SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2008-123 (Leather Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 293 times 
Reviewed by:Julietta82
photo

 
 
About Julietta82star
GERMANY
Member since: 3/22/09
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/14 3:43 AM
Last Updated:5/10/14 3:47 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82

BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82  BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-123 by Julietta82  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Julietta82

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
The ultimate cropped biker jacket gets into gear with patent leather in crocodile-look! The collarless cut is figure-flattering, with little shoulder-tabs and an asymmetric zipper adding the appropriate details. Team it with a white top and sporty extras for everyday wear.

Pattern Sizing:
34-42, I made my usual size 36

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, besides the small changes that I have done.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I did not read them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is one of my favourite patterns, I have made it before from tweed fabric. I love that it is collarless, which makes it less hard than other biker jackets. The fit is also great, no fit alterations necessary.

Fabric Used:
Cotton elastane with a digitally printed floral print

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added a seam to the left front side in order to sew the zipper in. The version to cover it with bias tape from Burda was too bulky for my taste. In addition, I left off the cuffs at the sleeves and thus lengthened the sleeves by 4 cm. The jacket is unlined therefore it is easier to wash it. The seam allowances are all covered with bias tape.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I made it before from tweed fabric and already have white denim earmarked for the next version. Highly recommend this pattern, the fit is great and it is a little different than the usual biker jackets.

Conclusion:
It truly is one of my favourite patterns! It's such a timeless style that can be made again and again and can look completely different depending on the fabric used. More detailled pictures can be found on my blog
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
Great jacket
5/10/14 5:03 AM
dragon10 said...
Love your jacket. I just checked out your blog and you have made some great clothes.
5/10/14 5:05 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket!
5/10/14 7:02 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
5/10/14 7:07 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Love it!!!
5/10/14 7:31 AM
mending maven said...
Wow love the fabric! Great jacket.
5/10/14 7:40 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning jacket! Impeccable work and fit!
5/10/14 7:53 AM
sewrose said...
Thank you for the bilingual post on your blog! My German is super rusty. What a fabulous choice of fabric.
5/10/14 10:02 AM
Sew Good said...
I love this on you. I need to dig out my old Burda magazines and find this pattern! Thank you for your review!
5/10/14 10:22 AM
lumiukko said...
What an awesome jacket!
5/10/14 11:05 AM
ak21 said...
gorgeous. the fit, fabric & pattern!
5/10/14 12:46 PM
megdortch said...
Beautiful!
5/10/14 1:28 PM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful!
5/10/14 8:36 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this jacket, very pretty.
5/11/14 8:17 AM
becca a said...
This jacket is stunning! I love your fabric--it is so beautiful.
5/11/14 10:03 AM
Julietta82 said...
Thank you all so much for your feedback! It made my day :)
5/11/14 3:26 PM
ASiverson said...
I love the print you chose! Looks terrific and I want to make this pattern too. But anyway, thank you for posting, and for your review. Off to your blog for more! TFS!
5/11/14 7:17 PM
KarlaB said...
Love this pattern in your beautiful print fabric! Great job!
5/12/14 6:20 PM
Erin D said...
Wow-what a great jacket! It's inspired me to check out this pattern.
5/16/14 11:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 1783

photo
by: loti

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now