SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5958 (Misses' Vest and Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 575 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/14 1:10 AM
Last Updated:5/8/14 1:18 AM


Butterick: 5958 by acmena  Butterick: 5958 by acmena  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
This is in my list of things to make. Thanks for the review. Your jacket looks great.
5/9/14 8:18 AM
oldsewandsew said...
Nice Job! Beautiful! Looks to me like that's about where the zipper is designed to stop, even though it goies higher - otherwise you have too mch collar bulk to have it lay nicely. Great review.....Thanks!
5/9/14 0:21 AM
tlc246 said...
Wow, it looks so perfect. Unbelievable job.
5/8/14 10:47 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so much like denim - this is beautiful!
5/8/14 4:06 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so much like denim - this is beautiful!
5/8/14 4:06 PM
Quickie said...
Really lovely jacket
5/8/14 2:48 PM
Pj3g said...
Love the color of both you jackets!
5/8/14 2:03 PM
VeraD said...
Beautifully done!
5/8/14 10:50 AM
Clareew said...
Great jacket, it looks so stylish for a fleece jacket.
5/8/14 10:42 AM
marec said...
What a great jacket, and in fleece! Thanks for the very helpful tips on instructions, zipper placement etc. I have this pattern and when I have uninterrupted time, plan to make it. The envelope photos do look like a wool, don't they?
5/8/14 10:28 AM
dinagideon said...
That is amazing. I was hoping for a review like this to give me courage to try it for the next winter. I love your version, and like the others are saying, I can't believe that is fleece!!!
5/8/14 10:08 AM
redside said...
Nice job--and thanks for the many tips. You've given me a little more courage to try this out!
5/8/14 9:51 AM
acmena said...
It's actually very dark navy, but photographed inside was just a blob, so I went outside and this was the result. I didn't think you could press fleece, but my steam generator iron (and my fingers) does wonders without touching the fabric.
5/8/14 9:50 AM
charliegirl127 said...
Lovely jacket. Your seaming is so smooth I thought it was denim.
5/8/14 8:55 AM
shirleyyoujest said...
Beautiful jacket! You did a fantastic job at putting it together!
5/8/14 8:53 AM
mending maven said...
Lovely! Nice sewing! No puckering, smooth seams.
5/8/14 8:06 AM
Sew Good said...
Another nice jacket! Helpful review, thank you
5/8/14 7:50 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I really love this! I thought it was denim! Thanks for the helpful tips!!
5/8/14 7:39 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous jacket! I can't believe it is polar fleece.
5/8/14 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 8399

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

More Info
Oliver + S No-Tie Scarf

photo
by: sugarduck

Review