SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-107 (Camisole)

Viewed 1203 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews: 193 (patterns: 182)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 289 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/05 5:58 PM
Last Updated:6/20/05 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said... (6/22/05 9:33 AM) Reply
Very nice top Kay. I like your modifications to make it more comfortable. I will save your review for future reference. Thank you.
Kathryn said... (6/21/05 9:45 PM) Reply
Oooh la la! Love the top! I just pulled that Burda issue out, thanks to your inspiration, and hope to make that top for one of my next projects. I love the lines. So cute. Thanks, Kay!
Kay Y said... (6/21/05 8:43 PM) Reply
For the elastic in the straps, I serged the elastic to the seam of the strap, along the full length, so that when it was turned the elastic kind of filled the narrow tube of the strap. As for the top edge, I serged the elastic to the top (pretty much 1-1 ratio for length) as I was sewing the shelf bra and camisole together along the top edge. I turned and topstitched (cover stitch) which further secured the elastic, so it's hidden completely inside. Hope this makes sense.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (6/21/05 7:26 PM) Reply
Nice job! Did you serge the clear elastic on the upper edges, turn and topstich?
hongkongshopper said... (6/21/05 6:40 PM) Reply
The fabric is really cute too!!
JenniferBee said... (6/21/05 3:44 PM) Reply
Looks great, this is one I will have to make for my daughters.
Nancy Anne said... (6/20/05 9:39 PM) Reply
Darling cammy- thanks for the support heads up! With teens as "rack gifted" as mine. full-fledged bra cups might be a good idea for them!
Debbie Spriggs said... (6/20/05 8:36 PM) Reply
Great tip--elastic in the spaghetti straps! Very cute cami!
Hilary said... (6/20/05 8:05 PM) Reply
Pretty! I looked through that issue of WOF-you're right, it looks really good!
CarolynGM said... (6/20/05 7:00 PM) Reply
Very attractive camisole. The pattern has some interesting details -- I bet the dress length is quite nice, too.
Liana said... (6/20/05 6:54 PM) Reply
Very cute! You're not kidding about the original being a little low in the front!! Nice top.
Lisette said... (6/20/05 6:49 PM) Reply
I love your camisole! It looks great
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

McCall's 6331

photo
by: mskellytay...

Review
Japanese Pattern Books Home Couture for Girls#12

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details