SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5107 (Khaliah Ali Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1119 times 
Reviewed by:Monica R
photo

 
 
About Monica Rstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/05 5:43 PM
Last Updated:6/21/05 5:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it and have been debating whether I want to sew it or not. Now I know I do. It is so nice that Simplicity (and Ali) are making these fashionable patterns. I love the color and pattern on your fabric. And thank you for your sewing hints, particularly the one about the fusible hem--very smart. I will need to try it!
6/21/05 6:06 PM
KarenP said...
You top is so pretty - I love the fabric!
6/21/05 6:15 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Darling top...well done. I'm needing some 'artsy' tops to wear at shows and this looks like it will fill the bill. Thank you so much for a great review!
6/21/05 6:24 PM
ShereeSews said...
What a beautiful top for summer! I have this pattern, and your tips are sure to make me pull it out of the closet. Thanks for sharing!
6/21/05 6:32 PM
ladylola said...
Lovely top! So feminine and your fabric is great!
6/21/05 6:38 PM
Mini said...
I have this pattern and was hoping someone would review it. I'm glad it turned out so well. I have some sheer fabric earmarked for this blouse. Based on your comments, I don't think I will bother trying to cut this tricky stuff on the bias. Thanks!
6/21/05 8:25 PM
Izzie said...
Very Pretty summer top! I have another K. Ali pattern laid out on the table right now, I'm just trying to decide which size to cut! Did you find the pattern to be true to your measurements? Thanks for the very timely review, this is very helpful!
6/21/05 8:52 PM
dvazz said...
I love it! Great choice of fabric. I love the Khalia Ali line and wish the rest of Simplicity's offerings had that much class!
6/21/05 9:06 PM
Monica R said...
Thanks everyone for the nice compliments! Izziie--Yes, I did find this pattern true to my measurements. The fit was excellent. When I tried on the tissue before cutting the fabric, I was amazed at how nicely everything fit--even the darts were in the right place for me. But, I do find with plus size patterns that I always need to go down a size or two in the neck and shoulders because I have a small frame.
6/21/05 9:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty.
6/22/05 5:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! I bet it looks wonderful on you.
6/22/05 6:47 AM
Kerry O said...
Oh, that is a lovely top! I bet it looks gorgeous on you. I have wanted to try the Khaliah Ali patterns and this looks like a really nice one. Thank you so much for the review!
6/22/05 9:29 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I think I have just about everything in the K.Ali line. Thank you for sharing your lovely blouse. Your review was full of helpful ideas and thanks for letting us know that bias isn't important for the fit. I'll be sewing her patterns for my back-to-school wardrobe and this one is included in my plans.
6/22/05 10:35 AM
AnneM said...
Cute summer top. I really like some of the styles in the Simplicity Ali line.
6/22/05 7:42 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Clever design for those of us who want to cover wide (dare I say it? ) saddlebag thighs without making our legs look shorter by covering the crotch line. Nice shirt, great review.
6/22/05 9:07 PM
tigger said...
Great top and love the fabric - it looks so stylish - thanks for the review!
6/23/05 1:14 AM
jahloha said...
I have been debating whether or not to even buy this pattern, but I'm definitely going to! Love your review and I'm excited to try this!
7/29/05 10:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now