SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick> SB322 (Tonic T-shirt)

26 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:Alpine Queen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Alpine Queenstar
FRANCE
Member since: 4/9/13
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/10/14 9:37 AM
Last Updated:6/25/14 4:46 AM
Project Photo:Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick: SB322 by Alpine Queen

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick: SB322 by Alpine Queen  Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick: SB322 by Alpine Queen  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Alpine Queen

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Description:
This is a simple scoop neck tee. I have not made a tee in a million years because any pattern never fit like bought shirts, and I was always too timid to radically alter a supposedly professionally designed pattern. I was very pleased with the fit on this one.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't follow the neckband insertion, I didn't feel in control with this version. I thought there was too much sharp curving in the front to just pull the band while stitching, so I did it the way I normally do a band by sewing both neck and band then quartering them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I did not like that there was a pattern for the neckband, which ended up equaling the neckline, so it doesn't pull in snugly. If there is an actual pattern piece, I expect it to already have the correct fitting designed into it.

I didn't think I would like how narrow the band was, either. If I had installed it as a binding, I would have widened it. But by doing it as designed and then using a double needle to stitch it down, the stitching ended up looking like being part of the band and thus giving the illusion of being wider. A nice effect, different from a typical binding.

Fabric Used:
Some kind of two-way stretch jersey. Fabrics don't seemed to be marked here, it feels like some kind of cotton/Lycra blend. Absolutely lovely to wear.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
It claims to be designed for petites. I always have to lengthen backs and sleeves, I didn't see how this was any different from any other pattern. I redrew the waist placement, I did not modify anything else.

My measurements were almost exactly the M, so I just made it straight out of the box. While I usually need to make an FBA, the negative ease still allowed a really nice fit. I think next time I will widen the shoulders, this looks too tight although the fabric is stretchy enough it's not uncomfortable.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I definitely will make it again. I think it easily lends itself to restyling. I will be personally recommending it to others. I have already gotten a number of compliments on it.

Conclusion:
I have just started a sewing club for some young women in our church, most of whom have never touched a sewing machine before. I thought this pattern would be easy for them to get (buying patterns here is much more difficult and expensive than in the US) and then make as a first garment project. So I made this pattern straight as designed rather than fiddling with it so I would know what to suggest in first time fitting. That's also why I applied the neckband my own way, I didn't think they would get the concept provided as absolute newbies.

European styling is generally more fitted than American, so I think this will definitely provide the kind of fit my girls would expect in a tee.

***Follow-up***
I thought I would share the result of my sewing class using this pattern. I've only had one completion so far, but it was such a marvelous success, I thought you might like to see what a complete beginner accomplished.


<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewrose said...
I agree this would work well for young and petite figures, and the free download works well for young wallets. Good luck with the sewing club!
5/10/14 10:06 AM
marec said...
Looks marvelous on you, and your review is very helpful. Have fun with running the sewing club.
5/10/14 10:15 AM
Jrhee said...
Looks wonderful on you!
5/10/14 11:56 AM
michellep74 said...
I've made this t-shirt four times (using the plus sized version), and I agree that it's a very well-drafted pattern with a great fit. If any of your young women are curvier, don't hesitate to recommend the plus sized range of this pattern.
5/10/14 5:39 PM
supizoo said...
Beautiful T. I love the fabric you've used. Thanks for the review and for the link detailing your new sewing club. How exciting! I haven't made this T but agree that this style would be a great project to start with.
5/10/14 8:43 PM
Danmar said...
Love your fabric. Your sewing club sounds wonderful !
5/11/14 0:04 AM
Quickie said...
Lovely fabric. In my plussizes version the neckband was correct length
5/11/14 1:48 AM
sewingcanary said...
Fabric content can often be identified by doing a burn test. Blended fibres are harder, but you can usually get an idea of what a fabric is made of. Threads Magazine has an online video about doing one. There is also a pdf file you can copy and save onto your computer for future reference. http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/31497/how-to-identify-fabrics-with-a-burn-test Good luck and many blessings with your club!
5/11/14 11:52 AM
sewingcanary said...
OOPS -double post
5/11/14 10:24 PM
lakaribane said...
I love your fabric too! But I wonder if you're perhaps shorter in the legs with a regular torso. That would explain why you had to lengthen both bodice and sleeve. I've tested (but not yet reviewed this) and at 5ft and with narrow shoulders, it fit great right out of the envelop. On the other hand, I had trouble with the neckband also. Free patterns are indeed the best option for trying new things, good luck!
5/12/14 9:45 AM
caroljeancarmichael said...
Your sewing club is a kind of Mission, and I wish you well with it.
6/25/14 8:00 AM
canei said...
Nice!
6/25/14 10:53 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous t-shirt, love the fabric! How wonderful you can teach the girls to sew.
6/25/14 10:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-06

photo
by: cerulean

Review
McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now