SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1776 (Misses Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 357 times 
Reviewed by:supizoo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About supizoo
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/14 4:07 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1776 by supizoo

Simplicity: 1776 by supizoo  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1776
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Project Runway pattern. Lined dress with neckline, sleeve and pocket variations

Pattern Sizing:
Mine is a US 4, 6, 8, 10 ,12 or Eur 30-38
Corresponding to bust 75-107cm (29.5-42")

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except for my modification to the neckline (raised)

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. I only made the basic A-line dress, no exposed zipper, no pockets, hence they were straightforward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was after a basic, lined, sheath dress and this is one.

Fabric Used:
Quilting cotton from my local quilting fabric store (Dragonfly Fabrics).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1) I raised the neckline and widened the shoulder. Scooped-out necklines do not suit me. I'm not sure why I bought this pattern instead of one which had a raised neckline. Sometimes I do things which leave me perplexed.
2) Lengthened the waist 5cm. (normal alteration for me)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely making it again because it is a simple sheath with room to move (see my action shot: sheesh, 3 seconds isn't long enough to get into position!). I will lower my modified neckline a little since it is too high for comfort. I may even try the scooped neckline, although I know I won't like it....as I said, sometimes I do things which boggle my mind. I love the silver version on the envelope; if only I had a bust!

Would I recommend it? It's probably very similar to a hundred other A-line sheath patterns out there but yeah, sure, if you like the scoop neckline and style of dress, the pattern itself is fine.

Conclusion:
A basic A-Line sheath dress which has the potential to be dressed up or down depending on fabric. Quite versatile with the sleeve and neckline variations.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nana27 said...
cute dress.. this is a style dress that I like for summer
4/19/14 6:39 AM
the_caroler said...
What a fun print! I think the shape of this looks very flattering.
4/19/14 7:11 AM
Jrhee said...
Looks fabulous on you! I bet you wear this everywhere!
4/19/14 10:12 AM
craft keeper said...
Love the print. Adorable dress!
4/19/14 10:13 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Love it! Very fun fabric.
4/19/14 11:30 AM
Christas said...
Cute dress.... looks very nice on you!
4/19/14 6:09 PM
beanchor said...
How cute! Great fabric and fit!
4/19/14 7:03 PM
Truegem said...
So cute, well done!
4/21/14 3:22 AM
grays08 said...
Very cute - LOVE it with that fabric, just perfect. : )
4/21/14 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-121

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now