SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8975 (Misses' Dress and Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:schmammy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About schmammystar
TX USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 12
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/14 1:41 PM
Last Updated:4/25/14 7:15 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8975 by schmammy

Vogue Patterns: 8975 by schmammy  Vogue Patterns: 8975 by schmammy  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Vogue Patterns 8975
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Knit dress designed by Marcy Tilton with interesting pocket/hem treatment.

Pattern Sizing:
Comes in XS-Med and Lg-XXL. I made the Medium based on previous experience with Vogue patterns for knits. This was a mistake.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think it looks a lot like the photo.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Surprisingly so. I was fearful at first.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really like the styling features included in the pocket/hem area. I like the option of sleeves or sleeveless versions. I made the jacket, too, from cotton gauze and think my version looks much better than those pictured on the envelope.

Fabric Used:
cotton/lycra knit for dress; cotton gauze for jacket

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut the medium and sewed with a minimum seam allowance, but the bodice area is really too snug to wear away from home. Two improvements I've noted for the next version are: reinforce the bodice front at the point where the pocket pieces join with fusible interfacing or another layer of the knit, and do something similar to the horizontal stitching that forms the actual pockets on those two pieces. The weight of the knit pulls at those stitches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I absolutely will sew it again. In fact, I already bought a lightweight ponte in teal for the main fabric. My next version will be a size larger and maybe with sleeves. Even with its flawed fit, it makes me happy to look at it!

Conclusion:
If you are wanting to step outside the box a bit and admire that put-together (but sorta not) look of the Tilton sisters, this is a must have dress. Fitted correctly, it works for different body types and is so comfortable. The jacket was the surprise for me. The unusual piecing was fun to sew and looks great on. Edited to add: I just noticed that two of the photos look out of proportion, shorter and squattier than in real life. I have no idea why.
Note: I read today on Marcy Tilton's site that she recommends using a woven for the skirt on this pattern. I don't understand how that would work and wonder if that statement is an error.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
The over jacket looks perfect with the dress.
7/8/14 12:31 PM
Quickie said...
My first thaught was that the centre front part would gain from being woven, and then in my mind I added the contrasted parts. I am still afraid of the back of this dress with its rounded and shorter shape.that cannot be nice for someone who has a very protruded derriļæ½re and who stands out of balance. It will exaggerate those features in an unbecoming way This night I came to think of a possible solution . So I am so glad that you showed this dress here
4/30/14 4:19 AM
schmammy said...
My first thought about using a woven was it would be the contrasted parts. But if this is what she meant, wouldn't she just have said to substitute a woven for the contrast fabric?
4/29/14 9:32 AM
Quickie said...
Yesterday I took the pattern out of the envelope. Your version looks very good and I hope to see the fitting one soon. I can imagine that some lower parts of this dress may also work fine in a woven fabric. However am still not sure which ones Tilton herself has in mind. I think you may choose that yourself
4/28/14 9:54 AM
julibet said...
There is an older post on one of Marcy's blogs thta shows this dress with a black knit top and a black and white checked woven bottom. It looked great!
4/26/14 9:43 AM
supizoo said...
What a gorgeous dress and fun jacket! The colour and style are wonderful. Love those pockets! Thanks for the tip to stabilise them.
4/26/14 3:58 AM
schmammy said...
I made a large with Vogue 8881, but it was too big. I made it again in a medium and it fits perfectly.
4/25/14 7:11 PM
Skye said...
Lovely colours a pity it is snug fit. What size would you normally sew in a vogue? I am interested as I have just bought this pattern
4/25/14 5:43 PM
meadowclark said...
It is on my list! Great fabrics. Looks like fun.
4/25/14 4:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8161

photo
by: Lenarciak

Review
Simplicity 4291 (OOP)

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

More Info