SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Amber Woven Top (Amber Woven Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/14 2:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


StyleArc: Amber Woven Top by michellep74  StyleArc: Amber Woven Top by michellep74  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oh2Sew2 said...
Thank you for the review, I had also received this one as a free pattern of the month...been sitting on it waiting for it to hatch. ;) Honestly, no time to sew now and so many things to chose from when I do...I jotted down you tips though so they are handy when I pull it out to whip one up! Love the vertical lines the piping gives, much more flattering if the fabrics are tone on tone!
5/11/14 9:02 PM
mm said...
I have made this pattern and it has become one of my favourite tops because it is so cool and comfortable.
4/30/14 6:13 PM
ClioBklyn said...
It's cute and fun and you did a great job replicating the original!! But I understand your woes with boxy tops.
4/30/14 3:19 PM
carolynw said...
Sorry and and surprised to see that you don't like this top. Like others have suggested - hide it away and then take it out -am betting you'll like it a lot more.
4/30/14 11:11 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I love your top! I've debated this one for a while, and thanks to your advice, I'll surely skip the piping, and use lightweight fabric.
4/30/14 8:39 AM
JanyceR said...
Add me to the list that thinks the top is flattering. Very nice details
4/30/14 7:59 AM
LTC said...
Love the lace details.
4/30/14 7:46 AM
AnneM said...
Nice top, and what a perfect pattern and fabric selections you have made. Very helpful review, thank you. I agree with the others, tuck this into the closet for a few weeks and then take it out again.
4/30/14 6:24 AM
Annie P said...
The lace is lovely. Thanks for the idea! I think the top looks great, and thanks for reviewing it. I have the pattern and wasn't sure how it would look on me (plus-size). Now I'm keen to make it, though I'll look at adding back and front darts.
4/30/14 2:47 AM
Couturemum said...
I am sorry you don't find this top flattering, I think it looks lovely on you, and I really like your version of this top. I think it looks very chic and am def considering getting this pattern now.
4/29/14 7:17 PM
supizoo said...
How nice of you to sew along with the challenge! I also think this is lovely on you. Thanks for pointing out the tricky bits.
4/29/14 6:55 PM
michellep74 said...
Maybe I just need to put it away for a week or two, then. I found the fiddly bits to be extremely frustrating (I used the seam ripper quite a bit on this project), so that's likely coloring my opinion. ;)
4/29/14 6:11 PM
julie w said...
Hope you change your mind, you've made a lovely looking top
4/29/14 5:35 PM
joyces said...
its lovely on you. I would never have looked at it otherwise.
4/29/14 4:43 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Dupe
4/29/14 3:26 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I really like it on you! I think it's flattering and like where the length hits. Hopefully you'll pull it out a different day and fall in love with it :)
4/29/14 3:26 PM
Quickie said...
This top is very flattering, so in that point I disagree with you.I love the piping and the lace sleeves
4/29/14 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
McCall's 5742

photo
by: ThreadsofF...

Review