SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5958 (Misses' Vest and Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 542 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/14 1:10 AM
Last Updated:5/8/14 1:18 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5958 by acmena

Butterick: 5958 by acmena  Butterick: 5958 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Butterick 5958
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES VEST AND JACKET: Fitted, lined vest or jacket has princess seams and side front exposed zipper. A and B: fold-back facings. C: left front extension, cuffs and concealed zipper. D: button closing. C and D: collar.
Designed for Light to Medium Weight Woven Fabrics
FABRICS: Gabardine, Linen, Lace, Denim and Poplin

I made View C without cuffs

Pattern Sizing: A5(6-8-10-12-14),E5(14-16-18-20-22)

I cut an 8 for the shoulders and collar, 10 under the arm, transitioning to a 12 at the hip. Fit was very good.

Fabric Used: : I made a wearable muslin in Polar Fleece, to see if it would work in a bulky knit

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, more so than I thought, as the fabric in the photo looks more like wool melton than any of the recommended fabrics

Were the instructions easy to follow? The parts that I followed were straightforward, although I managed to interchange the right front with the left facing. For those who don't like reading instructions, I suggest you do. There are six pieces for the front, all cut singly, and two side fronts. Even though I took care, I also managed to press the zip the wrong way on the right front. It is not intuitive, as the zip is not placed on the centre front. Luckily my slip-ups were caught in time

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The fit, and that it is short (perhaps too short for those with long bodies). Nothing to dislike.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Apart from shortening the sleeves by 3cm, I left off the cuffs, the lining, the interfacing and serged ALL seams together to flatten the bulk

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I was very happy with the fit...surprisingly so for a Butterick pattern. If I made it in a knit, I would use a lighter stable knit for the facings (if I could find a matching or complimentary one, as it shows) and interface. In a woven, I'd follow the pattern as designed. Either way I'd probably still ditch the cuffs

Note that it doesn't sit well if you zip it all the way. Where I have it in the photo is about it. Might be different in another fabric but I doubt it

Conclusion: Worth a look

Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
This is in my list of things to make. Thanks for the review. Your jacket looks great.
5/9/14 8:18 AM
oldsewandsew said...
Nice Job! Beautiful! Looks to me like that's about where the zipper is designed to stop, even though it goies higher - otherwise you have too mch collar bulk to have it lay nicely. Great review.....Thanks!
5/9/14 0:21 AM
tlc246 said...
Wow, it looks so perfect. Unbelievable job.
5/8/14 10:47 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so much like denim - this is beautiful!
5/8/14 4:06 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so much like denim - this is beautiful!
5/8/14 4:06 PM
Quickie said...
Really lovely jacket
5/8/14 2:48 PM
Pj3g said...
Love the color of both you jackets!
5/8/14 2:03 PM
VeraD said...
Beautifully done!
5/8/14 10:50 AM
Clareew said...
Great jacket, it looks so stylish for a fleece jacket.
5/8/14 10:42 AM
marec said...
What a great jacket, and in fleece! Thanks for the very helpful tips on instructions, zipper placement etc. I have this pattern and when I have uninterrupted time, plan to make it. The envelope photos do look like a wool, don't they?
5/8/14 10:28 AM
dinagideon said...
That is amazing. I was hoping for a review like this to give me courage to try it for the next winter. I love your version, and like the others are saying, I can't believe that is fleece!!!
5/8/14 10:08 AM
redside said...
Nice job--and thanks for the many tips. You've given me a little more courage to try this out!
5/8/14 9:51 AM
acmena said...
It's actually very dark navy, but photographed inside was just a blob, so I went outside and this was the result. I didn't think you could press fleece, but my steam generator iron (and my fingers) does wonders without touching the fabric.
5/8/14 9:50 AM
charliegirl127 said...
Lovely jacket. Your seaming is so smooth I thought it was denim.
5/8/14 8:55 AM
shirleyyoujest said...
Beautiful jacket! You did a fantastic job at putting it together!
5/8/14 8:53 AM
mending maven said...
Lovely! Nice sewing! No puckering, smooth seams.
5/8/14 8:06 AM
Sew Good said...
Another nice jacket! Helpful review, thank you
5/8/14 7:50 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I really love this! I thought it was denim! Thanks for the helpful tips!!
5/8/14 7:39 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous jacket! I can't believe it is polar fleece.
5/8/14 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-120

photo
by: style insp...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1275

photo
by: JEH

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

More Info