SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1554 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/05 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trintje said...
Nikki -- The drag lines and pulling you get from this pattern are what I get from just about every pattern. In my case it's because I'm short/small between my shoulders and bust. My bust measurement says to cut a 14, but I get my best results from an 8 with extra width added to the back and lower bust. Maybe this company just runs long/large? And huzzah for your defense! Ihope it went well.
6/27/05 8:11 PM
PhyllisC said...
This is a good style for you Nikki, very flattering - I think this could be part of a career wardrobe.
6/22/05 8:33 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is a really cool pattern that I never noticed before. I hope you can resolve your fit issues and make more because it looks good on you. I agree that down-sizing is a good idea -- I can see that it is too big through the bust and upper chest.
6/21/05 5:40 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks for the help - I can go one size smaller in the bust area, I am pretty sure I cut a size S tapering to a M at the lower hem, but I am on the low end of S at the bust. I usually remove the dart in knit patterns, and make it a lot smaller in wovens, for an SBA, but I didn't here. Perhaps I should get rid of the horizontal dart (I'm a AAA cup, darts are generally not needed). I'll try playing with the shoulder a little but - I probably ought to mess with the sleeve caps anyway, they look fine when the jacket is lying on the table but are ripply when I wear them.
6/21/05 4:05 PM
Aixoise said...
Nikki - This is a really good-looking pattern. I agree with Gigi and would add that it's big in the upper chest, also. The collar area might fit more closely in a smaller size. Do you need to lower the horizontal bust darts a tad? (You might not in a smaller size.) Keep working at it--this pattern's a keeper.
6/21/05 3:36 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Nikki, to me it just seems too large for you through the bust/waist. Have you tried letting the shoulder seam out a tiny bit at the shoulder point? It seems to be pulling there as if your shoulders are more square than the pattern's shoulder slope.
6/21/05 12:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 97002-1000

photo
by: Sharonspil...

Review
Wiksten Tova

photo
by: phthooey

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

More Info