SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-123 (Leather Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 300 times 
Reviewed by:Julietta82
photo

 
 
About Julietta82star
GERMANY
Member since: 3/22/09
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/14 3:43 AM
Last Updated:5/10/14 3:47 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82

BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82  BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Julietta82

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
The ultimate cropped biker jacket gets into gear with patent leather in crocodile-look! The collarless cut is figure-flattering, with little shoulder-tabs and an asymmetric zipper adding the appropriate details. Team it with a white top and sporty extras for everyday wear.

Pattern Sizing:
34-42, I made my usual size 36

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, besides the small changes that I have done.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did not read them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is one of my favourite patterns, I have made it before from tweed fabric. I love that it is collarless, which makes it less hard than other biker jackets. The fit is also great, no fit alterations necessary.

Fabric Used:
Cotton elastane with a digitally printed floral print

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added a seam to the left front side in order to sew the zipper in. The version to cover it with bias tape from Burda was too bulky for my taste. In addition, I left off the cuffs at the sleeves and thus lengthened the sleeves by 4 cm. The jacket is unlined therefore it is easier to wash it. The seam allowances are all covered with bias tape.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I made it before from tweed fabric and already have white denim earmarked for the next version. Highly recommend this pattern, the fit is great and it is a little different than the usual biker jackets.

Conclusion:
It truly is one of my favourite patterns! It's such a timeless style that can be made again and again and can look completely different depending on the fabric used. More detailled pictures can be found on my blog

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erin D said...
Wow-what a great jacket! It's inspired me to check out this pattern.
5/16/14 11:45 PM
KarlaB said...
Love this pattern in your beautiful print fabric! Great job!
5/12/14 6:20 PM
ASiverson said...
I love the print you chose! Looks terrific and I want to make this pattern too. But anyway, thank you for posting, and for your review. Off to your blog for more! TFS!
5/11/14 7:17 PM
Julietta82 said...
Thank you all so much for your feedback! It made my day :)
5/11/14 3:26 PM
becca a said...
This jacket is stunning! I love your fabric--it is so beautiful.
5/11/14 10:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this jacket, very pretty.
5/11/14 8:17 AM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful!
5/10/14 8:36 PM
megdortch said...
Beautiful!
5/10/14 1:28 PM
ak21 said...
gorgeous. the fit, fabric & pattern!
5/10/14 12:46 PM
lumiukko said...
What an awesome jacket!
5/10/14 11:05 AM
Sew Good said...
I love this on you. I need to dig out my old Burda magazines and find this pattern! Thank you for your review!
5/10/14 10:22 AM
sewrose said...
Thank you for the bilingual post on your blog! My German is super rusty. What a fabulous choice of fabric.
5/10/14 10:02 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning jacket! Impeccable work and fit!
5/10/14 7:53 AM
mending maven said...
Wow love the fabric! Great jacket.
5/10/14 7:40 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Love it!!!
5/10/14 7:31 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
5/10/14 7:07 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket!
5/10/14 7:02 AM
dragon10 said...
Love your jacket. I just checked out your blog and you have made some great clothes.
5/10/14 5:05 AM
mm said...
Great jacket
5/10/14 5:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6201

photo
by: DianaFF

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

More Info
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

More Info