SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8975 (Misses' Dress and Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:schmammy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About schmammystar
TX USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 12
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/14 1:41 PM
Last Updated:4/25/14 7:15 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8975 by schmammy  Vogue Patterns: 8975 by schmammy  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
The over jacket looks perfect with the dress.
7/8/14 12:31 PM
Quickie said...
My first thaught was that the centre front part would gain from being woven, and then in my mind I added the contrasted parts. I am still afraid of the back of this dress with its rounded and shorter shape.that cannot be nice for someone who has a very protruded derriļæ½re and who stands out of balance. It will exaggerate those features in an unbecoming way This night I came to think of a possible solution . So I am so glad that you showed this dress here
4/30/14 4:19 AM
schmammy said...
My first thought about using a woven was it would be the contrasted parts. But if this is what she meant, wouldn't she just have said to substitute a woven for the contrast fabric?
4/29/14 9:32 AM
Quickie said...
Yesterday I took the pattern out of the envelope. Your version looks very good and I hope to see the fitting one soon. I can imagine that some lower parts of this dress may also work fine in a woven fabric. However am still not sure which ones Tilton herself has in mind. I think you may choose that yourself
4/28/14 9:54 AM
julibet said...
There is an older post on one of Marcy's blogs thta shows this dress with a black knit top and a black and white checked woven bottom. It looked great!
4/26/14 9:43 AM
supizoo said...
What a gorgeous dress and fun jacket! The colour and style are wonderful. Love those pockets! Thanks for the tip to stabilise them.
4/26/14 3:58 AM
schmammy said...
I made a large with Vogue 8881, but it was too big. I made it again in a medium and it fits perfectly.
4/25/14 7:11 PM
Skye said...
Lovely colours a pity it is snug fit. What size would you normally sew in a vogue? I am interested as I have just bought this pattern
4/25/14 5:43 PM
meadowclark said...
It is on my list! Great fabrics. Looks like fun.
4/25/14 4:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

New Look 6729

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 5651

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info