHuynh said...
These are fabulous!! I would squeal too if someone gave me one of these. And I'm not a squealer.
5/22/14 1:20 AM
Eli cat said...
Wow!Very nice!Thank you for nice review.
5/22/14 1:26 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great looking hats and the two Patty's do look like alot of fun to be with!
5/22/14 8:57 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a blast! I loved making this hat and will take your advice and trim the brim seam allowance next time. Boy that was hard to turn and maintain a smooth edge. Thanks for turning me on to this pattern. I'm going to try it with a smaller brim next go round.
5/22/14 10:04 AM
Barbara V said...
Great hats! Thanks for all the tips!
5/22/14 10:26 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
5/22/14 10:45 AM
kkkkaty said...
Great review of the hats (which I made once, and they weren't nearly as nice as yours), and also a fun read, loved the "free appetizer" comment ;)
5/22/14 1:16 PM
McCallPatternCo said...
Great hats!
5/22/14 2:39 PM
sew dooley said...
These are awesome and the ladies look like they are having a blast.
5/22/14 4:16 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
So jealous of the 2 Pattys and that this pattern is out of print. I too have a big "heed" as my husband likes to say so hat buying is impossible. I'm going to try Vogue 8844 also by Patricia Underwood, but the crown is more like a fedora so we'll see. Fabulous job and I've got the sun hat making bug!
5/22/14 4:42 PM
meggipeg said...
I bet everyone wanted in on your party, it looks great fun and the hats are fabulous!
5/22/14 10:21 PM
inkstain said...
The demo of punching your hat is hysterically funny. I watched it in wonder, thinking what the heck construction step is this? Thanks for a great tutorial. I just might try it, but we don't have that Peltex stuff in Switzerland. http://chanelno6.blogspot.ch/
6/8/14 4:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7013

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now