SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2061 (Misses knit and woven pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 239 times 
Reviewed by:dinagideon
photo

 
 
About dinagideonstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/23/13
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/14 3:21 PM
Last Updated:5/9/14 3:28 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2061 by dinagideon

Simplicity: 2061 by dinagideon  Simplicity: 2061 by dinagideon  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2061
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by dinagideon

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses pants in two variations, to be made in either knit fabric (the sweatpant version) or woven fabric (the pj version).

Pattern Sizing: 6-18. I made a 14, though I believe the measurements for the 16 hip are more in line with my actual hip measurement.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I made the letter A version but because I wanted pockets, I added on pockets from D to the A pattern. It wasn't an exact match, but since I have had a ton of experience with these kind of pockets, I knew that they would be fine and turn out great (and they did).

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very easy. I haven't tried making them on my serger, which I would like to do the next time, in a heavier knit jersey for the fall. I will update this portion if I think the serger instructions are lacking, but won't downgrade it just because, since this is a pattern targeted at beginning sewers.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I think the design is very trendy and young, maybe even too much, since I don't know that I could get away with version B myself. I love the pockets of D, they are deep and very useful.

I do not like the pleat on version A/B, and the next time I make this pattern, I am going to omit the pleat since I think no pleat/pockets will suit my frame better. I think the crotch curve is adequate, I might add a bit of depth to mine using my pants pattern sloper so it is extra comfy, but if I see there is a major difference in length/depth, I won't change it too much since the knit obviously helps with stretching over the curves, and my pants sloper is for a woven fabric.

Fabric Used: I saw that Girl Charlee had a BIG box of knit remnants that equaled 10 yds a piece. I loved the designs (all ditsy florals) and figured I could practice all my knits on these plus have tons of extra fabrics for scarves as gifts, dresses/skirts for my daughter, etc. Per yard, this fabric was $3. So these pants are $5 before you add in labor and extra costs like wear on the machine and extra elastic.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did Version A for knits but added the Version D's pockets. I wanted to lengthen the pants a bit, but since I forgot to add two inches, I just did a very narrow hem at the bottom.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew it again, but next time with no pleats. I will be increasing the elastic an inch so I can pull the pants down a bit lower. I don't know if I will make the woven C/D pattern (except the pockets), since I have better PJ pants patterns in my pattern library.

I do recommend it to others. I think it is a shame this isn't offered in sizes above 18, as I can see many figure types liking this style and being flattered by it.

Conclusion: Thanks to Mrs. Charisma for linking my original blog post to her blog post on this pattern. I figured now that she has done that, I should get off my own bottom and post a review here since I had put the photos of me wearing them at my blog over a month ago. (You can see the outfit post here.)

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Hahaha! I'm glad you posted - they are awesome pants!!! Don't you feel like you're getting away with wearing such comfiness? :)
5/9/14 3:46 PM
dinagideon said...
Okay, well sort of. The first time I wore them around the house, mind you, my husband was, "nice pjs." Sigh. Men. Dressing them up with the cardi, jewelry, makeup, and tee helped that last time. No PJ comments that time. Even if they do feel as comfy as pjs. :) Love your version, btw...I saw them here and at your blog, obviously, and then one week later in a free bundle, I received the same fabric as you made yours from. Not enough to do pants, but maybe a cute skirt?
5/9/14 3:49 PM
detroy said...
So cute! I've made this pattern several times now in both the knit and woven styles (still need to do reviews). In fact, I'm making a franken pattern with the woven style right today. I love your ditsy pink print, it looks fabulous! Haha - just had to add that my husband also called some of my non-pj pants from this pattern pj pants too. Men!
5/9/14 3:49 PM
supizoo said...
So cute!
5/9/14 6:38 PM
mary in FL said...
They do look comfy! I agree that a slightly lower crotch curve will be the perfect adjustment.
5/9/14 8:11 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Ha! Crazy husbands :) I have to start gambling more with bundles!
5/10/14 7:35 AM
dinagideon said...
Detroy! Want to see your versions. Would love to be inspired by others creations. :) Thanks, supizoo! Mary in FL, yes, I bet just an additional 1/2 inch would make a world of difference. I think I may need it on the front based on how it looks like it is fitting me in the photo, but it may also be because I have to wear it that high because of the elastic length. We'll see with the next incarnation. Mrs. Charisma...I give away so much from those bundles, but every bundle I get a piece that justifies the whole purchase, just last week I received a gorg piece of blue linen, just enough to make a skirt or shorts.
5/11/14 8:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Other Lined Snap Tape Purse

photo
by: Renren

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now