SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1423 (Misses' Mini Dress or Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 136 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/14 2:15 PM
Last Updated:4/29/14 2:53 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1423 by mnitts

Simplicity: 1423 by mnitts  Simplicity: 1423 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1423
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' mini dress or top is the staple you are looking for. Pattern includes top or mini dress with double ruffle cascade / sleeve or a simple sleeveless top & mini dress with contrast band. Optional tie belt included.

I made a non mini dress version of view A.
Pattern Sizing:
XXS - XXL

Note; the sizing on this dress is very generous.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think so. I omitted the self fabric belt and used a length of grosgrain ribbon.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. But see below about lining!
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Aside from the generous sizing, my major dislike about this pattern is the fact that the pattern envelope doesn't indicate that this dress is actually fully lined. That's because they expect you to fully line the dress with your fashion fabric. What's that about? What if you were using an expensive silk or a light coloured lawn with a darker print on it; wouldn't the print show through? I am a bit flumoxed by this. I chose to line using acetate lining.

I have worn this dress twice already and it is very comfortable and easy to throw on and head out the house in. The reason for my unhappiness with the finished product is not the pattern as such, but the fabric I chose to use (or my own incompetence!) It is a polyester crepe de chine which puckered along the seams and it very static. I did use a new Schmetz 70 needle, and maybe it's just this fabric, but it does bother me somewhat.
Fabric Used:
Polyester crepe de chine and acetate lining. I would estimate use approx. half the amounts indicated on the envelope for the fashion fabric and half for lining, unless you want to use your fashion fabric to line?!
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 5 inches to the length. I cut my usual size on the bust and initially graded out 2 sizes on the hips, but ended up taking out so many inches on the sides and in the back. Next time I would use the same size throughout, or even size down.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe and yes. Use a nicer fabric to work with than I did.
Conclusion:
This is a very feminine, easy to throw on dress. Maybe a nice contrast colour rolled hem on my serger with a nice, stable cotton lawn or georgette would make me happier.
More pics on my blog http://sewmanju.wordpress.com/2014/04/29/simplicity-1423-diy-dress-with-ruffle-sleeve/
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
olybinewski said...
Your dress is lovely. Thanks for the tip about the fabric amounts!
4/29/14 3:05 PM
julie w said...
Pretty dress and thank you for a helpful review re size and fabric.
4/29/14 5:39 PM
supizoo said...
Despite your misgivings regarding the fabric, it really does look lovely. I particularly like the simple flutter at the back neckline. Thanks for the heads up regarding yardage.
4/29/14 6:42 PM
kushami said...
Gosh, that is weird about the lining. I guess Simplicity don't have editors or pattern testers! Despite your struggle with the fabric, I think this looks really cool! Love your sandals as well.
4/29/14 8:29 PM
SewWil said...
Lovely dress! Thanks for the information about fabric requirements.
4/29/14 11:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

StyleArc Wendy Pant

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
McCall's 6272

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review