SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8936 (Misses' Tunic, Skirt and Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:Graca
photo

 
 
About Gracastarstar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 102
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/14 8:57 PM
Last Updated:4/18/14 9:05 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8936 by Graca

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8936
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
From the pattern envelope: "Misses' Tunic, Skirt and Pants: Close-fitting, partially lined tunic has princess seams peplum, and narrow hem. A: wrong side may show on back hemline. B: Stitched hem on sleeves. Semi-fitted skirt or tapered pants have contour waist. All have back zipper. C: Back slit. Custom fit for A, B, C, D cup sizes."

I make the tunic only. That said I'm reluctant to rate this as a recommend with modifications pattern since I only made one item from the pattern. I like this tunic, but I didn't make a muslin and I found that it wasn't my idea of "close-fitting" and ended up taking in the side seams a few times until I got a fit I was happy with.

Pattern Sizing:
This is a multi-sized pattern A5 (6, 8, 10, 12, 14) and E5 (14, 16, 18, 20, 22).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. I did make some changes to the shape of the neckline though.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did abandon the instructions half way through since I wanted to insert an invisible zipper before sewing the side seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the shape of the peplum and the princess seams. I was not a fan of the neckline so I changed the shape.

Fabric Used:
100% cotton print.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I lowered the neckline 2" in the front and tapered towards the centre back. Instead of lining the bodice, I finished the neckline with black bias tape.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don't know if I would make another one because one peplum tunic in the wardrobe I think is enough. But I would recommend this pattern. I found that I had to take in the sides quite a bit so I would making a muslin.

Conclusion:
More details on my blog, Click Here.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
I love your fabric choice :) I like the neckline change too.
4/18/14 10:10 PM
Jrhee said...
Pretty print for this top, and goes perfectly with the binding!
4/18/14 10:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty. Helpful review
4/19/14 8:19 AM
Speech girl said...
Lovely! Great fabric.
4/20/14 11:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
you cant have enough peplum tunics! love your fabric choice too
4/30/14 7:05 PM
Graca said...
Thank you!
5/10/14 8:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1115

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now