Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1553 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/05 11:09 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Nikki, to me it just seems too large for you through the bust/waist. Have you tried letting the shoulder seam out a tiny bit at the shoulder point? It seems to be pulling there as if your shoulders are more square than the pattern's shoulder slope.
6/21/05 12:53 PM
Aixoise said...
Nikki - This is a really good-looking pattern. I agree with Gigi and would add that it's big in the upper chest, also. The collar area might fit more closely in a smaller size. Do you need to lower the horizontal bust darts a tad? (You might not in a smaller size.) Keep working at it--this pattern's a keeper.
6/21/05 3:36 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks for the help - I can go one size smaller in the bust area, I am pretty sure I cut a size S tapering to a M at the lower hem, but I am on the low end of S at the bust. I usually remove the dart in knit patterns, and make it a lot smaller in wovens, for an SBA, but I didn't here. Perhaps I should get rid of the horizontal dart (I'm a AAA cup, darts are generally not needed). I'll try playing with the shoulder a little but - I probably ought to mess with the sleeve caps anyway, they look fine when the jacket is lying on the table but are ripply when I wear them.
6/21/05 4:05 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a really cool pattern that I never noticed before. I hope you can resolve your fit issues and make more because it looks good on you. I agree that down-sizing is a good idea -- I can see that it is too big through the bust and upper chest.
6/21/05 5:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is a good style for you Nikki, very flattering - I think this could be part of a career wardrobe.
6/22/05 8:33 AM
trintje said...
Nikki -- The drag lines and pulling you get from this pattern are what I get from just about every pattern. In my case it's because I'm short/small between my shoulders and bust. My bust measurement says to cut a 14, but I get my best results from an 8 with extra width added to the back and lower bust. Maybe this company just runs long/large? And huzzah for your defense! Ihope it went well.
6/27/05 8:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Threads Magazine June July 2006 -125
photo
Review by kkkkaty on 6/19/06
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 142927-1000 summer dress
photo
Review by Saya on 6/29/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6919 Pattern
Burda 6919 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6796 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us