Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3341 (Misses Skort and shorts) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 2348 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/05 5:35 PM
Last Updated:4/10/08 10:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sheree said...
Sherrill, these look GREAT on you! They hang beautifully from the side picture and the shorts underneath look great ,too. Thanks for the informative review.
6/24/05 5:55 PM
Patti B said...
Sherrill, I almost bought this pattern and now I will *have* to buy it. They look very nice on you -- summery but not too exposed.
6/24/05 6:03 PM
Hilary said...
Sherrill, I am *so* glad you reviewed this (positively!) ! I have been wanting to make it, but you're right, it looks so skimpy on the model, and that was holding me back. Thanks for the tip on installing the elastic, too. Your skort looks fantastic, btw, and very flattering. I love that fabric, too. :o) Great review!
6/24/05 7:08 PM
pittysmom said...
Sherrill, you and I have the same body type and like the same patterns! This is so cute, cool and comfy for summer. Will definitely be sewing up this one! Great review, and thanks for the heads up on the elastic thing.
6/24/05 7:27 PM
AnneM said...
It's not really a skort, then, it's more like a tennis skirt w/ shorts & an overskirt. (I think of a skort as having shorts-looking back and skirt-looking front.) Those came out very nicely.
6/24/05 7:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great outfit. A few black and white tops and you have your cropped pants and this skirt. that's an entire weekend wardrobe.
6/24/05 10:50 PM
flowermama said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern if not for your review. These look great on you and again, what a great fit! The pattern picture appears so skimpy but now I'm putting this pattern on my wishlist!
6/25/05 1:14 AM
JoleneF said...
Looks great and great review!
6/25/05 6:54 AM
Rebecca D said...
Sherrill, I, too, love this outfit and would never have thought about it from the pattern envelope (so true of many KS patterns), but your thorough and helpful review has turned my head. It's the best of both worlds, the coolness of a skirt and the comfort of a pair of shorts.
6/25/05 7:22 AM
ryan's mom said...
I would have skipped over this pattern, but looking at your skort does this pattern justice! It looks so nice! What a great fit and so flattering on you.
6/25/05 7:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your skirt looks great and does emphasize your shapely legs very nicely. Recently, I was advised to wear shorter, fun skirts like this by a saleslady at Dillards, though my legs aren't as firm as yours. I'm tempted to try it. By the way, I bought an orange interlock recently from Sew Baby--the code is IK-X, very nice.
6/25/05 7:52 AM
Jill Giard said...
Very cute skort! I bet you could dye some white interlock to match the fabric for your secon pair.
6/25/05 8:13 AM
Monica R said...
Very nice skort and I love the fabric. Thanks for reviewing this one--looks like a great summer outfit.
6/25/05 10:36 AM
Mini said...
Wow! I would not have considered this pattern based on the pattern picture. Seeing it on someone with a similar figure really helps.
6/25/05 11:06 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yeah, my dismissal of this pattern was very quick and decisive based on the pattern illus. Thanks for the review and congrats on making great skorts!
6/25/05 11:28 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Another cutie outfit, Sherril--what a super way to show off those terrific gams of yours. I'm a huge fan of skorts, too (have one on today in fact!). You've inspired me to make another KS pair myself.
6/25/05 12:33 PM
ashleyanne said...
Sherril. Druse recommened this pattern for my 4"11 size 18 daughter.Iam a self taught sewer and do'nt know how to measure for front and back rise.please explain how to measure thank you
6/25/05 1:07 PM
utci13 said...
I just bought this pattern (25% off at Fabric Place) to make tennis skirts for my DD. You've inspired me to make something for myself. Great review!
6/25/05 1:54 PM
utci13 said...
I just bought this pattern at (25% off at Fabric Place) to make tennis skirts for my DD. You've inspired me to make something for myself. Great review!
6/25/05 1:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
The skort looks great on you. I never would have guessed that your skort came from the pattern you linked to. You made it work perfectly for your shape and your legs.
6/25/05 4:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the skort. Looks good on you. I need to remember your elastic waist method.
6/25/05 7:18 PM
feylady said...
Good details in review. Thanks.
7/12/05 4:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
I just found your review after buying this pattern today. I originally bought it to use as a bottom for a bathing suit. My pattern is a tankini but has no skirt, just shorts. I was going to draft one, but when I saw this pattern, then found your review, I know I'll definitely use it more than for a bathing suit. Yours looks so good on you. Thanks for a great review.
7/4/06 3:22 PM
KariBurns said...
This review has such wonderful detail, I bought the pattern without any worry. Thank you.
7/30/06 10:59 AM
texx said...
The picture shows that you either really know how to seew well or that this pattern is great. What you are wearing is EXACTLY what I have been looking for!
2/2/08 11:35 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Super cute outfit. I love the colors on you!
4/11/08 0:54 AM
Athene said...
Great summer look - the color, the length of the skort and top - everything looks so nice.
4/11/08 1:11 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I love them, very stylish and practical for summer too. Actually, the whole outfit is fabulous on you - right down to the matching shoes!
4/11/08 1:42 AM
doxieluvr said...
Thank you for the review, Sherril. It astonishes me how a change in length/fabric can change the whole look of an outfit. Perfect example here of how you changed this casual pattern into something appropriate to wear to your work. Thanks for being an inspiration to this beginner.
4/11/08 7:00 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great outfit! The skort looks terrific on you ... very flattering!
4/11/08 9:56 AM
carolynw said...
This looks so nice Sherrill - I love the fabric choice - it makes the outfit look amazingly different from the original. No doubt about it - you are ready for summer and I must go get this pattern - hope my outfit will look as nice as yours!!
4/11/08 12:00 PM
sideseams said...
Sherrill, I just love the outfit. I am built a lot like you so maybe this pattern will work for me too. You do beatiful work! Thanks for the great review.
4/11/08 6:17 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
This wonderful green is one of my favourite colors and the fact that you have sandals to match is knocking me out! Beautiful, beautiful! And the length is so flattering; it draws the eye directly to your pretty, shapely legs. I love it the entire ensemble! -Lily
4/14/08 4:15 PM
strongnow said...
Thank you for fabulous pictures and most helpful cutting/sewing information. This pattern is still available and I am giving it some serious consideration.
5/19/12 11:56 AM
velosewer said...
You've shown how great this pattern is.
1/13/14 8:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 2282
photo
Review by Irene Bull... on 4/1/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4109
photo
Review by oliveoyl45 on 4/7/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group
Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us