Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5107 (Khaliah Ali Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1115 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Monica R
photo
About Monica Rstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/05 5:43 PM
Last Updated:6/21/05 5:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it and have been debating whether I want to sew it or not. Now I know I do. It is so nice that Simplicity (and Ali) are making these fashionable patterns. I love the color and pattern on your fabric. And thank you for your sewing hints, particularly the one about the fusible hem--very smart. I will need to try it!
6/21/05 6:06 PM
KarenP said...
You top is so pretty - I love the fabric!
6/21/05 6:15 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Darling top...well done. I'm needing some 'artsy' tops to wear at shows and this looks like it will fill the bill. Thank you so much for a great review!
6/21/05 6:24 PM
ShereeSews said...
What a beautiful top for summer! I have this pattern, and your tips are sure to make me pull it out of the closet. Thanks for sharing!
6/21/05 6:32 PM
ladylola said...
Lovely top! So feminine and your fabric is great!
6/21/05 6:38 PM
Mini said...
I have this pattern and was hoping someone would review it. I'm glad it turned out so well. I have some sheer fabric earmarked for this blouse. Based on your comments, I don't think I will bother trying to cut this tricky stuff on the bias. Thanks!
6/21/05 8:25 PM
Izzie said...
Very Pretty summer top! I have another K. Ali pattern laid out on the table right now, I'm just trying to decide which size to cut! Did you find the pattern to be true to your measurements? Thanks for the very timely review, this is very helpful!
6/21/05 8:52 PM
dvazz said...
I love it! Great choice of fabric. I love the Khalia Ali line and wish the rest of Simplicity's offerings had that much class!
6/21/05 9:06 PM
Monica R said...
Thanks everyone for the nice compliments! Izziie--Yes, I did find this pattern true to my measurements. The fit was excellent. When I tried on the tissue before cutting the fabric, I was amazed at how nicely everything fit--even the darts were in the right place for me. But, I do find with plus size patterns that I always need to go down a size or two in the neck and shoulders because I have a small frame.
6/21/05 9:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty.
6/22/05 5:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! I bet it looks wonderful on you.
6/22/05 6:47 AM
Kerry O said...
Oh, that is a lovely top! I bet it looks gorgeous on you. I have wanted to try the Khaliah Ali patterns and this looks like a really nice one. Thank you so much for the review!
6/22/05 9:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think I have just about everything in the K.Ali line. Thank you for sharing your lovely blouse. Your review was full of helpful ideas and thanks for letting us know that bias isn't important for the fit. I'll be sewing her patterns for my back-to-school wardrobe and this one is included in my plans.
6/22/05 10:35 AM
AnneM said...
Cute summer top. I really like some of the styles in the Simplicity Ali line.
6/22/05 7:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Clever design for those of us who want to cover wide (dare I say it? ) saddlebag thighs without making our legs look shorter by covering the crotch line. Nice shirt, great review.
6/22/05 9:07 PM
tigger said...
Great top and love the fabric - it looks so stylish - thanks for the review!
6/23/05 1:14 AM
jahloha said...
I have been debating whether or not to even buy this pattern, but I'm definitely going to! Love your review and I'm excited to try this!
7/29/05 10:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us