SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6331 (misses romper and dressesGeneration Next)

20 more reviews
Viewed 193 times 
Reviewed by:Sixtiesgirl
photo

 
 
About Sixtiesgirl
NM
Member since: 9/29/12
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/14 11:51 PM
Last Updated:5/10/14 12:27 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6331 by Sixtiesgirl

McCall's: 6331 by Sixtiesgirl  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6331
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Junior    Activewear    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Gauze  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses romper and dress. Fitted, self-faced bodice with A/B, C, D cup sizes.

Pattern Sizing:12-18

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was drawn to the neckline detail and the petal shaped skirt.

Fabric Used: I used a crinkled gauze from Mood. Turned out that this fabric was very difficult to work with! It stretches like crazy due to the crinkles and loose weave.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added a crinoline under the skirt since the fabric was so light. I made the crinoline with a very sheer tulle gathered to a yolk with elastic waist. I also used a contrast lining fabric that did not stretch to control the shape of the bodice.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I plan to try the romper.

Conclusion: This is a cute dress but the fabric I chose was difficult to work with. The petal design of the skirt makes the skirt quite short in places. I think it would probably be better in a fabric with more body than the gauze.

Sewing Sixties
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
So pretty :)
5/10/14 7:33 AM
demoiselle said...
Adorable!
5/10/14 7:57 AM
shirleyyoujest said...
I love the neckline! Such a cute dress!
5/10/14 10:34 AM
supizoo said...
Lovely!
5/10/14 9:19 PM
Speech girl said...
Very pretty!
5/10/14 10:09 PM
sewingcanary said...
Charming!!! I, for one, would love to see a repost of your review after youíve worn and washed this a while. It would be nice to know how it works out over time. Personally, Iíve steered clear of these fabrics for the same reasons you write about. However, they do have a subtle attraction that keeps urging. Your lining will definitely be its failsafe. Iím curious if the gauze bags out over time. Thanks for your review. Have fun wearing this sweetheart!
5/11/14 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Simplicity 4463

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now