SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-107 (Camisole)

Viewed 1201 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/05 5:58 PM
Last Updated:6/20/05 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
Very nice top Kay. I like your modifications to make it more comfortable. I will save your review for future reference. Thank you.
6/22/05 9:33 AM
Kathryn said...
Oooh la la! Love the top! I just pulled that Burda issue out, thanks to your inspiration, and hope to make that top for one of my next projects. I love the lines. So cute. Thanks, Kay!
6/21/05 9:45 PM
Kay Y said...
For the elastic in the straps, I serged the elastic to the seam of the strap, along the full length, so that when it was turned the elastic kind of filled the narrow tube of the strap. As for the top edge, I serged the elastic to the top (pretty much 1-1 ratio for length) as I was sewing the shelf bra and camisole together along the top edge. I turned and topstitched (cover stitch) which further secured the elastic, so it's hidden completely inside. Hope this makes sense.
6/21/05 8:43 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Nice job! Did you serge the clear elastic on the upper edges, turn and topstich?
6/21/05 7:26 PM
hongkongshopper said...
The fabric is really cute too!!
6/21/05 6:40 PM
JenniferBee said...
Looks great, this is one I will have to make for my daughters.
6/21/05 3:44 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Darling cammy- thanks for the support heads up! With teens as "rack gifted" as mine. full-fledged bra cups might be a good idea for them!
6/20/05 9:39 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Great tip--elastic in the spaghetti straps! Very cute cami!
6/20/05 8:36 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty! I looked through that issue of WOF-you're right, it looks really good!
6/20/05 8:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive camisole. The pattern has some interesting details -- I bet the dress length is quite nice, too.
6/20/05 7:00 PM
Liana said...
Very cute! You're not kidding about the original being a little low in the front!! Nice top.
6/20/05 6:54 PM
Lisette said...
I love your camisole! It looks great
6/20/05 6:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

New Look 6785

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 4548

photo
by: Mint Choco...

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

More Info