SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> 068 (Thelma's Knitting Bag)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1801 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:08 AM
Last Updated:6/25/05 8:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Patti - great detailed review. The bag looks great and useful! How long did it take to make?
6/25/05 9:14 PM
jemgirlca said...
Nice bag and good review. Thanks for the picture of you holding the bag, that really helps to see the size of it.
6/25/05 9:36 PM
bunz said...
Psychic vibes! I was just looking at an ad for this bag and thinking how great it would be for traveling as well as for my sister, the knitter. Thanks for the review!
6/25/05 9:43 PM
Patti B said...
I cut the bag out yesterday afternoon and worked on it steadily afternoon & evening, worked on it this morning and finished it this afternoon. So it's not a quick sew but it does go together nicely. Once I started, I kept wanting to do just one more step. Oh, sorry I'm not smiling in the photo -- can't fiddle with the camera and smile at this same time apparently. ;-)
6/25/05 9:49 PM
Lori V said...
Patti, very cute bag and the fabric choices are wonderful. That is a very interesting concept, thanks for pointing out this bag.
6/25/05 9:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking bag.
6/25/05 11:41 PM
Patzee said...
I really like your fabric design choices. Thanks!
6/26/05 0:33 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a clever bag!
6/26/05 1:22 AM
Princess Jenny said...
So awesome! :) Thank you so much for reviewing this bag. It is perfect for shopping.
6/26/05 9:44 AM
Diane E said...
Patti, terrific review and wonderful bag. As a knitter, I can say that this sure beats the assortment of shredded shopping bags I haul my projects around in. A bag like yours would do justice to the most lovely of yarns.
6/26/05 10:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great purse. I have not seen this. You did a great job. Love the whole look.
6/26/05 4:00 PM
GraceHope said...
I love bags and this one looks very versatile! I think I may go and get the "uneven binding foot" for my machine before attempting this one. Thanks so much!
6/26/05 4:49 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Patti, that is a great bag, and an excellent review! my sister knits, and is always on the hunt for a new knitting bag. I'll have to let her know about this! -Ann
6/27/05 8:20 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks sewists -- I love this bag already! Diane E -- your knitting 'deserves' a pretty bag ... what DID we do before plastic grocery bags?
6/27/05 8:51 AM
W said...
Very nice work -- I love how it turns out. I think her bags are so adorable...I am not planning to make this one, but I wanted to know how her patterns are. Thanks for the detailed review & all the photos.
7/31/05 3:24 PM
Annie- oh said...
Patt - I made this bag a few weeks ago, and I agree with you - it is a great bag and fun to sew. I also used it as my purse when travelling by air recently because I realized all my clothes were darks/neutrals, and this bag was a colorful tropical print. I made it for a knitting bag, but I think I'll need more than one - its inside zipper to shorten/lengthen it is great. And great details in your review! Annie
8/17/05 8:49 PM
Lesley said...
Patti, I haven't made the bag yet, but have sent for the pattern and the frames. I'm not really much of a seamstress but am trying. Anyhow if I left out the zipper part and made the bag without the extention, would that make the the pattern easier and more straight forward for a beginner. I would like it for a knitting bag and the pattern without the zipper is just like a bag they are selling at my local yarn shop. Thanks, Lesley
1/8/07 8:59 PM
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:11 PM
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now