SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1556 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 267 (patterns: 232)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/05 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trintje said... (6/27/05 8:11 PM) Reply
Nikki -- The drag lines and pulling you get from this pattern are what I get from just about every pattern. In my case it's because I'm short/small between my shoulders and bust. My bust measurement says to cut a 14, but I get my best results from an 8 with extra width added to the back and lower bust. Maybe this company just runs long/large? And huzzah for your defense! Ihope it went well.
PhyllisC said... (6/22/05 8:33 AM) Reply
This is a good style for you Nikki, very flattering - I think this could be part of a career wardrobe.
CarolynGM said... (6/21/05 5:40 PM) Reply
This is a really cool pattern that I never noticed before. I hope you can resolve your fit issues and make more because it looks good on you. I agree that down-sizing is a good idea -- I can see that it is too big through the bust and upper chest.
Nikki said... (6/21/05 4:05 PM) Reply
Thanks for the help - I can go one size smaller in the bust area, I am pretty sure I cut a size S tapering to a M at the lower hem, but I am on the low end of S at the bust. I usually remove the dart in knit patterns, and make it a lot smaller in wovens, for an SBA, but I didn't here. Perhaps I should get rid of the horizontal dart (I'm a AAA cup, darts are generally not needed). I'll try playing with the shoulder a little but - I probably ought to mess with the sleeve caps anyway, they look fine when the jacket is lying on the table but are ripply when I wear them.
Aixoise said... (6/21/05 3:36 PM) Reply
Nikki - This is a really good-looking pattern. I agree with Gigi and would add that it's big in the upper chest, also. The collar area might fit more closely in a smaller size. Do you need to lower the horizontal bust darts a tad? (You might not in a smaller size.) Keep working at it--this pattern's a keeper.
Gigi Louis said... (6/21/05 12:53 PM) Reply
Nikki, to me it just seems too large for you through the bust/waist. Have you tried letting the shoulder seam out a tiny bit at the shoulder point? It seems to be pulling there as if your shoulders are more square than the pattern's shoulder slope.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6181

photo
by: PrettyTall...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Craftiness is not optional Reversible Wrap Top

photo
by: Mopsgirl89

Review