SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5672 (Misses' Dress)

26 more reviews
Viewed 423 times 
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/14 9:26 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5672 by Sheila457

Butterick: 5672 by Sheila457  Butterick: 5672 by Sheila457  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5672
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description: Close-fitting lined dress with left pleats, invisible zipper and with sleeves or sleeveless options.

Pattern Sizing: 8 - 16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No... I modified it

Were the instructions easy to follow? yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Instead of using the actual dress pattern pieces, I use the lining pieces (noted here), which consist of the front & back bodice, front skirt which I traced off for the back as well. The lining pieces have become a tnt, (made here, here & here) the fit is right on point, the bust, waist and back darts afford me shaping. In addition, I included neckline darts as well and love that I can just whip it out and make a dress without worrying about fitting issues.

Fabric Used: Lace

Would you sew it again? Oh... most definitely.. have a coral lace lined up for the next one.

Conclusion: Simple and perfect dress for various occasions.

See more @ Sheilaz Ctk
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Joan Morley said...
Great dress--looks fantastic on you!
4/22/14 9:44 PM
MrsCharisma said...
so PRETTY!!! I love this on you!
4/22/14 9:53 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful!
4/22/14 9:56 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Clever, clever! Your dress is so lovely and I love the exposed zipper.
4/22/14 10:20 PM
LoriMinnesota said...
Very pretty! I love the material and it is very flattering on you.
4/22/14 10:47 PM
LoriMinnesota said...
Very pretty! I love the material and it is very flattering on you.
4/22/14 10:47 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow! Beautiful!!
4/22/14 10:47 PM
alpenrose said...
OMG! I dream to be such a great seamstress! This dress, and the others, look great on you. Looks as if you have come to manage the pattern according to the needs of yourself! Great work!
4/22/14 11:30 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!! Great idea to use the lining for that pattern. It never occurred to me. Great job!
4/22/14 11:40 PM
JMarie1962 said...
What a fantastic dress! And so flattering on you
4/22/14 11:41 PM
oldsewandsew said...
What a clever girl you are - and a very good seamstress also! Congrats on all the versions - they fit beautifully, and look wonderful on you. I guess I mean you make them look especially wonderful!!
4/23/14 0:29 AM
slmstyle said...
Love it! What a great, flattering sheath dress. The fit couldn't be better. You look fabulous in it!
4/23/14 0:31 AM
egreen42 said...
Beautiful dress, you wear it very well!
4/23/14 0:49 AM
egreen42 said...
Beautiful dress, you wear it very well!
4/23/14 0:49 AM
1SewSweet said...
Great job Sheila! This dress is beautiful! Yes, it's a perfect compliment to your "Sheilaz Scissorshand" cut too!
4/23/14 5:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like the look of this dress and it fits you so well. Great idea to use the lining pieces.
4/23/14 5:27 AM
Carobo said...
Beautiful dress ! It looks fantastic on you !
4/23/14 5:59 AM
velosewer said...
Stunning dress Sheila. You look fabulous.
4/23/14 7:38 AM
Nana27 said...
Beautiful dress and you look great wearing it
4/23/14 8:09 AM
MaryMacTree said...
Stunning. Beautiful! Well done.
4/23/14 8:49 AM
MaryMacTree said...
P.S. The Jacket & Shoes are Perfect !!!!
4/23/14 8:50 AM
mchinadoll said...
You look amazing and this dress is beautiful.
4/23/14 9:08 AM
McCallPatternCo said...
Sheila! Nice work. You are totally rocking' our pattern.
4/23/14 10:32 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you for the Awesome Compliments.
4/23/14 11:05 AM
carrie18584 said...
Beautiful! I love contrasting fabric under the lace - you look wonderful in this!
4/23/14 11:51 AM
artysam said...
Beautiful you are so clever
4/23/14 1:13 PM
msschiel said...
This is gorgeous!
4/23/14 2:31 PM
SewLibra said...
Pretty dress and great fit!
4/23/14 3:48 PM
gemd said...
Love your fabric choice! Fits perfectly!
4/23/14 8:54 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you.
4/23/14 9:03 PM
mz.choize said...
Beautiful dress, the fit is on point!
4/25/14 2:47 PM
LibertyBelle10 said...
I really liked your review AND this dress!!! It really looks fantastic on you!
8/12/14 4:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Paco Peralta Chinese Jacket

photo
by: blue moone...

Review
New Look 6130

photo
by: charid daw...

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now