SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5994  (Katherine Tilton)

Viewed 336 times 
Reviewed by:maggrahamk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maggrahamk
PA USA
Member since: 1/26/11
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/14 10:17 PM
Last Updated:4/17/14 8:53 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5994  by maggrahamk

Butterick: 5994  by maggrahamk  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5994
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Fitted, unlined jacket has front extending into collar, princess seams, side front pockets, stitched hems, concealed front zipper, two-piece sleeves and self-made toggles with decorative closing. Topstitching.
Pattern Sizing:
8-14, 16-24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?They are easy to follow, but close arte ton must be paid to cutting and construction directions. If followed exactly, the results are correct.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like the toggle and the collar.

Fabric Used:A textured wool knit from Nancy Erickson.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I made no design changes, the design is why I bought the pattern. I took it in quite a bit and would recommend that anyone making it try it on before sewing the side seams. I thought the sleeves were large, and took them in as well. Any alterations for circumference are easy to make because it has center and princess back seams as well as the side seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I would sew it again, but it is pretty distinctive.

Conclusion: My toggle was fiddly, and still requires some work. I made a heavy button assembly and reinforced the pocket pieces with an extra layer of interfacing. I would not make it a heavy assembly again, as I had to sew down the toggle loop to support it.

Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Nice. I like it much better than the picture on the pattern!
4/16/14 10:47 PM
megdortch said...
Lovely. Great fabric choice!
4/16/14 10:59 PM
Quickie said...
This seems such a comfortable jacket......
4/17/14 9:49 AM
sfshaza said...
A beautiful jacket!
4/17/14 9:53 AM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful jacket!
4/17/14 10:07 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Very pretty! I wanted this the minute it came out but got "scared" of it. Love your version!
4/17/14 10:32 AM
maggrahamk said...
Thank you for the nice comments.
4/17/14 7:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: MarthaOnFi...

Review
Cynthia Guffey Patterns T-2009

photo
by: CMae

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now