SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2795 

25 more reviews
Viewed 182 times 
Reviewed by:clcruick
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clcruickstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/8/13
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/14 8:02 PM
Last Updated:4/18/14 8:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Jalie: 2795 by clcruick

Jalie: 2795 by clcruick  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 2795
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Zip-front jacket or hoodie with front pockets in princess seam and self-fabric cuffs and hem bands and stylish topstitching.

Pattern Sizing: 27 sizes F-FF

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, although I blocked my colours.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Jalie has terrific instructions. There are written directions that are more an order of construction. These are accompanied by illustrations that help make things clear. There are many small pieces in this jacket (sleeves and hood have four each!) and I chose to put them together first, rather than following the instructions precisely.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the opportunities to play with colour. The pattern has many pieces and offers a lot of scope for such play. I love the hood; I call it the medieval executioner hoodie (mostly due to colour choices, but also shape)!

Fabric Used: Rayon ponte knit in black and heather grey from Queen Textile, Toronto. This is a lovely fabric to wear, breathable and soft. It has more stretch in the lengthwise grain.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No alterations. In future, I would probably shorten the jacket. The jackets are shown in solid colours and I chose to block my colours.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would like to sew this one again. I had some mishaps with the collar and collar facing, and ended up redoing a lot of the finishing details. This is not to be discouraging to anyone else; it was my own inattention! It really is a great pattern and quite easy to put together when one is attentive!

Conclusion: This is a great pattern for a light jacket. It is quick to make up and makes a great piece for transitional weather. There are opportunities to play with colour or pattern in the fabric(s) used.
See more on my blog.






Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Nice!
4/18/14 8:30 PM
21wale said...
Excellent jacket! I like the subtle color-blocking with the two greys.
4/18/14 9:43 PM
21wale said...
Excellent jacket! I like the subtle color-blocking with the two greys.
4/18/14 9:43 PM
wendyrb said...
Love the hood and your welts! The blog about your sewing saga was helpful too. In the end you got a great result. Thanks for being honest and maybe too modest. ; )
4/18/14 10:30 PM
clcruick said...
Thank you for all your kind comments. I like the jacket and think it worked well, but I wish that I had paid more attention when installing the collar!
4/19/14 7:54 AM
RisaJ said...
Great job on the pockets - they really stand out with the color blocking.
4/19/14 9:56 AM
becca a said...
What a great idea to color block this jacket!
4/20/14 8:26 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, congratulations.
4/20/14 8:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's m6022

photo
by: ivette

Review