SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6217 (Misses Jacket, Tee, skirt and pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 232 times 
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/14 11:29 PM
Last Updated:4/26/14 11:35 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6217 by Melwyk

New Look: 6217 by Melwyk  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6217
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Misses' kimono style jacket and tee have an easy extended sleeve and bias binding at neckline. Pencil skirt and slim pants have side zip

Pattern Sizing:

Seven Sizes in One, Size A, US 10 to 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, quite close, even in colour ;)

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I don't think I really looked at them very much -- it is very easy to sew, 3 pieces, & primarily side & shoulder seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I was drawn to the flowy silhouette and was looking for something quick.

Fabric Used:

Some kind of polyester blend from the stash

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I had to narrow the neckline and take some length out of the back, which I learned from the first try and added to the next try!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I would sew it again any time I want a quick summery top. Recommended for something fast and satisfying (and as can be seen in slmstyle's review, it can be made to look quite glamorous as well)

Conclusion:

A nice top that I really like now that I've got the fitting issues down - easy and clear to sew.

Full details of the learning process for this simple top on my blog!
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supizoo said...
Beautiful blouse. The colour and fall of the fabric is really lovely.
4/27/14 0:08 AM
VivianZ said...
Nice top. I have this pattern, and will have to try it.
4/27/14 7:05 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is perfect!
4/27/14 8:58 AM
Melwyk said...
Thanks Suzipoo & Mrs Charisma - I do love the colour. Vivian, you should try the pattern, it gives a quick result :)
4/27/14 12:13 PM
slmstyle said...
Great top! Thanks for the nice reference to my review :) This really makes a nice t-shirt top, doesn't it? Enjoy your nice new tops!
4/27/14 1:04 PM
slmstyle said...
:)
4/27/14 1:04 PM
jent said...
lovely top. Very elegant and flattering.
4/27/14 8:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Ada Knit Top

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review