SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7717 

12 more reviews
Viewed 1180 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/05 11:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuickFade said...
Very pretty. Does the double layering make it opaque enough that you don't need a slip. I have a bunch of fabric of about the same sheerness and had thought I would need to make some black or skin colored knit slips to go under them. Does the dark solid change the way the print looks when the print side is out?
6/20/05 11:47 AM
Irene Q said...
Both your skirts look so much better than the pattern pictures! Loved seeing the complete outfits, too.
6/20/05 12:40 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
PopoAgie: I don't feel I need a slip with either of these outfits: the longer skirt (one on bottom) of the red-ish color is not shear, but the longer skirt of the other is, and no slip needed. The dark solid doesn't change the look of the print: actually, if anthing, it makes it look a little stonger. Thanks for your comment. Hope to see your skirts soon on PR!
6/20/05 1:53 PM
bunz said...
That pink is REALLY flattering on you. What kind of fabric and from where?
6/20/05 3:07 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty. I like your versions much better than the pattern picture. Using the contrasting longer skirt is a great idea.
6/21/05 4:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Harriet, your KS top and this skirt look great together. As to Betzina's method, are you talking about butting the elastic up against the sewn seam of the lining and skirt. I found that I had to pin the elastic a little in places and also had to feel the elastic to be sure it was butted up against the waist edge seam and stretch at the same time. It takes a little doing, but I had good success after a couple of practice runs.
6/21/05 5:35 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for comments. Binz: the blue-ish outfit was a rayon print and a rayon plain color long skirt: these will be dry-cleaned. The reddish is a polyester and maybe a little cotton that is washable. The first two fabrics were bought at G St in Rockville, Md, and I don't remember where the reddish is from (material was from my stash).
6/21/05 1:19 PM
xela said...
These outfits are beautiful on you. Thanks for the elastic tip. Very pretty.
6/21/05 1:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
What beautiful outfits -- all the fabrics are wonderful. The long, lean look suits you well.
6/21/05 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Colette Patterns Pastille

photo
by: littletail...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: lydianmode

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now