SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6217 (Misses Jacket, Tee, skirt and pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 278 times 
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/14 11:29 PM
Last Updated:4/26/14 11:35 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6217 by Melwyk

New Look: 6217 by Melwyk  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
New Look 6217
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 Pattern Details
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Misses' kimono style jacket and tee have an easy extended sleeve and bias binding at neckline. Pencil skirt and slim pants have side zip

Pattern Sizing:

Seven Sizes in One, Size A, US 10 to 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, quite close, even in colour ;)

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I don't think I really looked at them very much -- it is very easy to sew, 3 pieces, & primarily side & shoulder seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I was drawn to the flowy silhouette and was looking for something quick.

Fabric Used:

Some kind of polyester blend from the stash

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I had to narrow the neckline and take some length out of the back, which I learned from the first try and added to the next try!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I would sew it again any time I want a quick summery top. Recommended for something fast and satisfying (and as can be seen in slmstyle's review, it can be made to look quite glamorous as well)

Conclusion:

A nice top that I really like now that I've got the fitting issues down - easy and clear to sew.

Full details of the learning process for this simple top on my blog!
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jent said...
lovely top. Very elegant and flattering.
4/27/14 8:12 PM
slmstyle said...
:)
4/27/14 1:04 PM
slmstyle said...
Great top! Thanks for the nice reference to my review :) This really makes a nice t-shirt top, doesn't it? Enjoy your nice new tops!
4/27/14 1:04 PM
Melwyk said...
Thanks Suzipoo & Mrs Charisma - I do love the colour. Vivian, you should try the pattern, it gives a quick result :)
4/27/14 12:13 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is perfect!
4/27/14 8:58 AM
VivianZ said...
Nice top. I have this pattern, and will have to try it.
4/27/14 7:05 AM
supizoo said...
Beautiful blouse. The colour and fall of the fabric is really lovely.
4/27/14 0:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

StyleArc Holiday Hollie jacket

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info